We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further for a place in Tokyo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence
NSW Australia
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Look no further for a place in Tokyo”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

After researching places to stay, this was recommended. It's a perfect position close to railway, so easy to get from airport after long flight. The rail system is phenomenal! Tourist buses pick up from here. Pleasant staff, hotel immaculate in presentation. Rooms are fine with good bathrooms. Beds a little hard for my personal comfort however no problems. Stayed on 23rd floor, can open a tiny window so don't need air con all the time. Lighting could be brighter at night. Only 1 bedside light as bed is against wall. I paid a little more for this room to get wifi. My only complaint was we couldn't check in until 3pm. We arrived from Australia at 6:30am and would have to pay extra to get into room earlier. Generally if room is ready hotels in Australia will allow access. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Get a high floor with wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyDebW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    714
    185
    44
    18
See reviews for
367
357
163
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stay for 2 nights in June 2014. Room is clean and compact. Bathroom is well equipped. Hotel location is superb. Very near to Ikebukuro Station. Accross the hotel has MOS Burger, and 24 hrs supermarket. At Ikebukuro Station has Uniqlo outlet on 9th floor. The service of the bell gilrs also very genuine. My wife gave her some tips, but she refuse it politely!!
My family and I love to stay in this hotel if we come back to Tokyo again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We tremendously enjoyed staying here. Somehow we obtained a very good deal on this hotel and were pleasantly surprised with the quality. The restaurant is friendly for many different food preferences, so we were able to enjoy more traditional meals as well as American and English food.

The location is extremely close to Ikebukuro station and there are plenty of shopping, restaurant, and entertainment options within walking distance. For a traveler, this is essentially an ideal location.

There is free wi-fi in the lobby and affordably priced wi-fi in the rooms. The rooms are adequately sized for Tokyo standards and very well maintained. We also had a pleasant view of the city from our window.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Wonderful service and English friendly. Massage service comes to your room and is reasonable. Location is wonderful and is right next to a main train station that can take you anywhere. Shopping at the large Tobu is just across the street. Being American, I am ashamed that the service in this hotel blows any American hotel's service out of the water. Our room had a king sized bed and plenty of space for Japan. Free lighting fast WiFi and I could easily access USA websites. I think the free WiFi depends on the room. The downside is that the gym in the hotel expensive to use and no "free" breakfast. There are plenty of restaurants to chose from.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I like the guest room because it is modern and clean with free wifi and great city view.
Location is strategic as it is close to Ikebukuro station, a lot of restaurants (Japanese and Italian) surrounding the hotel, and shopping mall across the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainEwoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I forgot neme of restaurant,,,
It was Nice!!!!

Yes, I know that this restaurant have staffed by skilled itamae.
The prawns were sweet and still slightly warm, and the sauce were mixed with peppery and citrus-yuzu flavor.
No need for mayo, much less soy sauce.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidwolfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

A second stay at this very well run hotel in a location that offers an excellent base to get into central Tokyo, and which has easy access to Haneda and Narita. The Metropolitan is at the terminus of two airport bus routes, so no hiking around the streets with bags on arrival or departure. Having used the Airport Express train on earlier visits we know that bus is by far the best option, and to be taken direct to the front door is an even bigger plus. Two minutes walk away is the Ikebukuro station complex, with JR trains running into Shinjuku in 15 minutes, and the end point of the Marunouchi metro line for Tokyo station. Walk through the Metropolitan Plaza on the way to the station and there is a Japan Post ATM for Cirrus and Maestro withdrawals. Ikebukuro is a pretty good centre itself, with plenty of restaurants and shops. Hotel rooms are a good size, bathrooms are pretty large, rooms are decently furnished, and of course it is clean. The buffet breakfast offers a choice and an excellent range of Japanese and Western items. A very good location and a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dlaynmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toshima
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 82 in Shinjuku
1,285 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 111 in Minato
3,140 reviews
Ikebukuro
The B Ikebukuro
The B Ikebukuro
#7 of 55 in Toshima
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro

Property: Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Address: 1-6-1 Nishiikebukuro, Toshima 171-8505, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Toshima
#2 Business Hotel in Toshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro 4*
Number of rooms: 807
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Toshima
Metropolitan Tokyo Hotel
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing