We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, no more, no less!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Capsule Inn Kinshicho
Ranked #11 of 27 Speciality lodging in Sumida
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Got there in the morning and the place was closed until four in the afternoon. Having to spend the whole day in the city with luggage wasn't our plan. Luckily an old lady helped us getting in touch with staff who just happened to walk around outside and they gladly took care of our things. Nice job, bad policy (not being open before 4pm). Anywho, the staff was really friendly and capsules fun....for ten minutes. Then all the downsides of not knowing any Japanese and therefore had no use for the TV was quickly apparent. Showers and "recreation" room was ok and I can't blame the Japanese people for walking around naked everywhere, even in the tv-room, I guess thats my problem and just their ways. :) Also it was kind of boring having my girlfriend on another floor, but of course that is necessary with all the nakedness. Although I don't regret the stay. I can cross out one more thing on my bucket list! Also everyone was really polite and quite on my floor, surprisingly (or not) on the womens floor they chatted all night and my girlfriend couldn't sleep. Luckily the World Cup was on in the reception area so we could watch that. And yes, got some nice capsule pics to show off too. Big plus! Do it, but don't expect much!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Culprido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

This was a great experience (first time in a capsule hotel). The sauna and the hot, hot, hot bath was awesome and I loved it so much. The staff were kind and helpful. The only thing that was not superb was that the lockers are tiny (could only fit my jacket and smallest handbag in there), so I had my backpack, hand baggage and some plastic bags in my capsule (which meant that I had 50 % capsule space left for my my body, haha). But I enjoyed my three days stay here, and really loved the area – Kinshicho – too. Would stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Sarasusername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This was my first stay in a capsule hotel. I am a female and I went with another female so we stayed on the female floor in capsules next to each other. It was not very crowded. The capsule bed itself was very hard and it was very cold at night. The elevator smelled heavily of smoke. The onsen was extremely hot, too hot to get inside. But the sauna room was great. It was pleasantly warm and smelled nice and the rocks on which you lie are comfortable.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank autumnpoem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

For a traveller keen to experiment all that is local, a trip to Tokyo must include at least one night at a capsule hotel. For this exact reason, during a recent business trip to Tokyo I decided to give it a go for one night, before moving in into a more appropriate hotel.
Capsule Inn Kinshicho is probably as average in the capsule world as it can get. The experience itself is definitely worth it and if you are an "adventurous" traveller I'd say go for it! It's a great place to meet very interesting people, mostly backpacking around the world and ready to share their stories, just like at a European hostel. Unlike a European hostel though, there are distinct local flavours that will make your stay interesting. First of all, the bath. Kishicho Capsule Inn features a traditional Japanese bathroom, with a big pool in the middle and open showers around it. There are no rules for using the bath, but if you want to experiment the Japanese way nobody will stop you :) Go in, sit on the small stool by the shower, soak up, soap up the bath towel and get clean! Only after you washed all the soap off you can go in the pool, that will be shared with other naked people.
The sleeping capsules are an interesting experience too, as long as you are not claustrofobic. You enjoy comforts that you don't normally have at a European hostel, like your own TV and waker, but you have to deal with the limited space. Also, you might "enjoy" tens of tonalities of snores, which will probably not help you in falling asleep.
Capsule Inn Kishicho has a good location, close to subway stations and not far from the T-CAT. It is very conveniently situated on the Hanzomon Line, which is probably the best line in Tokyo to get to the must-see places. There are also good eateries nearby, including running sushi restaurants. However, I think it could be a bit cleaner and better maintained as it looks and feel quite run down, even for the price (about 21 EUR / night).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lucibitai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

It might not be the very best idea to type this review right now.. I'm currently lying in one of the capsules with a bit of jetlag. It is 2:30 AM and because of a large number of loudly snoring men around me I can't sleep on this extremely thin madras.. They not only snore some have vivid and bad dreams while others loose a few breaths and gasp violently as if they were going to die.

On the positive side is definitely the price. There is also a huge spa area with a 24-hour sauna. The showers are the type where you sit on a small plastic stol rather than stand up. There is also one of these high tech toilets with build in heat in the seat. After the deed you can chose gentle shower of you anus or the more powerful jet spay. I recommend the latter to only more adventures travelers.

You have to trust you fellow travelers with you gadgets while charging them. There are no electrical outlets in the cubes - only in the common bathroom and in the living room near the reception. But I'm sure the reception staff will charge them for you. And we are quite a few who leave nice phones for charging in the bathroom. It seems very safe.

When all this is said I think you should consider staying here. It is fun. And I hope my typing didn't wake anybody up..

Room Tip: Lower cubes are easier to enter and wifi is available at 3rd floor - obviously..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2900Copenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I was very happy here, the capsules did get a little warm at night with the curtain closed but that was my only concern. The staff are great, the sauna and bathrooms were good. This is one of the only capsule hotels that will allow women there. There amenities are a bit more restrictive than the mens though.

Room Tip: Get a capsule on the bottom if you can, easier to get in and out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thebarnboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My first time staying in a capsule inn, it was definitely an interesting experience.
First up, the experience is similar to living in a hostel dorm, except that the capsule is "cooler" as there's a TV and radio and lights.

There is a ladies only floor on the top floor, in general the facility is pretty clean and well maintained. The bath is a communal bath on the ground floor. Definitely an interesting experience for first timers too. However, the bath house closes at 12midnight, so no late nights unless you wanna go to bed without showering.

The wifi reception is not that good from the capsule, but the wifi is decent at the reception. My only qualm is that there is no power supply at the capsule so it was very hard to charge my phone.

Room Tip: the ladies floor was fine but i heard the male floor had a strong smell of cigarette. just a warning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sumida
Hotel MyStays Asakusa
#7 of 18 in Sumida
350 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Livemax Nippori
Hotel Livemax Nippori
#91 of 155 in Taito
30 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Dandy
Dandy
#32 of 75 in Taito
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Hostel Fuji
#2 of 27 in Sumida
42 reviews
Sumida Nagaya
#8 of 27 in Sumida
1 reviews
Shibuya, Harajuku, Ebisu
do-c Ebisu
do-c Ebisu
#5 of 12 in Shibuya
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capsule Inn Kinshicho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capsule Inn Kinshicho

Address: 2-6-3 Kinshi, Sumida 130-0013, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Sumida
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Speciality lodging in Sumida
Price Range: £19 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Capsule Inn Kinshicho 1.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Japanese Unique Style Hotel.A Capsule hotel is a unique style of accommodation in Japan, inspired by the pursuit of efficiency of space and functional comfort, originating from the adaptive, creative spirit of the Japanese mind. A typical Capsule Hotel is composed of two major sections; a public lounge space including bathing, and the other is a private space where the sleeping rooms (capsules) are arranged. The actual sleeping room is a capsule unit made of reinforced plastic and designed in the image of a jet airplane's cockpit. In the capsule unit, all the required amenities are provided; TV, radio, alarm clock, adjustable lighting... almost everything is provided! Every device is within your reach and you can control everything in a sleeping position. For the numerous business people working hard until after midnight and who miss their train, and for all the people coming to Tokyo on a short business trip, or holiday; young and old, men and women, a wide range of people stay at Capsule hotels in Tokyo. Everybody that travels to Japan should experience this unique accommodation, at least once! One of the most unique accommodations in the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Capsule Inn Kinshicho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capsule Inn Kinshicho Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing