We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”
Review of Family Inn Saiko

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Family Inn Saiko
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice place”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Very nice rooms with friendly and helpful staff. The free tea and coffee was also much appreciated. My only (minor) complaint is that the property is a little tricky to get to - about 30 minutes walk from Ikebukuro.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reuben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    76
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
162
130
118
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The neighborhood was quiet, yet still close enough to the subway, the hosts were very nice and very helpful, the rooms were big and clean, and there was a Japanese style bath. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sika_grr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, WA, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Family Inn Saiko is an exceptional place to stay in Tokyo. It lists itself as a ryokan and it has a lot of that flavor, but it lacks the irritating problems associated with a traditional ryokan.

For instance, there is no curfew. You are also not required to pay for or eat dinner there.

Here's what there is. The rooms are clean and comfortable. You get tatami rooms and traditional futons.

The family that runs the place provide the ultimate in Japanese hospitality, presented in English (and Chinese I'm told). To say they are fluent is to really understate the manner. To say they are helpful is to insult them. They go out of their way to be of assistance. Every day, they would ask about our plans and provide helpful advice, whether better directions, weather tips, or insight. And when we actually asked for help, they went out of their way. We wanted bagels one morning and they spent 2 hours finding us the closest bagel place. Whenever they called us a taxi, they always went to talk to the driver so there would be no misunderstanding.

All in all, this is the best accommodation in Japan in which I've stayed, over many years and many trips.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldenburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Thanks a lot to the family running this marvelous ryokan in the center of ikebukuro.
They were all very helpful, nice and did everything they could to make my stay as good as possible.
The room was clean and i could decide myself if i want a full clean each day or just a towel change which is very convinient.

The bath is open half the day and the room i was in even had it's own shower, toilet combo.
So it was up to me to decide if i want to take a japanese style bath or get back late and just take a shower ;]

The surrounding is quiet and i even slept some nights with the window open.
it's a good 10 minute walk from shinamachi station and a 15 minute walk to kanamecho station.
There are a lot of stores, restaurants and other facilities like laundries around.
They have a lot of maps and guides you can use at your free will and they help you in any way possible to achieve your trips.
The english capabilities are totally sufficient and some of them spoke even better than i did ;]
Yes it was an excellent stay, i have absolutely nothing negative about it.
If i had the possibility to stay longer i would have done it without hesitation.
I am totally sure that the next time i visit Tokyo will book there when rooms are available!

Thanks guys! I really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014

FIS is a really good quiet place to live in for a short getaway. The friendly owners of this little inn always brightens your day before you set off and makes your night when you return. The room is clean and only contains necessary items unlike those expensive hotels. I slept too well every night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Czxy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Best ryokan experience! The place is well-kept, clean and very comfortable. The hospitality and kindness extended to us is like family. I will definitely stay again if I'm back in Tokyo and also, recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diovie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nonthaburi, Nonthaburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We've a very nice and unforgettable 6 nights stay here in Tokyo ,
I can say that Family Inn Saiko is the best hotel i ever stay. Hotel staffs very friendly and very helpful with kindly service-mind. They will always give you the best answer with a smile.
For the hotel location, Just 5-10 minutes walk from the nearest station and you can see the daily life of Japanese people closely because the location is in residential area.
Room was very clean. This hotel is non-smoking hotel so room smell is really clean. Very quiet during the night. Free-wifi internet is pretty fast and stable.
You can use bath tube on 4th floor just book a que with staff with your couple or your family. Try the Japanese style bath, It's nice.
Grandma will give you Kimono experience (traditional japanese costume), Very nice experience , Just ask them :)
Thank you Family inn Saiko again for give us very nice stay. We always feel like coming back home after tired day. I'm sure will stay here again next time I travel in Tokyo.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittikun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toshima
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,095 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
3,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,981 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Inn Saiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Inn Saiko

Property: Family Inn Saiko
Address: 2-34-16 Nagasaki, Toshima 171-0051, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Toshima
#3 Best Value Hotel in Toshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Family Inn Saiko 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family! Family Inn Saiko is a traditional style Japanese accommodation with modern facilities located just one station distance from Ikebukuro, Tokyo. You can enjoy the delights of modern Tokyo and then retreat to the peaceful quiet of your authentic TATAMI room. In addition, as a family-run inn, we provide you with warm hospitality and generations of tradition. Make us your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Family Inn Saiko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Family Inn Saiko Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing