We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good!”
Review of Hotel Strix Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Strix Tokyo
Ranked #39 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good!”
Reviewed 11 January 2008

The hotel is just fully renovated, except the bathroom. The rooms are of new styles, and large in size. Location is OK, 2 mins to subway exit, but about 10 mins actually reach the train. We have booked a large corner room, so the view is better, can see the street. There's a free internet PC at lobby, very convenient. However, the staff knows little English.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PeggyK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    26
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
16
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2008

Clean, small rooms steps from the Ikebukuro metro station. Not the most ideal location for us as tourists, but the price was right and the subway was easy. The staff was extremely helpful and bent over backwards to help us. They recommended a fabulous noodle place a block away. The beds are very comfortable. Not the most ideal hotel for families given they do not offer connecting rooms. The best part of the stay was the complimentary breakfast. Guests choose western (omelet) or Japanese. The western was just OK according to our kids, but the Japanese was fabulous. It was a lot of food, small servings of about a dozen items. It will give any foodie a little thrill to start the day.

  • Liked — Breakfast, cleanliness, comfy bed, quiet
  • Disliked — Remote location
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hinkochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2007

I was in the strix hotel from 9-13 of may and from the 19- 24 of may 2007.
I was very pleased to be in this hotel.
The staf was really friendly and helpfull.
I was traveling alone, but the room was big enough for me, everything was clean.
Breakfast was good but only everyday the same.
There was also a internet cafe accros the hotel, and i really like ikebukero, well not as much as the other places like shinjuku and shibuya.
But there is a narita express en the jr yamanote line is very simpel and good if you have a railway pass.
I would recommend it easly!

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the water didn't respond very well in the shower to make it warm or cold
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank narutosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 January 2006

An OK hotel. Friendly staff, clean rooms, transportation-friendly location being only footsteps from Ikebukuro station. Not exactly the best location in tokyo for a tourist though, as Ikebukuro is a major hub for residential traffic and not much else is out there for tourists to see -- yes, there's large department stores next door but that's like a tourist wanting to go see Sears in the US. Otherwise, Ikebukuro is just a madhouse of pedestrian traffic wanting to get through the area as quickly as possible, at all hours of the day! You'll be trampled if you stand in the way! The JR lines can be horribly crowded in this area. While it was cute to see the packed trains being pushed in by conductors like you see on TV, it got old really fast when we realized we needed to be on one of those to get around Tokyo. Will stay elsewhere next time as we lost a ton of time for commuting and like I mentioned, it was no fun after the first day.

Stayed January 2004
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cymru
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2004

Stayed here in November 2003 for 3 nights, busy area but very safe. Staff extremely helpful with a young duty manager (most of whom spoke good english) even volunteering to attend a local pharmacy with me to purchase some medication that was required.

  • Stayed November 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank organ254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toshima hotels
Ikebukuro
Hotel Tetora Ikebukuro
Hotel Tetora Ikebukuro
#28 of 55 in Toshima
22 reviews
Ikebukuro
Super Hotel JR Ikebukuro-nishiguchi
Ikebukuro
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro
#5 of 55 in Toshima
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ikebukuro
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#44 of 55 in Toshima
30 reviews
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Strix Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Strix Tokyo

Property: Hotel Strix Tokyo
Address: 2-3-1 Ikebukuro, Toshima 171-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Strix Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Strix Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strix Tokyo Hotel
Strix Tokyo Toshima
Hotel Strix Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing