We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, well located hotel”
Review of The B Ikebukuro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The B Ikebukuro
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Qld
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good, well located hotel”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Comfortable hotel in bustling Ikebukuro, very close to train and multiple subway lines (5 mins easy level walk), shops, restaurants, electronic and department stores including Sunshine City. Our triple room was small as expected with beds in a row as per website pic but we had little luggage so manageable and included a desk and chair. Comfy beds but typically rather too hard pillows. Room looked over internal courtyard and very quiet. Internet in room with LAN cable connection or free wifi in lobby. Very good shower. Usual all gadget loo. Room amenities included fridge, electric jug, teas, toiletries, waffle-weave robe and slippers, hangers with trouser clips-useful for hanging small hand washed items over the shower. Staff were friendly and helpful and spoke a little English. Check in/out very efficient. Happy to hold bags for you on early arival or after checkout til later in the day.

Room rates include breakfast with a mix of English (juices, flakey cereals, mini saveloy sausages, very runny scrambled egg, cold hard boiled eggs, hot chips, tinned fruit, yoghurt, toast and spreads, croissants, tea, coffee) and Japanese (curries, rice, miso, chickpeas, lots of condiments and toppings, salads, pasta etc). Breakfast is served in the restaurant/bar with Italian wine cellar decor-very effective. We planned but never quite made it to their buffet lunch or the bar in the evening. Highly recommended as good hotel and its location makes it easy to get everywhere and with all to hand no need to traipse around Shibuya etc for shopping. Area does get packed with teens/20's in evening and weekends. Our only thumbs down the air con was too hot and stuffy and though tried to set it much lower it seemed to automatically turn off in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gecko24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at The B Ikebukuro, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear gecko24

Thank you for your comment about the b ikebukuro. As you mentioned, the location is our strength for all travelers – both business and leisure. JR and Tokyo Metro will take you to many of the famous and popular Tokyo sites. We are sorry to hear about your air-conditioner problem and that we were not able to meet your needs on your past visit. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Sincerely,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    240
    45
    13
    7
See reviews for
91
83
87
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

location wise is perfect (just 3-5 min walk to the nearest JR station). rooms tidy and clean. bathroom is nice and look modern - no bathtub is not a problem at all.

breakfast is the best i've ever had for a chain hotel.

check-in and check-out are smooth and fast. price very reasonable as it was an early bird offer. would definitely stay again next time. recommend to everyone who's looking for value-for-money option in Tokyo city.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvonneCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at The B Ikebukuro, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear yvonnecheng

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the b ikebukuro. We are delighted to hear your experience was great and you are satisfied with your stay. We are also happy to hear we are your “only choice!” We look forward to welcoming you again. We will try our best to provide a comfortable stay next time! Please let us know when you’re coming back! Thanks again!

Sincerely,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Location is great, about 5 minutes slow walk from Ikebukuro station even with heavy luggage. You don't have to cross any big roads or stairs which is a plus when dragging luggage along.

Rooms are small but actually decently-sized by Tokyo standards. Design of the rooms are what I'd call "boutique-lite". There's a universal plug in the room for electronics and LAN cable is provided, which is a plus (surprisingly, many hotels in Japan still insist you bring your own cable for internet connectivity in-room).

One of the best things about the hotel: there's a branch of Ichiran Ramen just behind the hotel and it's open 24 hours!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chuyeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotels, Manager at The B Ikebukuro, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear chuyeow
Thank you for your comments on the b ikebukuro. We are delighted that you have a favourite restaurant so close by the hotel. As you know there is a lot to see and do in the area, so it offers a very good reason to come back over and over again.
We pride ourselves on the fashionable yet functional design of the rooms and bathrooms.
Next time you visit Tokyo we hope you choose the b ikebukuro or one of our sister hotels in the Ishin Hotels Group.
Kind regards
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I booked for two nights after an enjoyable stay earlier in the year. It is well located, about 3 minutes walk from Ikebukuro station. While basically a standard business hotel, it is decorated in good taste and has an excellent buffet breakfast in the Italian restaurant - wine cellar decor, but genuine, and decent music. During the week there are the usual boring salary men but in the weekend some more normal young human beings.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tummo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotels, Manager at The B Ikebukuro, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Tummo
Thank you for taking your time to write your comments on the b ikebukuro.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the you chose to stay with us again on your last visit.
It is in a fabulous area, with lots to see and do, so there is always the opportunity to further explore.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We always stay at the Ikebukuro area, but usually with House Ikebukuro or Weekly Mansion. Booked this hotel last year as it was running promotion. Very value for money. It's clean, comfortable, and new, compared to other hotels in the area which may cost you the same or higher. Planning on returning for our trip this June.

Room Tip: Booked on Jalan.net for good price.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tsubame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotels, Manager at The B Ikebukuro, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Tsubame
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the b ikebukuro and thank you for taking your time to post a comment. We often have excellent deals at the hotel but overall the hotel is great value for money, with it's superb location and fantastic facilities. We also have a Facebook page which offers special deals, so you may want to 'Like' us if you are on Facebook to take advantage of these offers.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

All in all, great hotel. We stayed as a party of 2 for four nights.

The rooms were small in general. Did not have room to open two large suitcases. We ended up opening one up on the floor and one on the bed. It was ok considering we knew that rooms were around that size. The only complaint was that the heat was unbearable inside the hotel room everyday even though the heat was turned off. We ended up leaving our windows open throughout the day while were out. When we returned, the room has cooled down. We left the windows open as well throughout the night. If you're a light sleeper, it would be a good idea to wear ear plugs. Morning traffic from the windows might wake you up.

The hotel is phenomenally clean. It is not a luxury hotel but with its updated furnishings, comfortable beds, free wifi in the lobby, vending machines, it was more than what we'd had for.

Hotel staff were friendly, courteous, and knowledgable. Each hotel staff greeted us with a smile. Housekeeping was the same as well.

Location of The B was great. It is walking distance to the Ikebukuro Train Station (10-15 min). There are also many great restaurants and shopping centres within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k3l0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The B Ikebukuro, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear K3I0303
Thank you for your kind comments.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. The b concept focuses on comfort and convenience, as well as the nice touches that will assist to make your stay more comfortable.
I will forward on your comments in relation to the Team Members - they will be delighted that you enjoyed their service and friendly smiles while you were a guest.
Ikebukuro is a wonderful area and very convenient to all of Tokyo.
We hope that you also recommend the hotel to your friends and we look forward to welcoming you back here soon.
Kind regards
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We spent 8 nights at the 'b' in a triple room. Hotel rooms in Japan aren't really designed for 3 so it was definitely tight on space but would have been fine for 2. This isn't a luxury hotel, yet it's spotlessly clean, rooms are very comfortable, beds are comfortable.

Breakfast was included in our room rate, and the buffet has a large variety of items, both Japanese and Western (a bit more of the Japanese). The food quality of the buffet is very high - much higher than the typical "free" breakfast in the US.

The room had wired internet which worked very well. Wireless internet is not available.

Staff was always polite and helpful. Housekeeping was great but be aware that they err on the side of caution so if you want something thrown out place it in the trash or make it very obvious that it is garbage.

The bathroom is very interesting. It looks like a pre-fab unit placed into the room and it is somewhat narrow but contains a Toto Washlet (the Japanese toilet that washes your butt for you), a sink, and a really nice shower with rain head, hand wand, and 3 extra forward-facing water jets.

Location was OK. It's very close (5 mins walk) to Ikebukuro station, which gives you easy access to all of Tokyo. The specific location is at the edge of a slightly seedy area but this is Tokyo so it's not unsafe. In any case a much nicer part of Ikebukuro is only 5-10 minutes walk away,

The hotel has little in the way of facilities but there is coin-op laundry and a free terminal with printer in the lobby, both very useful for travelers.

We had no problems with our stay and the price is right.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AndyTheGameInventor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The B Ikebukuro, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear AndyTheGameInventor
Thank you for your kind comments about your stay at the b ikebukuro. As you have mentioned this is an ideal area from which to explore all of Tokyo.
We appreciate your comments made in relation to the Team Members - I will certainly pass this on to them. And also your comments on the hotel - we pride ourselves on the stylish decor and surroundings and we also strive to offer great value for our guests.
For future reference we do have wireless Internet available in the lobby so this may be beneficial.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Regards
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toshima hotels
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ikebukuro
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro
#5 of 55 in Toshima
246 reviews
Ikebukuro
Super Hotel Lohas Ikebukuro-Eki Kitaguchi
Ikebukuro
Hotel Mystays Higashi-Ikebukuro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The B Ikebukuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The B Ikebukuro

Property: The B Ikebukuro
Address: 1-39-4 Higashiikebukuro, Toshima 170-0013, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Toshima
#4 Family Hotel in Toshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The B Ikebukuro 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of this exciting city, just three minutes walk from the JR Ikebukuro and subway stations providing easy access to Shinjuku, Shinjuku and Tokyo Dome. This newly opened hotel is right in the centre of the entertainment, nightlife, shopping, business and restaurant precinct, but also just minutes to Sunshine City including aquarium and observatory deck, Namja Town, Ancient Orient Museum and Japan Traditional Crafts Centre. Ideal hotel for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Fastbooking, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The B Ikebukuro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Ikebukuro Hotel Toshima
The B Ikebukuro Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing