We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice value, excellent staff”
Review of Family Inn Saiko

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Family Inn Saiko
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I read up on this hotel so I had a pretty good idea of what to expect in advance. For the price I paid, it exceeded my expectations. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. It seems to be family run and so they all truly care about the business and their guests. They offer many maps and information and of course advise upon request. The private bathroom in my room was very well designed and functional. It is a simple inn, but it is well organized, clean and cheerful. There is one metro station and a few restaurants about a 5 minutes’ walk from the inn or you can also walk to the much larger Ikebukuro station in around 20 minutes. It is located in an authentic middle class neighborhood, real if not glamorous. Maybe not the kind of place you would want to stay on a honeymoon, but, for my first 3 nights in Tokyo as a solo traveler, I found it an extremely pleasant and affordable choice I’m glad I made.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

This will work for you only if you are new to Japan and you haven't seen anything else in the country.
Let me start with the good: the staff is lovely, the communication via email is very smooth and they really try HARD to please you. This is certainly a good point and I can see that is what makes many people write good reviews.

Unfortunately, reviews aren't only about staff but mostly about the place.
So, we found the location not great, not only is uncomfortable to reach but is also a pretty ugly area.
When arrived, I was immediately told a series of very long rules, that are made for dumb tourists and certainly not for experienced travelers; the problems is that these rules are also written everywhere on the walls and doors and surfaces of your room, making lack of charm a room that already has very little charm in it.
And, most important, these rules are quite weird and not really nice to live with.
The room is really organized in an uncomfortable way, you mostly need to go barefoot even out of the tatami (there is a yellow line to mark the "no trespassing area" like for trains in stations!) and in the washroom. The washroom is nice and large, probably the best thing of the room. The rest, forget it. Windows wont open, the cleanliness is so so, bed are hard and not well places (I have slept in many futon in Japan and this was probably the worst)....
The common area isn't nice as well, a bit dirty and looks tired, really not enjoyable; snacks and drinks choice is poor (and the shop isn't very close as well), the washing machine will only wash but do not dry.
We asked info to at least 3 people and nobody had a clue what we were talking about. I felt like they should at least be able to give you a suggestion of a place where to eat around there or some other basic questions we had... They were kind, truly, but mostly clueless.

The only real nice thing is the private small onsen that they have on the top of the building: we enjoyed it a lot in a rainy evening, turning off the lights and listening to the sound of rain on the roof.

They are nice people, they sent us a pic of us when we came back. But still, the place is not ok.

All in all, I went there only because my usual fav place in Tokyo was full, but I regret it.
I traveled in Japan for 6 times and lived there for a few months as well. I know Tokyo offers much better choices.

I wouldn't recommend it, I wouldn't come back either. It's sad because from all the positive comments, I was expecting very differently.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AiRuoYan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilyInnSaiko, Manager at Family Inn Saiko, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you very much for choosing us, and we appreciate your valuable review for your stay.

Please let us do the supplementary explanation of our private bath on the 4th floor. The Japanese word "ONSEN" is used for a natural hot spring, however, our private bath (FURO, or polite form OFURO) runs on heated tap water.

We hope that your review will help others to know about our Ryokan inn, too. Thank you again for your precious time to post the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had the most wonderful stay here and would return in a heartbeat. It's a great location in a charming part of the city. It's quiet and comfortable. We slept well every night. The staff are unfailingly kind, helpful, warm and generous with their time, attention and advise. I heartily recommend this as a base from which to explore this fabulous city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

i have spent more then a month in my trip to japan-travelling across the country, and family inn saiko was defenitly the best place i've stayed in. everything- from the super nice,helpfull and english speaking staff to the spacious and clean rooms- was just great. even the location, as i noticed some reviewers mantioning it is not easy to find, is actually very convenient and easy to remember. this place was a little piece of home to me in a distant country.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomfachler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Wonderful ryokan! I would definitely stay here again. The staff are very helpful and speak English pretty well. They even helped us make a reservation on a tour we wanted to attend. You can always ask them anything, and they will make suggestions on where to go. They even remember where you are going a certain day and will let you know of the weather. The room is smaller than we're used to, but it was still enough room. There wasn't enough space in the designated suitcase spot, so we ended up placing a suitcase underneath the counter/ledge in the room. The bathroom is really clean, and there are several small baskets hanging off the wall for you to place your toiletries. It was a 10-15 min walk to the Shiinamachi station, which is only 1 stop away from Ikebukuro. If you're looking to stay in the Tokyo area, consider staying at this ryokan, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cool1popper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The Family Inn Saiko is placed in a, almost small town like neigbourhood, just 1 train stop away from very crowded Ikebukuro. The neighbourhood has everything to offer: Restaurants, Supermarkets,Pubs everything you need. The next trainstations are 10 and 15 minute away, but that makes the area arond the hotel quiet. It´s a "modern" Ryokan (you sleep on the floor on Tatami and Futon).The hotel is earthquake safe. The rooms are small(like all rooms in Tokyo I guess) and had everything to offer: flatscreen TV, a futon and even one off those shower toilets.For me it was the first time in Tokyo and I am very happy that I found this place. It was my safe harbor in the ocean of thousand concrete houses of super urban Tokyo Megapolis! After each busy day, returning to the hotel felt like returning home. And when I was planning the next day, everyone was helping me out to organise it. The other guests in the hotel are from a lot of different countries. But since all Japanfans are like soulmates it was very easy to get along well. So if you are looking for a western style, anounymus, expensive and cold hotel in the middle of crowded area this place is not for you. Otherwise this is the best choice, if you want to get in touch with this great country and people easily.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy_L2472014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We spent a week staying at the Family Inn Saiko. We were warmly hosted by a number of family members, who were extremely helpful with all of our sightseeing questions. Trying on kimonos with Grandma was a highlight. The Inn is a a big of a walk from the train, but given the value, cleanliness, helpfulness and kimono experience ... it was well worth it. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toshima
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 78 in Chiyoda
2,076 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 118 in Minato
3,266 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Premier Asakusa International
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Inn Saiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Inn Saiko

Address: 2-34-16 Nagasaki, Toshima 171-0051, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Toshima
#2 Best Value Hotel in Toshima
Price Range: £58 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Family Inn Saiko 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family! Family Inn Saiko is a traditional style Japanese accommodation with modern facilities located just one station distance from Ikebukuro, Tokyo. You can enjoy the delights of modern Tokyo and then retreat to the peaceful quiet of your authentic TATAMI room. In addition, as a family-run inn, we provide you with warm hospitality and generations of tradition. Make us your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Family Inn Saiko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Family Inn Saiko Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing