We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
the b tokyo ikebukuro
Nearby Hotels
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Wing International Ikebukuro(Toshima)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro(Toshima)(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mystays Higashi-Ikebukuro(Toshima)(Great Value!)
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$43
MYSTAYS Official
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (505)
Filter reviews
505 results
Traveller rating
146
278
60
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
278
60
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjr stationsuperior single roombic camera storean italian restaurantconvenient locationjapanese optionsrooms are smallsunshine citystayed here for three nightsboutique hotelnice showerbuffet styleroom rateexcellent locationshampoo and conditionerrestaurants and shoppingcircle line
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 505 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights and were positively surprised.
The room is very small, but it is normal for Tokyo. Very modern and clean room. Great bathroom and location.
Ikebukuro is a great neighborhood with plenty of restaurants and large shopping malls. it is located on the JR Yamamote line, which is perfect for traveling around the city.
Very inexpensive for Tokyo. I would definately go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claumax8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Claumax8

Thank you for choosing the b ikebukuro and for posting your comment.
We are pleased to hear your positive experience at the hotel. As you said, Ikebukuro is a great neighborhood for your Tokyo base – it is conveniently located on the JR Yamanote line and we are only a few minutes away from the station.
Thanks again – please come back and see us upon your return to Tokyo!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This hotel lived up to the majority of reviews, which I'm always a bit wary of. Its situation is good, being under 5 mins from Ikebukuro Station, which is on the Narita Express line from Narita Airport and near to all the large stores and convenience stores you could want. The fact that breakfast was included in the price was a bonus and the breakfast really set us up for the day. The triple room was not as small as I imagined,although, if I had any complaints, I would say that having one single bed and 2 small doubles in it made it more cramped than it needed to be and the beds were rather hard. The bathroom was small but had everything: the shower, with 3 different settings was fab and the heated toilet cum bidet seat was unusual! All toiletries were provided, so all you would need to bring would be deodorant. The rooms were cleaned each day, beds made and fresh towels provided. Altogether a very pleasurable experience. We would certainly go there or to a sister hotel, again

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are very quiet. We didn't deliberately choose one at the back but did book about 6 months in advance.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilnval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear winval

Thank you for choosing the b Ikebukuro and for taking your time to write the review.
We are very pleased to hear your positive feedback about your stay. We truly look forward to welcoming you back upon your return to Japan! Please come back and see us again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 9D8N during my trip to tokyo on the 22nd May-30th May 2013. Travelled with a family of 5 with one kid (8 yrs old), was an easy accessible area to stay in as food and family marts are just round the corner. Clean and pleasant room (just nice for 2- superior twin room). About 5 mins walk from Ikebukuro station (East exit- you will see Bic camera store on the left upon exiting the station, and you will see the hotel sign further up). Wonderful location to stay in as Ikebukuro station is the interchange of most train lines. If you are coming from Narita Airport, do take the Kenseii Skyliner to Nippori station, and changed to JR Yamonote line to Ikebukuro station. It only took less than an hour to reach your destination! Breakfast was included during my stay, and the spread was pretty reasonable. Daily spread is about the same, but their pasta flavors change daily- as their specialty is pizza and pasta. If you are planning for day trips with sunrise tours, the nearest pick up hotel is sunshine city prince hotel. It takes about 10-15 mins walk away from this hotel- ask reception for direction should you need help.

The only downside about my stay was Wifi is only available at the lobby area. But there is complimentary internet if you use your laptop to connect to the cable provided in the room. Also, one of our rooms the air con is not working well, and lucky the weather was not that humid during our stay. Mine was working perfectly ok. Otherwise, it was a pleasant experience during our stay. And will definitely recommend to friends and family who goes to tokyo for vacation.

Tips: If you have an Apple Iphone/ Ipad, download this app call 'trains.jp' is the best app ever if you want to travel around tokyo in subways/ JR (yet to try if it works for other parts of japan). Apparently, is not available for android as i tried searching on play store.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VaNiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear VaNiez

Thank you for choosing the b Ikebukuro and for taking the time to post your review.
We are beyond pleased to hear your positive experience at the hotel and are happy to be able to cater you and your family.
As for the WiFi, we are actually working on installing it to be available in each and every room right now in addition to the lobby area. It will be complimentary – the complimentary LAN cable will still be available in each room as well. The Air con matter has been taken care of – thank you for mentioning.
Please come back and see us again upon your return to Tokyo!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I am kind of surprised and skeptical about the glowing Tripadvisor reviews, which was the basis of me booking this place.

The shower is GREAT. That's about the only really good thing I can say. Otherwise, it's a pretty typical middle-of-the-road business hotel that's been gussied up a bit with Ikea-like built-ins.

Rooms are typically small for this type of hotel. Curtains were badly stained. Card key entry to room was bug-gy.

There are bigger rooms in better-located hotels to be found in Tokyo in this same price category.

Also as I've mentioned before in reviews of other hotels in the area (I travel to Tokyo a lot,) I would NOT recommend Ikebukuro to first-time visitors to Japan. It is a tad remote from most of the major tourist areas, and a bit nasty.

Room Tip: Japanican had FAR cheaper rates for this hotel than on the hotel's own website or other major travel sites. (Also, although I didn't they offer breakfast as an add-on for Y500 when you book the room, which is a good deal if you want breakfast included.)
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikebern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear mikebern

Thank you for choosing the b ikebukuro and for posting your comment.
We are disappointed that we couldn't live up to your expectations. We will check the curtains and the card key system.
As you can see on our website, some of our rooms are Tokyo sized; however, we try to make them as efficient as possible. If you would like a bigger room, we would recommend our deluxe rooms as they are twice as big.
Thank you again for your review.

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Absolutely fantastic budget hotel in a brilliant location. Ikebukuro is often overlooked by travel guides, but it's a great little part of Tokyo - not overly busy, some great restaurants and bars, and great connections to the rest of Tokyo (it's on the Yamanote loop line - even better to use if you have a JR pass).

The hotel is 5 minutes from the station (south exit, turn right, keep walking past the McDonalds). Really welcoming staff, free coffee and very clean. The room is small, like most Japanese hotels, but the space is well utlised so you don't really notice it. No Wi-Fi, but a LAN cable is provided to access the internet.

I highly recommend this hotel for doing Tokyo on a budget.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsT28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear Dirgette

Thank you for choosing the b ikebukuro and for taking the time to post your review.
We are pleased to read your experience – you are right – Ikebukuro is such a convenient and fun area for travelers. We only have WiFi available in the lobby at the moment; however, we are working on installing it to be available in each and every room. Free LAN will still be available as well.
Thank you again for your review. Please come back and see us again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews