We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is NOT a problem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabukicho
Ranked #28 of 84 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Toyoko Inn promises you a clean and comfortable room in a convenient location, and that is what it delivers each and every time. Kabuki-cho is atmospheric, sure, but not unsafe if you don't behave in an unsafe manner, and Shinjuku area is a never-ending fascinating parade of everything and everybody. We will definitely come again and stay at Toyoko Inn again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S2014D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the Toyoko Inn while doing sightseeing in Tokyo for four nights. The hotel is located next the red light district therefor I'd not recommend it to single female travelers. All men have to prepare for being approached by 10-15 bouncers who try to lure you in of the red light establishments on the walk from the station to the hotel. The hotel itself is functional and ok for a few nights. It's a place to sleep, not a place to spend much time. The room was small, had a shower, TV and wifi. What more do you need? I was happy to use the in-house coin laundry machines.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Tobias2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were so happy with the service provided and location of this budget chain hotel with great access to Shinjuku. I could not believe that I could get a deal like this in Central Tokyo. I would highly recommend this chain and used it all through our trip around Kyushu. Excellent find!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Basic budget hotel. Great location, 4 blocks from a subway stop & from the famed Tokyo red light district. As anywhere else in Japan, it is very clean. Good breakfast, considering the price.
Room small, but everything is there, including a hi-tech toilet, as is the case with most japanese hotels we've stayed in.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed here with my dad for a week during the Summer. The hotel is in a really convenient location - not much longer than a 10 minute walk to the nearest station and with several convenience stores pretty much just outside of it. I would say the area itself isn't brilliant but it's not really particularly awful either. Just be prepared to hear a few loud (and probably drunk) people outside during the night occasionally.
The room we stayed in was comfy but a little small. It was large enough for us two to stay in comfortably but there wasn't really much space to walk around in. We didn't have too much luggage (even after my shopping spree during a department store sale in Ueno) so there wasn't a problem, but those with huge bags or suitcases may have trouble finding space for them without blocking the floorspace between the beds and door.
The best thing about our stay was definitely the breakfast. I usually skip breakfast at home in the UK because I hate the typical toast and cereal (and am slightly intolerant to wheat and lactose) but I was more than happy to eat it here. Everyday is similar but slightly different. I usually had a riceball, miso soup and whatever pickles or vegetables there were available on the day. The chikuzen-ni and fruit & silken tofu salad that were available on a few days were really tasty. There was also even curry (not a fan as it's too sweet for me but my dad liked it) and meatballs (again, not a fan because I don't like red meat but my dad happily stuffed himself) once or twice. There's also a free hot drink dispenser with a small selection of drinks and a cheaper than average vending machine in the lobby.
For those who want a cheap place to stay, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DistantTraces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Was pleasantly surprised to find a twin room to be reasonably spacious.
Managed to get around the problem of lack of space for suitcase by parking it in a corner so that it can remain open.
Toilet was clean and fully equipped, including shampoo and body wash.
Free breakfast was very Japanese - rice balls, Japanese curry (sometimes), miso soup, tamagoyaki. There's also a bread basket available, and a coffee/tea machine.
My biggest gripe is probably the location - it is about a 10-15min walk from Shinjuku station, which is quite considerable especially if you're lugging bags of shopping and stuff. Higashi-Shinjuku is nearer at abt 3-5min walk, but that means you'll have to take 1-2 stops to the Shinjuku interchange if you're intending to switch to other lines.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wenqilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here for 9 nights in total. It's probably the best value for the price, can't be beat!

Pros:
-Free breakfast was simple but delicious and sufficient to start the day (coffee/tea, miso soup, delicious rice balls, pickles).
-Central, 12 minute walk to Shinjuku station (actually closer to the Higashishinjuku Station, depends on where you're going)
-Excellent value
-Has all the basics if you are just looking for a shower and a night's sleep
-Very friendly and helpful staff; they spoke very limited English but were very helpful

Cons:
-Very small room (like most Japanese hotels), can get claustrophobic sometimes
-Difficult to keep suitcases open; need to constantly open/close to get stuff from suitcase
-Almost no storage space except for a few hooks on the wall

Bottom line: would stay again next time; favourite hotel breakfast in the world.

Room Tip: smoking rooms smell really bad (if you're a non-smoker)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissDietitian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Premier Hotel -CABIN- Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku
Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku
#30 of 84 in Shinjuku
332 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
#20 of 84 in Shinjuku
811 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Villa Fontaine Tokyo-Shinjuku
Shinjuku
APA Hotel Shinjuku Kabukicho Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabukicho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabukicho

Address: 2-20-15 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: £55 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabukicho 3*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabukicho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-Cho Hotel Shinjuku
Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabukicho Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing