We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (497)
Filter reviews
497 results
Traveller rating
73
257
106
42
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
257
106
42
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfreshness burgerpublic bathsmall roomgyozashinjuku gyoemmaeminute walkshiseido productsyen shoptight squeezeshinjuku gyoen national gardensingle travellerwalking distancemini fridgeclean hotelbasement floorair purifierhousekeeping staff
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 497 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2018

I've stayed in many hotels in Tokyo specifically in the Shinjuku area. This was one of the smaller of hotels I've stayed in this area. However, it was big enough for two average size adults.

The bathroom was also small, but enough room for one person. All the usual amenities were provided - toothbrushes, razors, brush, etc.

Our room did not offer a view of the city. Instead, the view was a wall. If you would like a view, it doesn't hurt to ask when you check in.

There is a restaurant attached to the hotel. A free drink coupon was provided when I checked in.

Also, there is a sauna on the bottom floor of the hotel that is available to guests. I, however, did not have time to use it.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank We5ley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
アパホテル新宿御苑前, Receptionist at APA Hotel Shinjuku Gyoemmae, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

"Thank you for staying with us here APA HOTEL SHINJUKU GYOEMMAE and your review. We are sorry that we let you down and did not meet your expections. APA Hotel is a compact hotel and placing emphasis on functionality. Due to the energy saving effect resulting from miniaturization of the guests rooms, the environmental burden per guest is reduced.  As a result, carbon dioxide is suppressed by one-third.  We certainly hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again.
"
Masuda / Receptionist


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

We stayed in APA Hotel Shinjuku Gyoen-mae for 4 nights which were quite okay. Everything nice and clean, though the room was even tinier than expected (we did expect a tiny room in a Tokio hotel, but there wasn't even a closet to put your clothes or a place to store our bags). The room had a window, but it was made of milk glass, so not sure what kind of view we would have had. In general, the room was quiet. But, as to be expected, once people start changing rooms at night and knocking on each others doors, you will wake up from it (as happened to us on Friday and Saturday night).

Room Tip: Don't expect a big room or a view
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ice-T5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
アパホテル新宿御苑前, Receptionist at APA Hotel Shinjuku Gyoemmae, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank you for staying with us here, APA HOTEL 〈SHINJUKU GYOEMMAE〉, and your review. First of all, we are sorry that we let you down and did not meet your expectations about the noise on the floor. About the room size and closet, the APA Hotel is designed as a compact hotel, but if you have many big luggage and want to stay with bigger room, we have other types of rooms, so please ask us about up grading the room. Furthermore, we can keep your luggage if you have so many things. Moreover, about the view from room, we have some room which has a better view. Please feel free to ask about the room and other options for next stay. We are so pleased to receive your warm comment, and thank you so much for taking time for this review. We are looking forward to seeing you at our hotel soon.

Maniwa/ Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

Good hotel for a short stay. Got a bit cramped for 2 people but that is normal for Japan. Good value and staff were helpful as they seemed to be at the Reception all night long. Make sure you request a non-smoking room!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 330christo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
アパホテル新宿御苑前, NAKADAI / Receptionist at APA Hotel Shinjuku Gyoemmae, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the APA HOTEL SHINJUKU GYOEMMAE and for your time to share your experience.
We are honored to read your warm comment regarding our facility and service.
We look forward to the opportunity to provide you with another stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

APA hotel provided a quick check in and out, a secure lodging and deserves bonus remarks for having their own public bath/ onsen. It's exactly what you need after a long days worth of shopping in downtown Shinjuku. Shinjuku gyoenmae (gardens) are just behind the hotel and from our room we had a great view. Their in house restaurant also serves up great steaks! It is a great place to use as base whilst travelling in Tokyo having access to Shinjuku JR station (10min walk) and metro (3mins walk) so close by. There are amazing restaurants within walking distance and you are even lucky to have a great gyoza restaurant across the street. Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
アパホテル新宿御苑前, NAKADAI / Receptionist at APA Hotel Shinjuku Gyoemmae, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Thank you for your review and even more for your stay with us.
What a great feedback we have received here, thank you so much for valuabe comment.
We certainly hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Japan.
Thank you.
NAKADAI / Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

We quite liked our stay at this APA hotel. It is conveniently located around 5 minutes walk or less away from Shinjuku gyoenmae station and is right beside the amazing Shinjuku gyoen gardens! Shinjuku station and entertainment and shopping area is around 10 minutes walk away! There are various eateries near the hotel too. It is a very convenient base to explore Tokyo from. The room was quite nice but quite small and narrow as expected. I like how this hotel has an onsen (Grand Spa), which was an added bonus to our stay. Check-in and check-out is quite easy and staff are quite friendly and ready to help.
Overall it is on the expensive side for a business hotel but still quite good and enjoyable.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank otonashii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
アパホテル新宿御苑前, お客様担当マネージャー at APA Hotel Shinjuku Gyoemmae, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Thank you for your review and even more for your stay with us.
What a great feedback we have received here, thank you so much for valuabe comment.
We certainly hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Japan.
Thank you.
Michikura/Receptionist





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews