We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ryokan! Nice and quiet place”
Review of Kimi Ryokan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kimi Ryokan
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ryokan! Nice and quiet place”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights. Good location, close to ikebukuro (go out in the right exit)
The room are spacious and comfortable, with good space also for bags.
Tatami are comfortable
The and water for free. Microwave and little kitchen helps u to eat Bento box!
Nice leaving room where met some other traveller! And eat!
Very silent
Possibility to make laundry and Japanese bath!

Contro:they close at 2...so if u want t go out at night is not the right place to stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    160
    41
    11
    13
See reviews for
59
145
84
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This is a great base for Tokyo travels. Towel included, nice seating area on the roof, secure, wifi throughout and plenty of toilets and showers so never waiting. In both 2 and 3 person room with friends. Great space and ideal if you're out in the day and need comfort and peace for your sleeps. Recommended

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ros w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
貴美旅館, マネージャー at Kimi Ryokan, responded to this review, 26 July 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your stay in Kimi Ryokan with us, and hope you enjoyed your stay and your trip in Tokyo.

Thank you so much for your beautiful comments!

We would definately keep on trying to improve our service and also to keep the price reasonable. Please let us know if any inconvenince have bothered your comfortable stay, we are always ready to work on it right away.

Thank you very much for your comment again and our staff will be looking forward to seeing you next time in Japan!!

Best regards,

Owner Mr. Kisaburo and Kimi staffs
KIMI RYOKAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

You want to go to Japan, is it your dream, well if your watching to money and you just need a bed and roof over your head this is the place to stay.
Kimi Ryokan is a Hostel in Toshima, the place has an old feel to it but a sense of calm at the same time, the rooms are small but very clean air conditioned so you will sleep well, the showers and wash sinks are all kept very clean and there are hair driers and the soaps provided are really nice, the bedding are changed every three days, there is a lounge to cook and to washing machines 100 yen each to use.
The staff where very helpful and i have no complaints at all, right near Ikebukro station around ten minuets walk, the staff always respect the guest and you will find your inner peace here, a nice terrace above and you can chill out after your amazing day in this wonderful country, there is a lift to get your luggage to the top, even tooth brush's a small flower buy the sinks and great attention to detail, you get what you pay for, and more, was very happy all round, thank you to you all, and thanks japan a little part of me, and my son remain here.

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and about the same, so any room is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CameraMan620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
貴美旅館, マネージャー at Kimi Ryokan, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your stay in Kimi Ryokan with us.
We really hope you enjoyed your stay and your trip in Tokyo as well.
We would definately keep on trying to improve our service and also to keep the price reasonable.
Please let us know if any tiny inconvenince have bothered your comfortable stay, we are ready to work on it right away.

Thank you very much for your comment and looking forward to seeing you next time in Japan.

Best regards,

Owner Mr. Kisaburo and Kimi staffs
KIMI RYOKAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Lovely old ryokan, right near Ikebukuro station which is on the main JR line to Shinjuku, Harajuku, Shibya etc.

Very clean, small rooms.

The staff were really nice but gave us some bad advice on a few occasions (Booked us a tea ceremony in Uji, but when we arrived it was for the wrong day, so that wasted a lot of our time). Also gave us incorrect information about trains to Narita. We would have missed our flight except we left an extra hour early just in case. They should be more careful with things like this!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
貴美旅館, マネージャー at Kimi Ryokan, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your stay in Kimi Ryokan with us. We really hope you enjoyed it and your trip in Tokyo as well.
Terribly sorry for our serious mistake and troubled you. We guarantee that we will take care when doing information and make sure no any miss next time . Please asking your kindly forgive and give us a chance to do service for you again.
Thank you very much for your this comment and looking forward to seeing you next time.

Best regards,
Owner Mr. Kisaburo and Kimi staffs
KIMI RYOKAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This place is very nice. Clean, beautiful, and not so expensive. I spend 2 night and I highly recommend it. Nice terrace on the roof, place to wash your cloth japanese traditional bath, you have everything you need to feel that your not in the biggest city in the world :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panamalor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
貴美旅館, マネージャー at Kimi Ryokan, responded to this review, 26 July 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your stay in Kimi Ryokan with us, and hope you enjoyed your stay and your trip in Tokyo.

Thank you so much for your beautiful comments!

We would definately keep on trying to improve our service and also to keep the price reasonable. Please let us know if any inconvenince have bothered your comfortable stay, we are always ready to work on it right away.

Thank you very much for your comment again and our staff will be looking forward to seeing you next time in Japan!!

Best regards,

Owner Mr. Kisaburo and Kimi staffs
KIMI RYOKAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had a great stay at Kimi - the room was small (it's Tokyo!), but had a lot of storage space, so our suitcases weren't in the way. The staff was incredibly helpful - they gave us restaurant recommendations and helped us find a doctor when my son hurt his neck. Overall a great place to stay - and so close to Ikebukuro station that it was easy to get anywhere in Tokyo.

Room Tip: Tokyo doesn't ever get dark at night, so if you have trouble sleeping with light - ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abchesworthrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
貴美旅館, マネージャー at Kimi Ryokan, responded to this review, 26 July 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your stay in Kimi Ryokan with us, and hope you enjoyed your stay and your trip in Tokyo.

Thank you so much for your beautiful comments!

We would definately keep on trying to improve our service and also to keep the price reasonable. Please let us know if any inconvenince have bothered your comfortable stay, we are always ready to work on it right away.

Thank you very much for your comment again and our staff will be looking forward to seeing you next time in Japan!!

Best regards,

Owner Mr. Kisaburo and Kimi staffs
KIMI RYOKAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Booked here after reading reviews on tripadvisor and Lonely Planet. This was our first time at a Ryokan and it was superior to the hotels that cost double the price in Shinjuku. There is plenty of space (for Tokyo) in the rooms, the staff were very welcoming and friendly, they spoke English and Japanese and the common areas, (kitchen and rooftop) were good places to met others or just hang. Recommend to anyone after a traditional Japanese experience near the heart of Tokyo.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Micheal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toshima
Ikebukuro
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro
#5 of 55 in Toshima
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Andon Ryokan
Andon Ryokan
#9 of 119 in Taito
338 reviews
Family Inn Saiko
#1 of 55 in Toshima
524 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
The Edo Sakura
The Edo Sakura
#3 of 119 in Taito
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimi Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimi Ryokan

Property: Kimi Ryokan
Address: 2-36-8 Ikebukuro, Toshima 171-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Toshima
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Toshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Rakuten and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Kimi Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimi Ryokan Hotel Toshima
Kimi Ryokan Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing