We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“affordable clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed 7 nights and loved this hotel. Customer service is very good ! Staff is very helpful and friendly. Single room is very clean, neat, simple, cosy and affordable. Surroundings are cool with many food joints, 3 family marts and 3 7-11 stores are also nearby. Hotel is about 10mins walk to train station. Wifi connection maybe a bit weak in some areas. There's no electric kettle provided in the room, therefore take hot or cold drinking water from cafe or kitchen using your own thermal flask or water bottle. The laundry machines are very useful keeping your luggage light, price at 100 yen coins depending how many rounds of wash. Breakfast is okay at 320 yen, will be perfect if comes with eggs. Overall, it is a great place to stay with a reasonable budget.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank raincool2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
サクラホテル池袋, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thanks very much for your comments.
Hope that you are enjoyed Tokyo city and hope to see you again.
Now on Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro you can rent (for free) a kettle in the front for use into the room.
We are very happy that you was staying with us and looking forward to see you again.
Best regards from all the hotel staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

My brother and I stayed here for 5 nights late March 2014. It was a good budget hotel in a good location. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the Ikebukuro JR line. The staff are very friendly and super helpful. The rooms are small but they're clean. The bathroom is VERY small, but it has hot running water which is wonderful after a long day out sightseeing. They have a common kitchen that can be used by guests at any time which is nice if you just want to go to 7-Eleven to pick up a quick meal and bring it back to your hotel. We also found the wireless connection to be good throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Slotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
サクラホテル池袋, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thanks very much for your nice words.
We are happy that you and your brother was stay with us and hope that you will come back to Tokyo again.
We will continue working to provide good rooms and valuable service to our customers.
Regards from Japan!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I've stayed at Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro during my past two visits to Tokyo and would definitely choose to stay there again. The location is perfect and is very easy to find from Ikebukuro station. I stayed in the female dormitory room on the 6th floor and found the facilities to be perfectly adequate. Hot showers and a solid wifi connection at all times! Overall, Tokyo is a place where you spent very little time in your hotel/hostel room, so why pay a lot?? I highly recommend Sakura Hotel for your next stay in Tokyo.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank linsey_finlayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
サクラホテル池袋, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thanks very much for your kind words.
We are very pleased that you have stay with us and hope to see you soon. We will continue working to give you a good accommodation.
Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I have stayed in the Sakura Hotel in Ikebukuro several times over the past couple years. It's an inexpensive, simple way to have a place to sleep and still have access to many things Tokyo has to offer. It's also a few minutes walk from the Ikebukuro train station which will get you just about anywhere else in Tokyo you desire. There's a 24-hr access lobby with a cafe with a variety of foods from various places (not necessarily Japanese). Many people from around the world tend to stay here so it's likely you'll find visitors from Europe, Australia, and other parts of Asia, besides the USA. The staff is courteous and many of them speak multiple languages for those non-English speakers. It's my choice where to stay when I'm in Tokyo visiting friends and family. If you want fancy rooms with a great view, uh, then don't stay here. (Remember, most rooms in Tokyo are tiny, even the expensive ones.) If you want an inexpensive place to visit Tokyo, store your bags, travel around the city, and catch a few winks after that, then the Sakura Hotel is for you.

Room Tip: There are several room sizes, including a "dorm-style" combined sleeping area, similar to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

the rooms were ok but nothing special, the main problem we has was the bathroom stank of standing water and the only way we could rid our selves of it was to open the window crank the heater and put a maxi bottle of lavender air freshener to thin it out. thing is we only used the place for a home base to sleep so it wasn't a deal breaker but we probably wont stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leith g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed at the Sakura as part of a group of 13, we mostly had twin rooms, some single. We all loved our stay there! It has a very central location, 10 minutes from the station, a 7/11 on the corner, and the main street is pretty close. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean, a little small with two suitcases, but the singles were plenty big. The room and bathroom were cleaned every morning, we were gone by 9 everyday so the room was always spotless when we got back. The kitchen was great, as it really helps when your on a student budget, plus we all gathered there for night time tea :)
Overall, we plan to stay there again on our next trip.

Room Tip: If you have a big suitcase, twin rooms are pretty small, single or double are much bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dumbledoreasaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This was our 2nd time staying at Sakura. We choose the same hotel again mainly because of the location. Just a walking distance to the train station (less than 10mins walk) and lots of cafes and restaurants around it. We also took a bigger room this time and was pleased with the size of the room. Nothing to complain at all. Staff were very helpful when you need their help. Will definitely stay at this hotel again should we come to Tokyo again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toshima
Ikebukuro
Hotel Mystays Higashi-Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Kanda, Akihabara, Ochanomizu
Sakura Hotel Jimbocho
Sakura Hotel Jimbocho
#27 of 82 in Chiyoda
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ikebukuro
Super Hotel Lohas Ikebukuro-Eki Kitaguchi
Ueno, Asakusa
Palace Japan
Palace Japan
#1 of 54 in Taito
137 reviews
Shinjuku
Hikari House
Hikari House
#1 of 17 in Shinjuku
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro

Address: 2-40-7 Ikebukuro, Toshima 171-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Toshima
Price Range: £20 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakura Hotel Toshima
Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing