We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Touristy 3 Star Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average Touristy 3 Star Hotel”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Pretty Average and dated 3 star Hotel. The pro cons are 1.is next to a shopping mall thus extremely convenient 2. All amenities are provided except for an iron and ironing board 3. Pretty good selection of international buffet breakfast. However is a three star hotel thus, the furnishing and room is pretty much of a 3 star expected standard. I am pretty ok with the room size despite being 6 feet tall. Though, it did gotten pretty tight between me and my mum. The room is clean though and the housekeeping is efficient. First time to japan thus it did surprise me that the bathroom is pretty much a larger in built version of a potable toilet (with a bath tub hand wash sink and everything !) Guess maybe is due to safety reasons with the large occurrence of earth quakes. Is a pretty touristy hotel with large (and I really mean large !) group of tourists coming in and out of the hotel. Despite that I find the room still rafter quiet and mine even face right in front of the lift lobby. Pretty comfy to sleep in and chat and party in too especially if you have great traveling companion. Oh yay despite have 6 elevators it do take a long time to catch one at 'peak' breakfast hours ! Comfort level though I will give a 4 stars

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    303
    301
    57
    22
See reviews for
165
121
86
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The Sunshine City Prince is pretty okay. My whole band stayed here, and we were impressed with how cheap it was for Tokyo. It conveniently connects to Sunshine 60 and to the subway system. If you rent a room at either end of the floor, it's closer to American standards in terms of size (i.e. two beds, a bathroom you can walk in). It's very clean, and the staff is very accommodating (although they always seem to be in a hurry.) They put a humidifier in my room when I told them my allergies were acting up. I was able to buy beer from the vending machine outside my room in the middle of the night, which was great. The beds are like rocks though.

The Family Mart inside the hotel is expensive (although a good place for touristy souvenirs for the family.) But it can provide you with a good oden if you're hungry and in the mood for a lot of sodium. And the staff is nice and generally speaks enough English.

Just make sure you bring your own wireless internet router. You can get them cheap in Akihabara.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms at the ends of the floor. They're much bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
141 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

I just finished 9 day stay the the Prince, been staying here 9 years due to business. Sadly while never a 5 star hotel, it has gone downhill. I was very disappointed this time. The carpet and bed covers have never been changed since i've been staying there and are now stained and filthy, rare for Japan. I mean the carpet is absolutely filthy, I was on he floor doing to work and got up covered in hair. Under the beds completely horribly dirty. No care at all being taken to clean the place. My chair was so stained it was like a rainbow of dark colors. It is also hot, horribly hot like 80* F. Way too hot to be comfortable, and no way to change the temperature or open a window, hotter in the hallway. Every night I sweltered in an uncomfortable hot room.
Find another hotel is my only advice.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank MichaelF8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Toshima hotels

Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We slept in a 3 bed room which is bigger than the normal 2 bed room. Then the hotel is connected to sunshine 60 mall which is big and is connected to a street full of shops. We took a whole day trying to explore the whole street but our legs couldnt take it. Great place to stay.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Pegster88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Hotel is just beside a huge mall (Sunshine 60) so you can do your shopping and dining there. Also there's a FamilyMart at the lobby for your on the go purchases. A 5 minute walk will also bring you to Sun City streets and 10minutes to Ikebukuro MRT station.

The hotel room is quite small and looks old already but it could be manageable since we are always out during the day. Buffet breakfast is good also. The only bad thing i guess is there's no wifi in the room so you have to go to the lobby to access wifi. What's only available in the room is one LAN cable if ever you brought a laptop with you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pauladeasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
233 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The hotel is actually quite a distance from JR Ikebukuro (East exit) and not so direct route as we have expected. One has to walk some 400m across the always-crowded Sunshine Dori St and then go through an underground passageway (beside the Tokyu Hands bldg) to Sunshine City. On our arrival we have to lug our bags through one of the busiest part of Ikebukuro- Sunshine Dori, a mind-boggling 10-15 minutes of crowd dodging.
In terms of transport it might be a challenge if you intend to travel daily via Ikeburoko station. An alternative is the Tokyo Metro Higashi-Ikebukuro station. You can get to this sta. through the street level followed by about 5-7 minutes through interconnecting walkways.
The hotel room we gotten was reasonably sized to fit just a double bed and small table with small TV (surprisingly comes with English/Chinese channels). The lobby is not well furnished and the many sofa chairs seemed always occupied with the many hotel stayers/visitors and tourists in large groups checking in or out of the hotel (testament to its popularity!)
We stayed at 12xx so did not have much fantastic views of the nearby Ikebukuro and Shinjuku skyline.. In terms of amenities there are many dining and shopping options in that area including the Seibu, Parco and Tobu Department stores, on top of the many restaurants and fastfood outlets. The hotel breakfast buffet is priced about 1575 yen for hotel guest but it was not in our package. They are several options for breakfast outside the hotel; in the mall there is a McDonalds and Maison Kayser, and also Tully’s Coffee but all opened after 7:30am though. Many would agree that the Lawson (just round the bend of the lobby) is a plus as it is operating 24-hrs.. :>
We like it's location with attached shopping mall and the best part is the airport limo stopping just outside the hotel. Overall our stay here has been good (apart from the long walk to station) and we are likely to come back again if the opportunity arises. :>

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J&S_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I was there with a group and we all stayed on to 20th floor. The rooms aren't large, but it was comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was quite good and and they have a family market shop on the ground floor. Also attached is the mall so plenty of options available. Close to Sun City streets and subway. Wifi was free but really bad for connections. In fact it's bad everywhere. Just a note, the lounge area doesn't allow eating or drinking. No other options available if you wanted to sit down with friends in lobby or restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dukenukem30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toshima
Ikebukuro
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
The B Ikebukuro
The B Ikebukuro
#7 of 55 in Toshima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,807 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine City Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine City Prince Hotel

Property: Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Address: 3-1-5 Higashi-Ikebukuro, Toshima 170-8440, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine City Prince Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunshine City Complex in Tokyo's Ikebukuro district is in a constant state of self-renewal. It is a modern business, shopping and entertainment complex that features the 60-story "Sunshine 60" building, the World Imports Mart, the Culture Hall with a theater and museum, International Aquarium, and the Alpa Shopping Center. Sunshine City Prince Hotels is at the heart of this complex.With its stylish new look, the 1,166-room hotel rises 38 stories above the ground and dips three basement levels below. The Sunshine City Prince provides all the comfort, functionality and genuine hospitality you'd expect from an international hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda, Odigeo, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunshine City Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Sunshine City
Prince Hotel Toshima
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Toshima Prince Hotel
Sunshine City Prince Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing