We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next JR Station, good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ryogoku Pearl Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels / Ryokan in Sumida
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I like this hotel quite happy with the promotion. Hotel is located in front of JR Ryogoku Station with easy catch to Narita Airport by change from JR to Keisei Train at Funabashi Station. 20 - 25 Mins by JR train to Shinjuku HaraJuku , 01 station to Akihabara. I recommend you buy a full day JR ticket for vity explore is good idea.

Room is quite small, but we are ok with this, our room come with Sumida river view. great room amenities, free bicycle for your ride to Snesoji Temple in Asakusa, Tokyo Tower, and etc.

There are lots of restaurant near the train station.

Breakfast was good with lot of choice western and Japanese style.

Overall, this hotel is good for a stay in Tokyo

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Nattawut K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2011

I was a little worried after reading some reviews of this hotel, but I am very impressed. Very convenient to the JR line, and I wouldn't say the train noise is too bad. Just kind of like being near a busy road (doesn't bother me.)

Room was definitely small, but it was much, much nicer than I expected.

My only complaint and the only thing keeping me from giving this hotel 5 out of 5 is that they were ABSOLUTELY no help over the phone sometimes. At one point when I called, I asked (in japanese) for someone who spoke English and was transferred. All other times (including when I was lost in the area, trying to find the hotel) I was told "NO ENGLISH".

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

While being extremely convenient to the JR line, it's also practically on the JR line making it quite noisy till about 1:30am and again starting at 5:00am. Hotel is right next to the Sumo museum, which we didn't get a chance to go to, but you see the importance of the sport with the many statues around this area. One of those you get what you pay for places.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DntStpBlvng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

I didn't have a good view but you really don't need a view when you are not going to spend the whole day in there anyways.

Stayed: May 2009
1  Thank PaulaC7244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

I am a frequent business traveler to Japan, since the early 1990's. I am well aware of the standard of accommodation provided in Japan, especially in Tokyo/Osaka - rooms are always smaller than found in the US or Europe, or even other parts of Asia. I was attending the Sumo tournament in Tokyo for several days, and decided that a hotel closer to the stadium was preferable to my usual digs in Shibuya or Shinjuku.

I booked this hotel via a "discounter" website, although the price was not particularly low. For some reason Japanese hotels, despite the worldwide travel downturn, are slow to discount to more affordable levels consistent with their occupancy. A non-smoking room was requested, although I was to find out that no such rooms are available in this hotel.

And despite my expectations of a "small" room, these were the absolute smallest rooms I have ever experienced in Japan, except for the infamous "capsule" hotels. The room was 6 feet wide by 9.5 feet long, plus the standard prefab plastic bathroom. There was absolutely NO WHERE to put the luggage except on the floor, stepping over it each time you wanted to go to the bed/desk.

And there were NO international television channels available at all, nor the usual "bilingual" feature that is usually available for some local television (news). Internet service was wired with no wifi available, but extremely fast without any blocks of VPN or other business services.

Air conditioning was barely adequate, and I would guess not adequate when it becomes hot as Tokyo does in the summer. The one window did open, but high noise levels from the freeway made leaving it open impossible.

Staff spoke virtually no English. Not a consideration for a frequent traveler, but perhaps for someone visiting for the first time.

The free breakfast buffet was perfunctory, but did include scrambled eggs and some kind of mystery meat. Smokers still in the restaurant however required requests to stop. The "non smoking" in public areas concept is still in its infancy in Japan.

Transport to/from the hotel was very good with the JR station just across the road providing direct access into the city center as well as the airport (with only one quick train change).

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JimmyMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2008

Very nice modern hotel. Rooms are good for doubles/twins but cramped if a single. bathrooms are small but well appointed.
Everything seems to be changed daily if used.
Tokyo is amazing. I could recommend so many places but everywhere was unbelievable for us as first time visitors.
The only down side is crowds on trains and in popular places for example Ueno Park as it was cherry blossom viewing time.
That said places like Imperial Palace Gardens and Meiji Shrine were quiet with few people about.
Travelled on the Shinkansen (bullet train). You do not get impression of speed on board but you definately do at station when one goes through non-stop!!
I recommend hotel for those who do not mind being a little way from main areas (easily accessible by train station opposite) and have a double/twin room.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WorcesterMoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2007

The Hotel is located near to the Station, the Kokugikan and Tokyo Edo Museum. A lot of Restaurants, Bars and Sumo-dojos around. The Ryogoku-quarter is a very charming part of the city.

Rooms are quite small, but they are clean and have a good standard equipment. At the desk English is hardly understood.

It is just a good place to lay your head overnight and explore the city from. And a fair deal.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wacki46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sumida hotels
0.1 mi away
Ryogoku View Hotel
Ryogoku View Hotel
#5 of 18 in Sumida
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dai-ichi Hotel Ryogoku
Dai-ichi Hotel Ryogoku
#4 of 18 in Sumida
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ryogoku River Hotel
Ryogoku River Hotel
#14 of 18 in Sumida
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel MyStays Asakusa
Hotel MyStays Asakusa
#7 of 18 in Sumida
333 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tobu Hotel Levant Tokyo
1.3 mi away
Lotte city hotel Kinshicho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryogoku Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryogoku Pearl Hotel

Address: 1-2-24 Yokoami, Sumida 130-0015, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Sumida
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels / Ryokan in Sumida
Price Range: £43 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryogoku Pearl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ryogoku Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ryogoku Pearl
Ryogoku Pearl Sumida
Ryogoku Pearl Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing