We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Ranked #11 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Located within 15mins of walking distance to the main shinjuku area. metro is within less than a minute of walking distance. Easy to locate. The room was of decent sized for japan- we could at least open our luggages. The room was clean and tidy. Bathroom was of decent sized. Free Wifi. They also had the standard coin machined laundry facilities.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank justapathetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,030)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

Spent 6 nights in this hotel with family over the new year period. Originally had a bit of trouble locating the hotel from the JR Shinjuku station by way of subway, but after the first time there were no problems at all. The hotel is in a great spot in Shinjuku, only 1 or 2 stations from the JR Shinjuku station and also only a short distance by subway to Shibuya and Harajuku. The rooms are very small, we had to book two for our family of four, however very clean and they do the job when you are only predominantly there to sleep. There is a small restaurant downstairs that provides good value food, a 7/11 and a Lawtons (convenience store) across the street and a McDonalds on the corner. The fact that the hotel is right next door to the subway station makes it very easy to move around Tokyo. There is free internet in the foyer and the staff were very polite and friendly. Whilst the hotel is not on the Yamanote line it is in a great spot and would recommend to anyone who is looking for a central hotel with ease of access to public transport.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mrlove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Yes this is a small hotel but we knew that going in. Is it a good price for Tokyo? Sure. But if you can afford to stretch just slightly into the next tier, then I recommend you book elsewhere. The room and bathroom are nice given the size, but that is not my complaint: it's the less than helpful staff that was the disappointment. We arrived and were told we had a smoking room when that wasn't what we booked. They couldn't switch our room, and the scent was overpowering. The bed especially reeked, indicating that they had not actually changed the sheets from the previous guest. The front desk was fine I suppose, not exactly warm and only moderately helpful, but they were nowhere near as helpful as the hotel we moved to after deciding we could not survive 3 nights in a dank, smoky box.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Marissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We booked 2 Twin Rooms. The hotel is in East Shinjuku, which is 1 station away from Shinjuku-Sanchome, the heart of Shinjuku. The hotel is right next to subway station. However, there is a fair bit of walking inside the subway station before reaching the platform.

It may not be in the centre of Shinjuku, but the savings in hotel cost can justify this, given one will be travelling around during the day away from the hotel anyway.

The hotel room may be small comparing to western standard. However, there is enough room to move around, with good room in bathroom and working desk. Free wi-fi in the hotel room with good connection speed.

Hotel staff can communicate in English.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felix3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I booked the hotel for a business trip to Tokyo. Arriving at Narita Airport, the location is not optimal as some changes of subways are required (I took the wrong station and walked along some crowded routes but the closer station needed one additional hop). However, some quite and nice parks, some coffee shops and the central Shinjuko shopping can be reached by a some minutes walk. The room was clean, included a desk, but was a bit small (from a European point of view). The room was quiet. Free WiFi was included. The window was rather high and directed to the back yard. The "cabinet" in the floor could be larger so that even an European suite could easily fit in. The bath was clean, the bathtube was equipped with a shower curtain and if you like Japanese toilets you will be able to play around with the different settings. The breakfast was in Asian-Japanese style including noodles. The personal at the front desk was very helpful and friendly (e.g., they recommended some good restaurants just round the corner).

Room Tip: I would prefer a higher floor although I did not experience disturbing noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank he-H767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We booked the hotel based on recommendation that the location is convenient. Not exactly. It is close to the East Shinjuku station but it is not in the central Shinjuku area and in fact it is a subway stop away. You can walk to the central Shinjuku area but it is a good 25-minute walk. Not fun in winter time.

The rooms are very small. Even though I have been to Tokyo several times before and know that hotel rooms are small. This one is even smaller. We had trouble even accessing our suitcases. The bathroom is small and basic, including amenities.

Only one hotel staff speaks English, broken English.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duckioo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

When we enter the room, its very smell. disturbing our comfort staying there. the receptionist staff are quite nice, helping us find a good and famous food around there. the location quite nice, near to station around 5 minute walking, near to kabukicho to enjoy night life, also near with a lot of restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,379 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#13 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
APA Hotel Shinjuku Gyoemmae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku

Address: 7-27-9 Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0022, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Shinjuku
#11 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#12 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: £67 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Higashi-Shinjuku first opened on April 1, 2007, in the energetic business and shopping hub of Tokyo in the Higashi-Shinjuku prefecture. The hotel provides business and leisure travelers with direct access to Shinjuku Station, the largest train station in Japan.The hotel's contemporary, streamlined accommodations create a serene environment for guests to relax and retire to, away from the busy streets of Tokyo. This Shinjuku hotel's amenities, including secure accommodation and elevator access, expansive breakfast buffet at the hotel's restaurant Royal Host, and traditional Chinese menu at Bamiyan restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Splitty, Sunroute Co., Ltd., Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Higashi Hotel Shinjuku
Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing