We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SIMPLY THE BEST!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Family Inn Saiko

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Family Inn Saiko
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence
Rome ITALY
1 review
“SIMPLY THE BEST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

We stayed in Family inn saiko from 2-3 jan and from 6-11 jan 2011 with our friends, we took 3 rooms.
that's for sure the best place we could find in tokyo.
10min walk from shhinamachi station (only 1 stop from ikebukuro).
rooms totally clean
bathroom very large and full equipped.
futon very good.
the family was absolutly wonderfull to all of us.

I recommend for sure this ryokan!
Paola

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaolaDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    70
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
158
124
109
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

We are family with 2 teenager, stayed 2 days in Family Saiko inn. This is really a wonderful place, a walking distance from the station. and really a place where you can feel the real Japanese home. Our daughters were so happy tried the Yukata, and on the new year day, They gave us the newyear envelope. We called it as "angpao" in China.
If we can visit Tokyo again, sure we want to stay there. Thanks to Nicholas and Betty for the lovely day we had in your hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niceisland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

Family Inn Saiko is a gem! It is clean and quiet at night but within easy reach of places like Shinjuku and Shibuya. We stayed there 8 nights over New Year. The family went out of their way to help us find places to visit. They also Invited us to share meals with them and made the guests special New Year food for breakfast on New Year's morning. We even saw Mt Fuji from their roof! The Family accomodation was excellent - two adjoining rooms which meant we didn't have to share a room with our messy teenagers. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keleasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

I am glad that I found this new ryokan (Japanese-styled inn) just about 1 mth before arriving in Japan. I am impressed with the cleaniness of the inn & the hosts' effort to make the guests feel comfortable.
Everywhere you go, lobby, lift (yes, there is a mini-lift enough to transport you & luggages to different levels), guest-rooms, there are tips/ friendly reminders in English on every little thing you can think of.

Nicholas-san & Betty-san, younger brother, grandma they are all very friendly & made us feel at home... The room rates is definitely reasonable & value for money. I will not hesitate to stay here again on my next trip to Tokyo...

The only thing to note though is that the inn is situated about 10 to 15min walk away from nearest Subway Station. However they provide a map with good directions in their website.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aki0uma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

This inn may be a 10~15mins walk away from the train station but it is within walking distance from a shopping street filled with convenient stores, supermarket, fastfood chain and cheap delicious food outlets. There is also a post office nearby. This little gem is hidden in a quiet neighbourhood, away from the hussle and bustle of city life. It is a great place to see and experience the daily life of local Japanese.
Family Inn Saiko throws in some extra services like free internet, free laundry, discounted beverages on vending machine, free coffee/tea/toast every morning, free use of refrigerator and best of all, you get a great view of Shinjuku cityline, Mount Fuji and SkyTree(tallest building in Tokyo) from their rooftop . They have an "ofuro" or japanese bath that you can reserve for private use, free! The rooms are all tatami style, very new and clean with attached bathroom/toilet.
The family and staff are very friendly, helpful and thoughtful too. The lobby area is equipped with useful brochures,phamplets, internet and information you need to for sightseeing around the city. The family even invited me to join them for a homecooked japanese dinner, and grandma's cooking is simply awesome. I would definately recommend this place to anyone who wants to experience the hospitality of true Japanese homestay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlingMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

New Ryokan in residential area. Good location, within walking distance to metro or train. It was the friedliest hotel we stayed at in Japan. The people gave us a warm welcome and were really nice, and very helpful. We very much appreciated the good insider tips for visiting and eating inTokyo.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Japanfan_45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

We had a great experience at the Family Inn Saiko. The room and the whole inn were clean and tidy and I cannot commend the staff enough on how they looked after us. We had an 18month old with us and they did everything they could to make it more comfortable. When I mentioned that I like chestnut rice (an autumn specialty) the grandmother made us some for our bus trip to the airport! Now I know how hard it is to peel chestnuts so it was just lovely of her. In fact everyone (Nicholas, Betty-san, Betty-san's brother) went out of their way for us. It was one of those environments that was just lovely to spend some time in.
It is a bit out of the way, which is my only negative comment. It's a 10-15 walk to the nearest metro station which adds quite a lot to a morning out with a toddler. But if that doesn't concern you too much (it was the only negative) then I couldn't recommend this place enough.
And you can see Fuji from the roof!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank november1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toshima
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Inn Saiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Inn Saiko

Property: Family Inn Saiko
Address: 2-34-16 Nagasaki, Toshima 171-0051, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Toshima
#2 Best Value Hotel in Toshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Family Inn Saiko 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family! Family Inn Saiko is a traditional style Japanese accommodation with modern facilities located just one station distance from Ikebukuro, Tokyo. You can enjoy the delights of modern Tokyo and then retreat to the peaceful quiet of your authentic TATAMI room. In addition, as a family-run inn, we provide you with warm hospitality and generations of tradition. Make us your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Family Inn Saiko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Family Inn Saiko Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing