We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

It is on the west side from ikebukuro station. Very well connected by the 'circle' line (metro). Loads of eating places nearby.

Hotel room was decent though compact size and clean.

Only drawback - no free wifi in the room. It is available in the lobby. This makes the lobby a bit crowded in the late evenings!

Of the three places I have stayed in (akasuka, ginza and ikebukuro ), I liked this location the most! Very convenient and pleasant surroundings. Please note, the east side is not as chilled out as the west side of ikebukuro.

Electronic shopping was great in BIC camera near the hotel! Got duty free and further discount. Better than Akihabara.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VLqvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    707
    184
    43
    18
See reviews for
358
355
163
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Excellent hotel that we used as "base-camp" to start our family vacation in Japan. We reserved two-connected rooms and were very satisfied. Reservation made on-line followed with communication by E-mail. Check in and out were simple and quick !

Rooms are spacious, facilities and amenities are excellent. Access is superb (directly from Narita by Airport Limousine Bus, 5 minutes walk from Ikebukuro station). Choices of restaurants and convenient stores are abundant.

Staffs were super friendly and helpful. They helped us to plan our day trips, transfer our luggages to Osaka, etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teddy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This was our third stay at the Metropolitan in Ikebukuro, and we once again found it to be the perfect base to explore Tokyo. Ikebukuro may not be the most glamorous district but the transport connections are excellent, the shopping is superb and there are great cafes, bars and restaurants. Rooms in the metropolitan might be a little on the small side (but not not bad for Tokyo). The service in the hotel is excellent and everything is clean and very comfortable. If you're looking for a great base at a decent price you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penfoldio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is my second review, the room seemed a little larger then the first time but it has not been refurbished. During this season the A/C is turned off and only the heater is available. My room was a little stuffy so I opened the windows at night. Awakened by wailing sirens and Emergency crew on the loudspeaker communicating their intended movement to other drivers, pedestrians and bicyclists. I thought an earthquake or tsunami was coming. Convenient location to JR rail.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HonoluluMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stay in this hotel due to its convenience location, and it never let me down in terms of the room cleanness and the room size. The check-in process is quite smooth but the staff is neither courteous nor friendly. Moreover, no one is helping me to carry my luggage to the room.
The internet connection is another problem that I encounter during my stay. I use the free internet access at the lobby and the speed is quite slow. In short, I will stay in this hotel again, however, don't expect the welcome greeting and friendly staff at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellotravelbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel five minutes from Ikebukuro station for three nights as we wanted to be within reasonable distance to commute to an event in Saitama. If you arrive in to Narita Airport, I would strongly recommend taking the direct coach (known as a limousine bus) to the hotel door as it is only slightly more expensive than taking a train and spares you the effort of having to find your bearings and negotiate the crowds on the trains and in the station, especially if you have a decent amount of lugggage.

H and I arrived on an evening flight and were able to check into our room immediately on arrival. We stayed in a superior room and the size was perfectly fine for us with two suitcases and two carry-on bags. I think the key to hotels in Japan and Tokyo in particular is to choose the best room you can afford if you want space. Then again, you are in Tokyo so you're not going to be spending much time in your room! The category of room we chose had complimentary wi-fi included and this is very important to us whenever we travel.

We got a wonderful surprise on our first morning when we opened our curtains and were able to see Mount Fuji from our windows in the distance. Fortunately, it was a bright and sunny day! The room was quite and we slept very soundly,

The hotel is a short five minute walk from Ikebukuro station which has connections to pretty much everywhere in Tokyo you need to go. Get a Suica card at the station and top it up as you need for your public transport needs. You can also use the balance you have left over in some shops that have a Suica reader at the cash register.

The hotel staff were what you would expect in Japan - helpful and polite. Didn't have any problems at all during our stay which is just the way it should be. Didn't dine at the hotel as there are lots of options from fast food all the way to higher end right on your doorstep. Would not hesitate to stay at Hotel Metropolitan again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sdublin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel is very nice and classy looking. The staff can speak conversational English and are very helpful. The rooms are definitely Asian type, very very small. Didn't have much room left in the room with 2 large suitcases and 2 full size carry-ons. The rooms look very nice and large flat screen tv but no English stations. Large deep bathtub and fully Japanese style stocked bathroom. For Americans, that means all toiletries provided and robes and slippers. The airport limo bus stops at this hotel, so easy to use! Bus company works well the bell staff of the hotel. The bakery in hotel is high quality and rather low priced!

The best thing is this hotel location is kitty-corner from shopping center that is apart of subway system. 5 different line all meet here and from different metro and rail companies. You can get everywhere around Tokyo quickly from here. Actually, this metro stop has 2 different shopping malls at each side. Some fantastic food places within walking distance.

Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toshima
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ikebukuro
The B Ikebukuro
The B Ikebukuro
#7 of 55 in Toshima
445 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
3,113 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro

Property: Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Address: 1-6-1 Nishiikebukuro, Toshima 171-8505, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Toshima
#2 Business Hotel in Toshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro 4*
Number of rooms: 807
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Toshima
Metropolitan Tokyo Hotel
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing