We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, clean and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Ranked #10 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Decent, clean and good value”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Good and clean hotel, with decent size room for Tokyo. Convenient location with good value for money. Wi-Fi signal in rooms, but bandwidth isn't stable. Metro station around the corner, JR Yamanote line about 1 km away and Shinjuku is 10-15 min walk away. Convenience stores and restaurants across the street. Royal host restaurant in building next door. Helpful staff with good knowledge of English.

Room Tip: rooms away from street for a better sleep, because emergency services use street outside with sirens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    547
    141
    25
    9
See reviews for
113
334
150
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We've spent almost a week i that hotel and realli liked it. The price vas very good, and the service you get for that price is fair. Hotel is clean as everything in Japan, facilities are working just fine and the room is small, but cosy. In general good value for money and you really can't expect more for that price.

Location for us was convenient. Entrance to the metro is literally 5 meters from the hotel. Than you have to spend 5 minutes walking in the metro labyrynth, but that's something about Tokyo metro, not the hotel. If you want to use metro, this hotel is ideal. If you want to use train, things get a litle bit more complicated, because the closest station is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel, but it's Yamanote (circular) line so it will take you whenever you like.

There are plenty of korean restarants on the way to the station, but if you go in the opposite direction, youl soon get to Shinjuku and there you will find almost everything. I also found that 7/11 shop is just in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elrobsono83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

On our trip to Japan we were very focused on getting the location bang on, and I thought with the great reviews about this hotels location in Shinjuku, and proximity to trains this would be the case, but in all honesty (and I'm a fair reviewer) we were disappointed with the location of this hotel. Yes it's good value for money for Tokyo, and yes, our room size was completely adequate (we booked a slightly more expensive twin room so we'd have more space) basically, it's just a little bit too far away from the action of Shinjuku. It's entrance is right at the exit of a subway (Higashi Shinjuku station on the Oeda or Futsinshin (?) line, but to get to the JR stations requires either a subway and then a longish walk through tunnels, streets, stairs etc to get to the JR Shinjuku station, or a 15 min walk to a JR station, or 20 minute walk to the Shinjuku JR station. Which is what it takes to get to the heart of Shinjuku. Don't get me wrong, we made it work and didn't mind the walks, but I was under the impression that it was in a fab location, when actually it isn't. It's one station away from the action. For the four days we were in Tokyo, we used a combination of JR trains and subways, we got a one day travel card (10,000y) but lordy, some of those JR stations are massive (Shinjuku and Shibuya - especially when you're struggling your way through Saturday afternoon shoppers with all our suitcases and bags. Speaking of which, take care with the Narita Express line at Shibuya station - we came out of the subway into the JR station at the wrong exit, we asked a very helpful station worded (ok, fact, everyone we encountered in Japan was incredibly helpful), he looked concerned and then started walking very fast with my bag (which he humped all 25kg of up two flights of stairs) and got us to our line with a few minutes to spare after about 2 km of walking through Shibuya station!!! So back to the Sunroute, it was a fair hotel, in an average location, it's a bit of a soulless chain hotels, and we had a mix of great service and poor service. The price was good, but do look around carefully before settling on this - and in my opinion, don't look anywhere else apart from Shinjuku or Shibuya, if you want a buzzing Tokyo feel.

Room Tip: Ask for a twin room, and maybe one with a better view than the building next door we looked out at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Boyos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Just returned from a week stay at the Sunroute Higashi.

Speedy check-in and got upgraded to a two bedroom. The room was very basic with not much room to manouver around. We unpacked and spent little time at the hotel. The hotel is located steps away from the subway station that pretty much with take you anywhere whether it was a transfer or a direct stop somewhere. I found the two young men at front desk (during the day) to be very helpful with directions. They would highlight a map and give tell what lines you needed to take.

The Shinjuku Station is just one stop away and that's where we spent most of our time. Couldn't get over how many great restaurants are in the area. Also found Shin Okubo (Koreatown) to be useful for some shopping and eating.

Overall I would return to the Sunroute Higashi Hotel. Just don't expect luxury but it did fulfill our needs. The only negative thing is the emergency vehicle noise around the Hotel. There must be a hospital nearby because the sirens occur all hours of the day & night.

Room Tip: Away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark3all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The hotel is a good choice if you want something inexpensive and located next to a train station.
It's a stop away from the Shinjuku station, so you can actually skip the train and just walk there. it took about 10-15 minutes and along the way, you can grab a bite.
The room is small but it's very clean. No frills, as expected, but you get what you pay for.
Check in and out were smooth and the people there are very polite, if slightly detached.
My only gripe - tiny flat pillows (only 2).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kceteew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srhsj, Front Desk Staff at Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you very much for your comment.

We offer pillows for lend if you could contact front desk.
(The number is limited)

We hope you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed by myself for five nights while on vacation. The hotel location was EXCELLENT, just minutes walking distance from the Shinjuku station, and nearby restaurants, shopping, and convenience stores. The room was very clean and comfortable, and was a decent size for the price. The lobby was attractive and clean, the front desk service was pleasant, and the hotel restaurant was good. Overall a very good value, and would revisit again in the future!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slbd79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights. Rooms very clean, of course small but that is expected of Tokyo. Right next door to metro stop. Plenty of restaurants and convenience stores in the area. Washing machines/dryers great for those on longer trips. Staff helpful.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,233 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#14 of 81 in Shinjuku
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,258 reviews
Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
#9 of 81 in Shinjuku
893 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku

Property: Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Address: 7-27-9 Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0022, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Shinjuku
#11 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#12 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Higashi-Shinjuku first opened on April 1, 2007, in the energetic business and shopping hub of Tokyo in the Higashi-Shinjuku prefecture. The hotel provides business and leisure travelers with direct access to Shinjuku Station, the largest train station in Japan.The hotel's contemporary, streamlined accommodations create a serene environment for guests to relax and retire to, away from the busy streets of Tokyo. This Shinjuku hotel's amenities, including secure accommodation and elevator access, expansive breakfast buffet at the hotel's restaurant Royal Host, and traditional Chinese menu at Bamiyan restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Sunroute Co., Ltd., Rakuten, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Higashi Hotel Shinjuku
Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing