We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cheap accommodation in central Tokyo”
Review of Kadoya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kadoya Hotel
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Good cheap accommodation in central Tokyo”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here prior to a trip to climb Mt Fuji, and then when I returned to Tokyo. Rooms are small, but tidy and well appointed. The hotel was happy to store my luggage after I checked out for my climb, given that I was checking back in the next evening. Hotel is within 5 minutes walk to Shinjuku Station, and is close to bus and rail links to Narita Airport. Free wifi in the lobby. A laundry that guests can use on the third floor. Only downside was no iron in the room or in the laundry. A minor thing, but it's nice to be able to iron a shirt before going out.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Dry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    238
    93
    17
    7
See reviews for
126
86
121
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We were there for a short trip in Tokyo and finding a place with good value as another hotel in the same area are so overpriced. We found the hotel through online review and decided to give it a try without much hope.
As we arrived the hotel, the space at the lobby doesn't look so big but the room was unexpectedly spacious and clean. Our triplet was far more comfortable than what we experience through 4 star hotel in the same area. The bed and pillow were high quality and it gave us a good rest to continue our journey in the next days.
Staff are nice and helpful. Would totally recommended to anyone who looking for a good place to stay in Shinjuku. Just 4 mins walk from the station and you're set.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NuttapornCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Originally booked a smoking, comfort single room and paid extra for it but I got a non-smoking comfort? single room. I complained to front desk clerk showing printed out reservation paper but there was no other room available and moreover they stated that there was no notation from Travelocity. Approximately 30 minutes after settled in a room, the front desk clerk called me and said that a smoking, double bed room on a top floor became available for me with no extra charge. I wondered why but took it any way. I liked their memory pillow and heavy comforter from my childhood. This hotel....location was excellent and there was convenient store right next door. I was very happy customer.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michiyomcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had 2 triple bedrooms. 1st impression: quite old but not to expect too much since it is a budget hotel. Location: Excellent and Convenient. 2 minutes walk to Shinjuku Station and high end Shopping Malls. Pronto is right opposite of the hotel that serves good western breakfast (English muffins, croissant etc.) from 7am. Many Japanese cafes and starbuck just a block away. Lawson is a convenient shop, which is right beside the hotel and another one opposite, sell snacks and drinks too. No problem with food and health products. It's just so convenient. Room: Good Amenities provided are more than expected eg. Body sponge. I like the comb. I am impressed that an Electric Thermo Flask instead of a normal kettle is provided. Toilet and room are clean except didn't like the carpet, looks old. Bed is comfortable enough. Although outlook of hotel is not impressive but it is functional and good value for money.

Tips for travellers: Buy limousine bus ticket specifically to Keio Plaza Hotel at Haneda/Narita Airport instead of Shinjuku (there is a difference). We didn't know that and bought the bus ticket to Shinjuku Station. Keio Plaza Hotel is so much better than to Shinjuku Station (crowded). It is about the same distance to Kadoya. Keio Plaza Hotel is just behind Kadoya Hotel and across a street of traffic light. Quieter and easy to walk with luggages. If you have a late night flight but has to check out early at 11am from Kadoya, you may even leave your luggages at Keio Plaza Hotel Conceirge/Bell Captain if you reserve the limousine bus to airport from them. You need to reserve the the limousine bus date/time/seat from the concierge desk before buying the ticket from the machine at the conceirge too. After that, you may leave all your luggages with them until bus pick up. The hotel bell staff helps to unload our luggages onto the bus. This really helps us so much. We were able to spend half the day around Shinjuku without any worry. If one doesn't mind paying more for accommodation, can try staying at Keio Plaza Hotel. It is more luxurious and convenient too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Luc198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Kadoya Hotel really is in a fantastic location for exploring Tokyo. It is within easy walking distance to Shinjuku station (even with luggage) and there are also lots of restaurants and shops in the streets surrounding the hotel. Considering its location, the price per night for this hotel is very good value.

Our room (a non-smoking one) was a bit small but was quiet, very clean and had a comfortable bed. The wi-fi worked well for us. All the staff that we spoke to were friendly, polite and helpful. We would happily stay at Kadoya Hotel again, thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGB91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is near the Shinjuku station which is around restaurants and stores and also convenient for transportation if you use the metro and train as the major. The room is a standard one, not too small, not too large, but the light is quite dark leads to a slightly bad feeling for me. The services from the staffs are wonderful, they all have the good English ability and also are very nice to customers. Overall, it's a nice experience and thank you for having us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
かどやホテル, Front desk at Kadoya Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your stay and your message.
As you know,our hotel is locates 3 minutes from Shinjuku station west exit ,and the bus stop from airport.

And ,the landmarks are as below,
・a convenience store(Lawson) is next door.
・a post office is opposite side of street.

We are looking forward to seeing you next time.
Thank you.
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed here for three nights in July 2014. The rooms are small but very functional and practical. Nothing was wanting!. The wi-fi always worked and the staff very helpful.
The hotel is very convenient being so close to restaurants and the Shinjuku train station. I have no hesitation in staying here again and visit the near by parks that I missed out seeing.
I couldn't find the hotel at first but it next to the Lawson on the corner. I also got my bearings by looking for the "bullet" building and the Shinjuku Post Office which is just across the street.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billeclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
かどやホテル, Front desk at Kadoya Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your stay and your comment.
We relieve to hear your confortable stay,this time.

Our hotel is located near the bus stop from airport,and Shinjuku station(West exit).
And there is a convinence store next to our hotel.

We are looking forward to seeing you next time.
Best regards.
Front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#14 of 82 in Shinjuku
949 reviews
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 82 in Shinjuku
3,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Tokyu Stay Shinjuku
Tokyu Stay Shinjuku
#2 of 82 in Shinjuku
410 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 82 in Shinjuku
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kadoya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kadoya Hotel

Property: Kadoya Hotel
Address: 1-23-1 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#13 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kadoya Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the business center of Tokyo, and steps away from Shinjuku Station's West Exit, Kadoya Hotel offers 94 rooms of 13 types. We offer the best convenience in the city with easy train access to Ginza, Roppongi, Shibuya, Ikebukuro, and other major destinations in Tokyo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kadoya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kadoya Hotel Shinjuku, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing