We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location, very clean, business type of hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Convenient location, very clean, business type of hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

For our last days of a wonderful Japan trip we opted for a "western" style hotel and we were not disappointed. The hotel met all our expectations. We highly recommend that you visit the Ghibli museum when you are in Tokyo. Kids and parents all alike, we loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stefan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    672
    177
    38
    17
See reviews for
343
340
153
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Woodland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

This was my first visit to Japan, and we couldn't have picked a better hotel. It is almost exactly opposite Ikebukuro Station, which, being very large, has many entries and exits. (The Metropolitan is closest to the south exit) Hop a train on JR, Tokyo Metro, Tobu, or Seibu trains, and you can get anywhere. Since it's on the Yamanote line, the big areas are always accessible. (I would suggest buying a Suica or Pasmo fare card for convenience and buy a pass case to blend in with the locals. Once you're inside the gate, the bilingual signage make it easy to navigate.)
The food at CrossDine, the casual restaurant in the lobby, was good, although the price had something to be desired. Not exorbitantly expensive, but normal for a hotel in Tokyo. Local dining choices are plentiful and run the gamut, ranging from Tobu's food hall and restaurant floor to kaiten-sushi (conveyor-belt), to MOS Burger next door and the 5 (yes, FIVE!) convenience stores within one minute's walk, two of which are 7-Eleven. Our room had a fridge, so I could keep my unfinished drink cold for the next day.
Access to shopping includes the two department stores above the station, a Bic Camera 5 minutes' walk north, Animate (for anime and manga) and Sunshine60 5 minutes by train, and the aforementioned other districts on the Yamanote line, including the Ginza for high fashion and Akihabara for electronics and anime/manga/video game overload.
The rooms are comfortable and clean, with contouring pillows and clean linens. The bed took a night to get used to, but if you're used to firm, it won't matter. Cleanliness is elevated to shrine-worthy at this hotel. They never missed a spot. The television, though small, had a great selection of local TV (NHK, TV Tokyo, Tokyo MX, Fuji TV, and niche channels including shogi were well represented) and International channels (CNNj and BBC). There's also Video On Demand that is activated with a card from a vending machine, but we didn't try this since we were too busy experiencing Tokyo.
The area is safe and sound, with the local police station a short walk from the hotel. The view was amazing, even on the seventh floor.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view, lower floors don't feel swaying from (very rare) big quakes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanau, Germany
Level Contributor
90 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Hotel rooms are quite small but clean, well equiped with internet that works, so the right place for business travellers to check the mails etc.
Also the value for money is OK, breakfast offers a large variety (something for everybody)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heiko H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

As many reviewers have already mentioned this hotel is in a great location for the trains and a few large shopping centers albeit quite epenceive. Its well kept and the staff are very friendly. we ate there on our last night it was a buffet not my favorite way of eating but the food was of a high standard for a buffet.. the room was nice, very clean, a little small but probably large for Japan Free Wifi.... other hotels around the world should take note

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Boxtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauniainen, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We visited first time in Japan with friends and chose this hotel for it's close location of subway and peaceful area. Would recommend for anyone who is visiting Tokyo first time. Easily reached by Airport Limousine. Hotel staff very helpful. We got free travel adapters from the reception upon request. Air conditioner was a bit too harsh, so we had to soften the air flow with a towel. Also soundproofing of the room was not so good. Guest bed was acceptable. The room had a mini fridge instead of mini-bar, so we could easily store our own snacks. The bathroom had one of the best showers ever seen at hotels. Ikebukuro metro station within 5 minutes walk, also many cafeterias and restaurants around. Safe area, even by night. Convenient stores nearby were 7-11 and FamilyMart.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
209 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Hotel is in a good location just some walking step from Ikebukuro station.

Both JR and subway station. Take exit for Metropolitan exit.

Many deoartment stores in walking distance from the hotel such as Tobu Seibu.
At least 3 convenience stores around hotel; family mart, 7-11, and lawson. Also 24 hrs small restaurant opposite to hotel(bys stop side).
Famous ramen restaurant - Mutekiya ramen is in walking dustance from hotel just cross under the railway from hotel door(limousine bus stop side).

Limousine bus via airport is available from hotel to both Narita and Haneda.

Room is big enough even for tripple. Bathroom is wide enough. Amentities is good.

Staffs are very nice. Many of staff can speak english. Staff can help you with travel information, map, and call.

Wifi in each room.

Interesting choice for family trip and so on.
I have been returned customer of metropolitan hotel at least 3 times.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TiddyWallapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

This hotel room was very clean. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is very well situated being no more than a five minute walk away from the Ikebukuro station. Family friendly place with great places to eat and shop. It is safe to walk around and explore even at night. My husband and I will be going back this later this year and will be staying here again! This should sum it up for anyone looking for a hotel in Japan for the first time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jessie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toshima
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Ikebukuro
Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Ikebukuro
The B Ikebukuro
The B Ikebukuro
#6 of 55 in Toshima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro

Property: Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Address: 1-6-1 Nishiikebukuro, Toshima 171-8505, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Toshima
#2 Business Hotel in Toshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro 4*
Number of rooms: 807
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Toshima
Metropolitan Tokyo Hotel
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing