We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
the b tokyo ikebukuro
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

i recently stayed here over a 12 day period, not my usual hotel in shinjuku as it was booked out so i took a chance to stay at the "b"

the room usual single size for tokyo hotels, free bkst and WiFi which is a bonus, also free all-day coffee in hotel reception

the only cons would be lack of room safe and clothes line in bathroom, also ice machine did not dispense large cups , i had to use the small glass provided in the room

heaps of eateries everywhere, Mr Donut and Donki stores nearby

great value and location on the circle line, this will be my "backup" favourite hotel

Room Tip: i always choose a room at rear of hotel away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanegraeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear tonshan

Thank you for staying at the b ikebukuro.
Free Wifi, which is available in every room and lobby, and free coffee in the lobby are popular amenities. We are glad you liked our breakfast.
We will share your comments with the team for future improvements.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

Probably after a year since my last stay, I was back to this hotel again. I've got an extremely good last minute deal on hotels.com and based on my previous experience, there's no reason to decline that offer :) (Actually when I check in I figured out 2 of my friends are staying there for the same period as well!)

Staff are helpful, room cleanliness, everything just same as my last stay. One major breakthrough I found this time: WiFi network. People travelling to Japan a lot like me may feel surprised because not all hotels in Japan providing WiFi internet, most are still providing cable ethernet and you have to bring your own router, or you'll have to pay for the WiFi internet.

I would definitely recommend this to my friend if they want to stay in the same region (well, the hotel is quite popular and I sometimes find it difficult to book)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdwardWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear EdwardWong

Thank you for being a loyal guest of the b ikebukuro and for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased to know that you saw some improvements on the property such as free WiFi network available for all guests. We appreciate your kind comments towards our staff – I will share it with the team.
We will try our best to keep the rooms clean and provide comfortable stay for the guests.
Please come back and see us again upon your next visit to Japan.
We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

people said this hotel as good location if you want visit ikebukuro yes but if your tourist and want to visit tokyo tower sky tree and all the thing tourist want to see your far from it 30 40 min metro yes station is 4min away but you have to travel in metro a lot to go to the good place for visitor i dont recommend that hotel bed are bad at reception the 3 women very disrespect full i recommend remm at akihabara close from every tourist site in very short time and bed very comfortable for same price

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear 10jim

Thank you for choosing the b ikebukuro and for posting your review.
First of all, we apologize for any inconveniences and frustrations you have experienced at reception – I have shared your review with the team and we will be sure to prevent it from happening again.
As you mentioned, Ikebukuro is not located near Tokyo Tower and Sky Tree, but we hope you were able to explore our neighborhood and close areas such as Shinjuku, Harajuku and more – as you may know, Ikebukuro station is one of the biggest hub stations, which is connected to JR and more train lines.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Nice cosy hotel,awesome location,very close to station. Liked the style of the compact ensuite, fancy toilet, shopping was great.make the best of Tokyo, no use complaining about small room.we loved it

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear sm

Thank you for staying at the b ikebukuro and for taking the time to post your review.
We are beyond pleased to know that you liked our location and room. Please come back and see us again.

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

5 minutes walk from station, easy to access to any shops, restaurants and convenient stores.
Free wifi and with reasonable speed.
Room is not big, but clean and comfortable.
Price is good if booking early enough.
Overall, good value and choice for staying in Tokyo.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank TaitungSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear TaitungSandy

Thank you for choosing the b ikebukuro and for posting your review.

We are pleased to know that you rate us a good value and choice for staying in Tokyo. Some of our rooms are Tokyo sized as you mentioned, but we try our best to make them efficient and comfortable as much as we can. Free WiFi is available in each room complimentary and we are happy that you liked it.
We truly hope that we will be able to welcome you again in near future.

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the b for 3 nights, love the cleanliness of the room and friendly helpful staff. The location is superb, 5mins walk from ikebukuro East exit, just follow bic camera store and it just right behind it, the surrounding filled with yummy food outlets, am spoilt with all choices, the breakfast has a great selection between western and Japanese style, it was served at the 2nd floor of the Italian restaurant, nice ambience for breakfast. The room is slightly small, this is Japanese style. Overall, nice basic hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ser_chng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Ser_chng

Thank you for choosing the b ikebukuro and for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to know that you loved our room and truly appreciate your kind comment about our staff. We try to provide a balanced Western and Japanese breakfast buffet for our guests, so it is always nice to hear positive thoughts about it. Please come back and see us again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights here in the economy double (we prefer a double!!). Small 18sqm room but packed with all you need. The bathroom is a masterpiece of design and engineering. Bed was comfortable (not soft) and the room well airconditioned and soundproofed.

All the staff we met were friendly and efficient.

The hotel is 300m from everything you look for in Tokyo: shopping, food, attractions, nightlife plus the railway station that will connect you to other popular places like Shinagawa, Shinjuku, Harujuku etc etc.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GordonAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear GordonTownsville

Thank you for choosing the b ikebukuro and for taking the time to post your review.
We are pleased to read your positive comment about the room and location. We do take pride to make our rooms as efficient and comfortable as possible within a limited “Tokyo” space. Please come back and see us again. We look forward to welcoming you!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toshima hotels
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ikebukuro
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro
#5 of 56 in Toshima
262 reviews
Ikebukuro
Super Hotel Lohas Ikebukuro-Eki Kitaguchi
Ikebukuro
Hotel Resol Ikebukuro
Hotel Resol Ikebukuro
#14 of 56 in Toshima
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the b tokyo ikebukuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b tokyo ikebukuro

Address: 1-39-4 Higashiikebukuro, Toshima 170-0013, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Toshima
#4 Family Hotel in Toshima
Price Range: £55 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — the b tokyo ikebukuro 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of this exciting city, just three minutes walk from the JR Ikebukuro and subway stations providing easy access to Shinjuku, Shinjuku and Tokyo Dome. This newly opened hotel is right in the centre of the entertainment, nightlife, shopping, business and restaurant precinct, but also just minutes to Sunshine City including aquarium and observatory deck, Namja Town, Ancient Orient Museum and Japan Traditional Crafts Centre. Ideal hotel for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your the b tokyo ikebukuro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Ikebukuro Hotel Toshima
The b Tokyo Ikebukuro Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing