We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ark Hotel Tokyo Ikebukuro
Nearby Hotels
US$251
US$172
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$149
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$140
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$168
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$190
US$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Wing International Ikebukuro(Toshima)(Great Value!)
US$154
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Mystays Higashi-Ikebukuro(Toshima)(Great Value!)
US$112
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Otsuka City Hotel(Toshima)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
US$196
US$183
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$158
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
9
39
30
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
39
30
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschecking innon smokingmetro stationsunshine citywardrobekeykettletowelspillowsluggageconvenienceikebukuroneighborhoodenglishshoppingtokyo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We stayed in the Ark Hotel for 2 days at the begining of our holiday and again for 4 at the end.
It was located at the end of the main street in Ikebukuro and very close to Sunshine City, a huge shopping mall. Its about 5/10 mins walk from ikebukuro station and although isn't the most convienent lacation in Tokyo its lively and great for people watching.
The staff can all speak some english although levels vary and they are all very friendly. At the end of first 2 days we accidentally forgot to hand back the key but they were fine about it and just asked us to send it back to them via our next hotel.
The room was basic but more roomy then i expected. It was a bit worn and had some stains on the carpet but was spotlessly clean and the housekeeping staff did a great job. The flat screen tv only had Japanese channels. There was no wardrobe, just some hangers on a full lenght mirror.
The bed was the hardest I've ever ever slept on and the pillows had straw like fibres in them?! I think that is a typically japanese thing but I sept suprisingly well!
The breakfast was a basic japanese spread, miso soup, rice salad etc.
There was a computer with internet access in the lobby.
All in all the Ark is a basic but servicable hotel in tokyo where good value is hard to come by!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starrgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

I stayed at this hotel twice in May 2009 and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The rooms are quite small (hey, it is Tokyo!) but very clean and well serviced. The prices are very competive and the breakfast was very good quality. The only thing to consider is the ten minute walk from the railway station - however, the hotel is only a couple of minutes away from the shops. The adjacent road is hardly noticeable.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smartiefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

The Hotel Ark Tokyo, what can I say? I got this hotel recommended from a travel agent, I wanted a budget hotel in the Tokyo area, and this hotel really was a great deal! The location itself isn't the greatest, it is situated next to a motorway and the views are therefore limited, but there is no need to be concerned about noise, the rooms are very quiet, I was surprised.

It is reasonably easy to find from the Ikebukuro JR Train station, which has a direct line to Narita Airport, there are not many signs leading to the hotel, so you should ask someone. The Japanese are very polite and they will go to extreme lenghts to help you on your way, that was at least my personal experience.

The staff at the hotel was very pleasant and very polite, though their English could have been considerably better, but there is nothing to complain about when it comes to their devotion to service for their guests.

The rooms themselves are quite small, for an European or an American traveller, it will be quite a "shock" if you are not familiar with Japanese sizes and facilities. The room was quite clean and nice, though show signs of wear and tear. It has the amenties you would expect from a budget hotel, air-condition, direct-dial telephone, private shower and toilet and cable-television, mind you; NO international tv-channels whatsoever.

As mentioned before the hotel is situated close to the Ikebukuro JR train station and metro station, which will easily and conveniently bring you to wherever you want to go in the Tokyo Metropolitan area, it is about ten minutes by foot to the station.

They do offer breakfast service, however I did not choose this option, so I have no familiarity to this service, please see other reviews.

All in all, I would say this hotel is a good value for money, and the location is OK.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehappyvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2005

I booked my rooms for about Y13,500 per night and I think it is a very good deal. First, the location, in Ikebukero East side, is very convenient. We walked one minute to Sunshine Bldg., and every morning and night had convenience stores, ramen, bakeries, donuts, and arcades to keep us fed and entertained at those times. The only problem was walking there from the JR station with our suitcases in the crowded streets...I had to call the hotel from my rented cell phone a few times. Luckily I speak some Japanese or else we would have been in trouble. It is too close for a taxi. Once we got there, we found the rooms were clean and probably recently renovated...I guess this because there was a 15" flat screen TV! And a refrigerator and a minibar, all of which is pretty good for that nightly rate in a prime spot like Ikebukuro.
If you've been to Japan and/or Ikebukuro before, or you don't mind a little walking adventure to get there, then this hotel is great. If you are nervous, or don't like a bright neighborhood with lots of young people going to bars or clubs on you walk away from the station, then this isn't the hotel for you.
For me, a traveller on a budget, I was completely satisfied with the clean, quiet rooms, kind staff, proximity to entertainment, food, and huge JR station.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank uclarobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Room Tip: 連泊する時はルームクリーニングを省くと割引になります。
Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews