We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”
Review of The B Ikebukuro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The B Ikebukuro
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 9D8N during my trip to tokyo on the 22nd May-30th May 2013. Travelled with a family of 5 with one kid (8 yrs old), was an easy accessible area to stay in as food and family marts are just round the corner. Clean and pleasant room (just nice for 2- superior twin room). About 5 mins walk from Ikebukuro station (East exit- you will see Bic camera store on the left upon exiting the station, and you will see the hotel sign further up). Wonderful location to stay in as Ikebukuro station is the interchange of most train lines. If you are coming from Narita Airport, do take the Kenseii Skyliner to Nippori station, and changed to JR Yamonote line to Ikebukuro station. It only took less than an hour to reach your destination! Breakfast was included during my stay, and the spread was pretty reasonable. Daily spread is about the same, but their pasta flavors change daily- as their specialty is pizza and pasta. If you are planning for day trips with sunrise tours, the nearest pick up hotel is sunshine city prince hotel. It takes about 10-15 mins walk away from this hotel- ask reception for direction should you need help.

The only downside about my stay was Wifi is only available at the lobby area. But there is complimentary internet if you use your laptop to connect to the cable provided in the room. Also, one of our rooms the air con is not working well, and lucky the weather was not that humid during our stay. Mine was working perfectly ok. Otherwise, it was a pleasant experience during our stay. And will definitely recommend to friends and family who goes to tokyo for vacation.

Tips: If you have an Apple Iphone/ Ipad, download this app call 'trains.jp' is the best app ever if you want to travel around tokyo in subways/ JR (yet to try if it works for other parts of japan). Apparently, is not available for android as i tried searching on play store.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VaNiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at The B Ikebukuro, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear VaNiez

Thank you for choosing the b Ikebukuro and for taking the time to post your review.
We are beyond pleased to hear your positive experience at the hotel and are happy to be able to cater you and your family.
As for the WiFi, we are actually working on installing it to be available in each and every room right now in addition to the lobby area. It will be complimentary – the complimentary LAN cable will still be available in each room as well. The Air con matter has been taken care of – thank you for mentioning.
Please come back and see us again upon your return to Tokyo!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    241
    45
    13
    7
See reviews for
91
83
87
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I am kind of surprised and skeptical about the glowing Tripadvisor reviews, which was the basis of me booking this place.

The shower is GREAT. That's about the only really good thing I can say. Otherwise, it's a pretty typical middle-of-the-road business hotel that's been gussied up a bit with Ikea-like built-ins.

Rooms are typically small for this type of hotel. Curtains were badly stained. Card key entry to room was bug-gy.

There are bigger rooms in better-located hotels to be found in Tokyo in this same price category.

Also as I've mentioned before in reviews of other hotels in the area (I travel to Tokyo a lot,) I would NOT recommend Ikebukuro to first-time visitors to Japan. It is a tad remote from most of the major tourist areas, and a bit nasty.

Room Tip: Japanican had FAR cheaper rates for this hotel than on the hotel's own website or other major tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikebern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at The B Ikebukuro, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear mikebern

Thank you for choosing the b ikebukuro and for posting your comment.
We are disappointed that we couldn't live up to your expectations. We will check the curtains and the card key system.
As you can see on our website, some of our rooms are Tokyo sized; however, we try to make them as efficient as possible. If you would like a bigger room, we would recommend our deluxe rooms as they are twice as big.
Thank you again for your review.

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Absolutely fantastic budget hotel in a brilliant location. Ikebukuro is often overlooked by travel guides, but it's a great little part of Tokyo - not overly busy, some great restaurants and bars, and great connections to the rest of Tokyo (it's on the Yamanote loop line - even better to use if you have a JR pass).

The hotel is 5 minutes from the station (south exit, turn right, keep walking past the McDonalds). Really welcoming staff, free coffee and very clean. The room is small, like most Japanese hotels, but the space is well utlised so you don't really notice it. No Wi-Fi, but a LAN cable is provided to access the internet.

I highly recommend this hotel for doing Tokyo on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsT28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at The B Ikebukuro, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Dirgette

Thank you for choosing the b ikebukuro and for taking the time to post your review.
We are pleased to read your experience – you are right – Ikebukuro is such a convenient and fun area for travelers. We only have WiFi available in the lobby at the moment; however, we are working on installing it to be available in each and every room. Free LAN will still be available as well.
Thank you again for your review. Please come back and see us again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Location is very good,near the JR station and lively neighborhood, breakfasts were very delicious, the hotel would have been fine from many aspects.

But the first day when I arrived hotel, I found an underwear in my room, it was lying under the desk, and that was not mine.I was shocked and called the FO to come and help me, the staff has apologized for what's happened, but my mom and I feel very uncomfortable.

I am also working at the hotel in Taiwan, and I just can't believe it !

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The Ambassador ... 台
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at The B Ikebukuro, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear The Ambassador

Thank you for your comment and we are pleased you liked many aspects of your stay.

We are, however, very sorry for the situation you were in while staying at the hotel.
We take your comments very seriously and have taken the matter up with our external housekeeping company. This is not something that we have experienced before at the hotel, and sincerely apologize to you and your mother.

We will certainly take steps to make sure this does not happen again.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Kind regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Having lived in Tokyo before, I was picky about my hotel location and understood the room would be small. I stayed here for about a week and it was better than my expectations! The location is great! In the heart of Tokyo, near shopping, dinning, and a major train station. You can catch an express train straight from Narita, which is convenient especially if you have a lot of luggage. Also, the hotel restaurant has great Italian food and wonderful breakfast! Room was clean and larger than expected, and the price was unbeatable. I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maderrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at The B Ikebukuro, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Hi Maderrell

Thank you for choosing the b ikebukuro and for taking the time to share your experience.

We are beyond pleased to know your experience exceeded your expectations! Please come back and see us again. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

My first time writing review for this hotel but I've actually stayed in this hotel 3 times before!!
Hotel is located a few minutes walk away from Ikebukuro JR Station East Exit, pretty easy to find.
On 7/F there is coined washing machines which can minimize your laundry fees.
Hotel included breakfast is a kind of continental style (not Japanese style), should be easily accepted by most people.
Inside the room, it's well cleaned, and plenty of space for your luggages. One worldwide traveling adapter pre-mounted on table, you won't feel bad even you forgot to bring your own. Only cable internet is available in room, be sure to bring your own broadband router if multiple devices need to access internet (which is pretty common for hotels in Japan).
BTW if you are trying to make reservation on their official website, be sure to view by "room type" but not "package type", most of the time you can get a cheaper price (but I don't actually see any difference other than price)
P.S. I've got free room upgrade (to the biggest room type) during my 3rd stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdwardWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at The B Ikebukuro, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Hi EdwardWong

Thank you for being a loyal guest of the b ikebukuro and for taking the time to write your review.

Our breakfast buffet offers both Japanese and Western items everyday. Currently WIFI is only available in the lobby area and the Internet via LAN is available in all rooms; however, we are working towards getting the WIFI available in rooms as this is one of the most frequent requests we receive.

Please come back upon your return to Ikebukuro. We look forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

5 mins walk from Ikebukuro station. Room is small (so as the bed) but well kept, clean and modern. Very helpful staff. We stayed for 4 nights.

Free wifi available at the lobby and free internet access at room. We bring our own wifi router this is a great help as we could use out smart phone at our room, no need to go down to lobby.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lunasolhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at The B Ikebukuro, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear Lunasolhk

Thank you for choosing the b ikebukuro for your Tokyo home and for sharing your experience at the hotel. We are happy to hear you find our room well kept, clean and modern as we try hard to keep it that way! Thank you for your compliment about our staff – I will be sure to share it with them. Please come back and see us again. We look forward to welcoming you!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toshima hotels
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ikebukuro
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro
#6 of 55 in Toshima
246 reviews
Ikebukuro
Super Hotel Lohas Ikebukuro-Eki Kitaguchi
Ikebukuro
Hotel Mystays Higashi-Ikebukuro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The B Ikebukuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The B Ikebukuro

Property: The B Ikebukuro
Address: 1-39-4 Higashiikebukuro, Toshima 170-0013, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Toshima
#4 Family Hotel in Toshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The B Ikebukuro 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of this exciting city, just three minutes walk from the JR Ikebukuro and subway stations providing easy access to Shinjuku, Shinjuku and Tokyo Dome. This newly opened hotel is right in the centre of the entertainment, nightlife, shopping, business and restaurant precinct, but also just minutes to Sunshine City including aquarium and observatory deck, Namja Town, Ancient Orient Museum and Japan Traditional Crafts Centre. Ideal hotel for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Priceline, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The B Ikebukuro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Ikebukuro Hotel Toshima
The B Ikebukuro Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing