We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hotel for self sufficient traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent modern hotel secreted in the back alleys of Ikebukuro. Plenty of convenience with Ikebukuro Station entrances nearby and convenience store at end of street. Cheap, good quality buffet breakfast available, plus drinks vending machines on ground floor. Excellent service and modern room access security. Rooms well equipped for self-sufficiency with utensils, cups, plates, etc. plus kettle, clean modern microwave and a fantastic modern washing-drying machine which is free to use. Speaking if free, there is also free, unlimited WiFi internet access on every floor. Full HD TV with plenty of choice of entertainment.

Don't be fooled by the small room size, they are packed with features including clean private bathrooms and you could hardly find more convenience and comfort at such quality and price. Solidly designed around you, the traveller, without the pricey, superfluous features of more highly rated hotels.

2  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

I was at Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro the week of June 17th and was very happy with my choice. While there is never much room in any Tokyo hotel I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the bathroom compared to where I've stayed before. The air conditioning worked great through the hot and muggy June stay. While finding a place to put my luggage was a challenge, I managed without much issue. The best feature of this hotel is the washer/ dryer all in one machine in every room. I also had a good view on the 11th floor and enjoyed watching the hustle of Ikebukuro from time to time. Given the choice between other higher end hotels in the area, such as the Metropolitan, I will still choose Tokyu Stay for my next trip. Clean room, kind staff and great location!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Hands down, the very best place I have ever had the pleasure of spending the night at Tokyo.
This place far exceeded my expectations and the many other positive reviews are indicative of my own experience.

Biggest bonus-- washing machine in the room! small, quiet, free fabric softener and washing powder(eco-friendly plan). I stayed there for a week and felt so fresh everyday.

Excellent amenities--high quality full size hand soap, shampoo, conditioner and shower gel in the bathroom. Others stuffs like toothpaste, toothbrush, comb, shower cap and tea bag... you can pick them freely in the lobby.

Spacious, shiny bathroom-- one of the largest i ever had in Tokyo budget hotels. You can lie down in the tub and stretch yourself out. If you hate those "Uni-bath" (popular in Tokyo budget hotels like Tokyo Inn), choose Tokyu stay!

Tiny room --but clean and new. Just be prepared not to shop a lot or carry too many bags and luggage.

Fantastic service-- the level of service is exceptional. Everybody I dealt with at the desk, from check-in to check-out, went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. I ordered luggage delivery service and they helped me translate the form. Very sweet.

Location--awesome! It's within walking distance of a lot of tourist spots, department stores, famous ramen restaurants, and of course, several different subway lines.

I can't praise this hotel enough and would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MelissaTeYuLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Overall, its a well equipped hotel with very friendly and prompt service. Reception staff was well versed in English which is rare in tokyo mostly.

Room also comes in with washer and dryer hence makes travelling light especially when visiting in winter.

Location is generally near the ikebukuro station hence its easily accessible to shopping malls around eg. Tobu and 01city. If I have a bone to pick, its that the hotel vicinity has a few bars that have hostesses. Hence single lady travellers may want to be more mindful when walking back to the hotel.

Most of the tv programmes are also in japanese unless you order pay per view.

In general hotel is near amenities for food, toiletries and convenience stores. Travelling around tokyo is also ideal since its near the central metro line. Definitely worth a return visit!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I didn't like the fact that I had a view of a concrete wall- but that's the problem of space in Tokyo. Nevertheless, I thoroughly enjoyed all the amenities, the fun Japanese toilets and I found that the breakfast, though often a little interesting, was a mostly delightful affair. Perfect location- really like the slightly sordid surroundings personally!

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for outward facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

I've stay 3 nights, hotel close to ikebukuro station and was cheap for a Tokyo hotel. I usually stay in another business hotel famous chain (.... inn) but found this room bigger and better for only few jpy more. I bring my own router and no problem for wifi in room. Made also a laundry with no problem at all. did not try braeakfast in hotel as i prefer cafe outside. I'll try again tokyu stay chain!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doe1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

What sets this hotel apart from the others is that there is a washing machine and microwave in every room. The washing machine is ideal for those who would like to travel light by doing laundry frequently, yet not having to pay for it. I found myself doing laundry every day and needing only 3 sets of change for my 6 day stay there. The room also has a pants press but it didn't work too well for my zip-off pants. I didn't check if the front desk provided an iron though.

Other plus points are the hotel's location (few minutes walk away from Ikebukuro Station), the quiet surroundings (no pachinko parlours!), staff that speak sufficiently good English and the option for breakfast at ¥500.

Drawbacks include small rooms (but all business hotel rooms in Tokyo are small), lack of wifi (ditto for most hotels in Tokyo) and the weekly housekeeping (although they change towels and clear the trash on a daily basis). The washing/drying cycle took a little long for my liking too (2hrs 50 mins); just be sure you do not start laundry past 9pm if you're going to sleep before midnight!

Breakfast was simple and consisted mostly of carbohydrates, although they provided some protein (eggs, meat dish) daily. It's nothing to scream about but it beats having to search for breakfast, especially if you don't understand Japanese.

I got a single room at a great rate (¥7,200 with breakfast) and really appreciated the washing machine. With so many similar hotel rooms in Tokyo, the presence of a washing machine in each room could well be Tokyu Stay's differentiating winner. I'd certainly pick this hotel again because of that.

Room Tip: Take Exit C6 as it has up/down escalators. C1 is nearer but you'd have to use the stairs. Time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoloTravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toshima hotels
Ikebukuro
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
the b tokyo ikebukuro
the b tokyo ikebukuro
#7 of 56 in Toshima
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ikebukuro
Super Hotel JR Ikebukuro-nishiguchi
Ikebukuro
Super Hotel Lohas Ikebukuro-Eki Kitaguchi
Ikebukuro
Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro

Address: 2-12-2 Ikebukuro, Toshima 171-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Toshima
#3 Family Hotel in Toshima
Price Range: £62 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing