We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean and modern hotel close to Ikebukuro Station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice, clean and modern hotel close to Ikebukuro Station”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The hotel looks like it was recently built or updated as it is very clean and modern. It is about a 10 to 15 minute walk to the Ikebukuro Station. The small room had a small refrigerator, air purifier, good AC, microwave, hot water pot, safe, flat screen TV, desk, chair, dishes and flatware, robes and slippers, free wifi, and even a combination clothes washer/dryer, but no closets. We didn't try the washer/dryer, as we were leaving the next day and did not want to take a chance on misinterpreting the translated English instructions. There were several hooks and hangers on the wall for hanging stuff. As is typical with a Japanese hotel bathroom, it was very compact, but had a small but deep tub with shower, sink and a bidet toilet, a hair dryer, large bottles of shampoo, conditioner, and body wash, as well as an array of disposable toothbrushes, hair brushes, razors, and shower caps. Breakfast was included in the room rate (which was about $120 per night), and was a bit different each morning, but usually included coffee, tea, fruit juice, breads, an egg dish of some sort, a hot meat dish of some sort, a rice dish, yogurt, and soup. The hotel had a computer in the lobby for use by guests. It also had very good security, as a valid room card was needed to enter the elevator lobby from the front desk area, and then again to operate the elevator. There were lots of restaurants, cafes, shops, convenience stores and department stores in the immediate vicinity, but no tourist sights to speak of. Of course, proximity to the excellent subway system provided easy access to all of Tokyo. The staff spoke adequate English as far as we could tell, but then again we did not engage them in any lengthy conversations. We found the room small but very nice, but we were two average-sized adults each traveling with a day pack and carry-on suitcase. Larger folks with bigger or more luggage may find the room too small.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walk1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    123
    29
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
52
77
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

it takes only 5 minutes to the hotel providing you'd found the correct entrance at complex ikebukuro metro station. Quick, clean and tidy room for best resting place. the best service is room is installed with individual washing machine. it's really lovely. in-house breakfast was so so that save your time to start your journey. staff are helpful. Convenient place for backpacker and easy businessman.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CYCAT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Yes. The hotel is a great value for money. But don't get me wrong. The hotel offers everything you would normally expect in a hotel. The location is second to none. The C1 exit of Ikebukuro Fukutoshin line is just around the corner. Ikebukuro station has JR, Tokyo Metro as well as Toei Subway. What I feel obliged to mention is their fantastic breakfast. The selection is not many but quite decent for the starting of the day. I would stay here next time when I visit Tokyo again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Astoria_HKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is located a short block and a half away from the Ikekuburo subway station, which has JR train links as well as the link to the Narita Airport shinkansen (bullet train). It is also located in an exciting hub of Tokyo that is quieter than Shibuya or Shinjuku but still filled with lively clubs, izakaya, record shops (I'm a vinyl addict so Tokyo is a must-shop stop), full range of dining choices, and the Parco, Tobu, and Tokyo Hands department stores all within walking distance.
The best thing, though, might be the combo washer/dryers in some of the rooms. It really helps to pack lightly with the ability to wash your clothes after a couple of days of slogging through Tokyo! There's also a free breakfast for most rooms though I prefer the cheap o-nigiri and can of Big Black Coffee from the nearby 7-11. Still, it's a nice choice to have.
It's also a very quiet hotel, so you can sleep in all the hustle and bustle of Tokyo.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the rooms with a washer/dryer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langkawi, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Lovely clean hotel, location minutes from station, rooms small but clean with lots of amenities. Staff were very helpful. Breakfast simple but tasty. Hotel felt safe and secure and wifi was strong. Great budget option!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlie1929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed at this wonderful hotel on my last day in Japan and HIGHLY recommend it. The hotel is so close to Ikebukuro Station (on the Yamanote line-the main link to all of the tourist spots), making it incredibly accessible. The hotel staff were wonderful and the room super clean. The bathroom was so spacious (nearly larger than the room itself) and after a long and tiring holiday it was perfect. The addition of the washer/dryer located in the room (yay no lugging washing up and down the corridors) was the best! My only complaint would be that there was little to no room to put my large bags but it is only a minor complaint. Will be back in the future!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shazzaqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

First, I've booked this hotel a while ago, so I actually got a good price on agoda.ca.

The first thing that prompted me to book this hotel is definitely the washing and drying machine. I wasn't disappointed at all! However, keep in mind, it will usually take at least 3 hours to complete the whole cycle! So I would suggest either wash it before you head out to sight-see or during the night (although it is not too quiet and it will beep when it's done). First pack of laundry soap is free, but then you have to buy it for only 30 yen!!!

I might've forgotten when I booked the hotel, but it did come with free breakfast buffet. The food selection is not bad. Not a picky eater here. Of course you cannot compare it to buffet in big and luxurious hotels. However, I do find the food sometimes not hot enough.

The room itself is not spacious, but it is pretty new. However, the bathroom is much bigger than most business hotel with a huge tub as well. One thing to keep in mind, there is no room service for 6 days or less, but the cleaning stuff will change your garbage and linens. Again, I'm not a messy person, so it wasn't a big deal. Plus, I never understand people who treat the hotel room as a garbage dump. One thing I find it irritating is the air-conditioner's light really disturbs my sleep because it's so bright, but I don't think there's anything I could do about that except turn the air-con off. Also, the hotel does not provide cups for tea etc. It would be nice to at least have a cup for the tea packs near the electric kettle and microwave.

The hotel's security is really top-notched. You need a key card in order to go into the elevator and up to your floor.

The location is perfect as it is in the heart of Ikebukuro and is near the JR train station. As many of you have pointed out, take the West C6 exit, then turn left on the main street once you are up the escalator until you see a 7-11, then turn left again and you'll see it on your right pretty soon. There are many restaurants open at night near the area as well.

The staff is attentive and speaks pretty well English (although I've also used my minimum Japanese as well). One girl in glasses tried to help me about delivering my luggage to Narita Airport.

If the price is right again, I will definitely book this hotel.

Overall: 9/10

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kmpiano1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toshima hotels
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
The B Ikebukuro
The B Ikebukuro
#7 of 55 in Toshima
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ikebukuro
Super Hotel Lohas Ikebukuro-Eki Kitaguchi
Ikebukuro
Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Ikebukuro
Super Hotel JR Ikebukuro-nishiguchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro

Property: Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro
Address: 2-12-2 Ikebukuro, Toshima 171-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Toshima
#3 Family Hotel in Toshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing