We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed!”
Review of Hotel Grand City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Grand City
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The hotel is in the district of Ikebukuro. It’s not in the heart of Tokyo, but after extensive research my wife and I decided it was more appealing to stay just outside of the busier and noisier districts. It’s always nice to come home to a quiet hotel for some much needed rest after a day of sightseeing. Finding our hotel though, would prove to be an adventure in its own. The street names are all in Japanese, and our map to our hotel was in English. Finding someone who speaks English to help with directions was futile. Thankfully there is a giant map of the district adjacent to the train station. After reviewing the map and coordinating it with our own, we took our best guess and headed off in the direction we believed our hotel is going to be. After going up and down numerous side streets we stumbled upon “Hotel Grand City” and we could not have been more relieved. The staff spoke broken English, but it’s more than enough to get by. The are very warm and friendly. Upon entering the room we were not at all surprised to see how teeny tiny it is. You take 2 small steps and you are right beside the bed with only enough room to turn around and go back towards the door. There is a washroom. Again very small, but it had a deep tub with a nice shower with plenty of hot water and good water pressure. The toilet seat comes installed with a bidet which was also an added bonus. The bed was hard as a rock unfortunately. This was the only negative about the room other than the size. But for only 80.00 Canadadian per night (booked off expedia) we weren't complaining.
Even though the staff speak limited English they were reakky wonderful. They assisted us with securing tickets to see a soccer game at The Nissan stadium, and when ever we saw them in the lobby the would always bow and say hello. Incredible people.
All in all we enjoyed our stay here. The price was right, location was decent and 5 star service

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pderrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

Anywhere you travel, location is very important. Tokyo is already a great city, but not knowing the exact geographic location of this hotel before choosing it was a gamble. You can look at maps and location all you want, but the true test is when you get there, I was extremely pleased with the location, it was a few, easy, flat, walking blocks from the Ikebukuro train station. It's a relatively major station, so all the connections needed to get around Tokyo will be convenient.

The hotel itself is surrounded by lots of entertainment including a bowling alley, arcade, Toyota Amlux showroom, tons of shopping and eateries.

The staff was top notch, trying their best to speak English, typically well enough to address all accommodations and needs. No problem with billing.

The rooms were quite small, but I'm not surprised...it's Japan. However, the rooms were very clean and comfortable. I would much rather stay in this small, clean, and comfortable hotel than a large dirty Western 3 star.

I really can't say enough good things - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ジェームズ フ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

first trip to tokyo so don't have a lot to compare to. Room was small but fine for one person. You could struggle with two - but as far as what you expect it was absolutely fine. Hotel doesn't really have much of a personality, but the city makes up for it. As a place to sleep, bathe, change clothes and base yourself for three nights - absolutely fine.
Location: 5 mins walk from Ikebukuro Station which connects with just about everywhere.
Room: fine for one person.
Internet: LAN in room worked well
Bathroom: Standard japanese/western style modular bathroom.
Price: reasonable
Be warned: there is a baseball practice facility on the rooftop next door. It closes at midnight and didn't particularly bother me, but if that is something that would be an issue for you you may want to stay an a lower floor.
No pics as I only tend to take pics of places I would not recommend. I would easily stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank argonaut64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KUWAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank みっ子
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ちっくん1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toshima hotels
Ikebukuro
Ark Hotel Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ark Hotel Tokyo Ikebukuro
#25 of 55 in Toshima
76 reviews
Ikebukuro
Dai-Ichi Inn Ikebukuro
Dai-Ichi Inn Ikebukuro
#21 of 55 in Toshima
122 reviews
Ikebukuro
Hotel Resol Ikebukuro
Hotel Resol Ikebukuro
#14 of 55 in Toshima
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
the b tokyo ikebukuro
the b tokyo ikebukuro
#7 of 55 in Toshima
463 reviews
Ikebukuro
Hotel Wing International Ikebukuro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand City

Address: 1-30-7 Higashi Ikebukuro, Toshima 170-0013, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Price Range: £56 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand City 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand City Hotel
Grand City Toshima
Hotel Grand City Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing