We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place.”
Review of The Koenji

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Suginami
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Koenji
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic place.”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Arrived back in England today after a 14 night stay at the guesthouse and I cannot recommend it enough. The location as fantastic: a minute from the station and swarmed by izakayas, bars, restaurants and vintage clothes shops.

Toshi-San is very welcoming and helpful. He is at the guest house most days emptying the bins, tidying up the communal areas and checking in new guests. Don't be afraid to ask any questions, his English is great.

One key point: as other reviewers have commented, the streets get pretty busy on a weekend and there are buskers that play in the tunnels beneath the train station. Take some earplugs whether you think you'll need them or not. You'll be listening to the trains until midnight, then the music until about 4am, and then the trains start again at 5am.

Another thing: maybe take some time to watch a few of the street performers. Everyone in Koenji seems obscenely talented.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rrryanscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    6
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
6
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I was only here a short few days, but I felt a real sadness when I left. I would ABSOLUTELY come back here again for an extended stay. It is a very authentically Japanese experience, a central space in true Japanese night life, and a believable space. Small rooms, yet very organized space for a large amount of storage. The roof top deck is an absolute pleasure, a really beautiful center piece to the house. It is homey, yet cleanly. Safe, yet wonderfully exciting. And the location absolutely cannot be beat. 1 minute walk from Koenji station, three stops away from JR yamanote line. A wonderful area, a wonderful boarding house. Prices cannot be beat. Toshi-san and Wataru-san are absolute pleasures, and extremely knowledgeable in everything "Tokyo."
10/10, would do again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laurel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
105 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

The upside:-
The location is unbeatable - just next to JR Koenji station.
Price is affordable in Tokyo standard, especially if you are looking for private room instead of dormitory room
Hostel feeling - have the refrigerator, toaster and the kitchen necessity which you can make your dinner or breakfast easily at the small common kitchen area
Koenji is a chic area which is different from Shinjuku or Ikebukuro. It has quite a lot specialty shops and restaurants. Also, it is close to my favourite spot in Tokyo - Ghibli Museum in Mitaka

The downside:-
There is NO sign whatsoever for the hostel. So, for those who come for first time, you MUST call the owner in order to let them pick you up at the station.
There are a few night shops just below the hostel, therefore some rooms may be a bit noisy at night
The rooms are relatively small and the hostel has quite a lot stairs, therefore if you are having heavy or big luggage with you, this may be a problem.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankyDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed at Koenji last week and loved the whole experience. At first we were daunted by the size of the room but after organising our stuff - under the bed, hanging space and in the shelving supplied - we felt surprisingly comfortable. The area is a hipster, cool kids dream. Lots of vintage stores selling clothes, records and antiques. Great food in the area, Ramen and tempura also we recommend the station bakery for breakfast. Speaking of the station, The Koenji is super close to your link to the rest of Tokyo, after exiting the station look for the KFC, head down Central Rd and on your right 50m down across from the book store you'll see a door with a skull sticker and keypad lock. Fast free wifi and washing, small convenient kitchen, and large shower on roof terrace (better than the ones inside). We stayed over the weekend but the noise didn't bother us although we were out reasonably late too. Highly recommend for budget travellers wanting a unique experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susanyoung3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I stayed here last year in November (sorry for the late review!) for 3 weeks and loved it! Personally, I think it's the best location in Tokyo. The Chuo line was so convenient, there were restaurants and groceries stores everywhere and the best part is the lack of tourists! It does get a little loud over the weekends and the train station is really close (you can hear the announcements) but overall I find it to be a relatively quiet neighborhood for downtown Tokyo. From the Chuo line you can get to Shinjuku (a really big but convenient transfer station), akihabara and Mitaka station (close to my favorite park Inokashira and the Ghibli Museum). I have already booked my next stay here in 2013! Can't wait!

Room Tip: The twin room (bunk beds) is the biggest room. It costs a little more but I hear the double bed room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kai81212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed in The Koenji Guesthouse last July, and were very pleased with it.
The place is really small and our room had a double bed, air conditioning and a metal bar to hang our clothes... but it was enough. The price was very good for Japanese standards and you have access to the kitchen, washing machine, wi-fi, etc. The only thing I would suggest is to improve the cleaning, since the shared toilet was not cleaned daily during our stay.
The owner is very kind and answered all our questions and helped us sending our baggage to another part of Japan. I would definitely go back and recommend it for people who are looking for a cheap place to rest.
We didn't have any problems with noises, etc. You could hear the train but it was not a problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oconeeNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

The Koenji is a gem in Tokyo for independent budget travellers. It is located minutes from Shinjuku (the center and main station) on the JR line in a charming, bohemian area with a ton of cheap restaurants. The rooms are very small but comfortable and clean and I found it quite ingenious how everything was laid out to maximize space. The people who own/run the hostel are very responsive. As they are not usually at the guesthouse, this is more suitable for independent travellers. The one issue we had was that as the guesthouse is next to a bar, it does get noisy for the first floor rooms on the weekends. However, I slept fine with earplugs. We also stayed on the top floor, which was very much insulated from noise. Thanks to the Koenji for helping to make our trip affordable and enjoyable!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahl899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suginami
Shinjuku
Imano Tokyo Hostel
Imano Tokyo Hostel
#1 of 28 in Shinjuku
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Mets Koenji
#3 of 6 in Suginami
67 reviews
Club Inn Ogikubo
#5 of 6 in Suginami
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Koenji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Koenji

Property: The Koenji
Address: 3-22-2 Koenji-kita | 2F & 3F, Suginami 166-0002, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Suginami
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality lodging in Suginami
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
The Koenji Hotel Suginami
The Koenji Tokyo/Suginami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing