We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A convenient place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

It is hard to find a reasonably priced hotel in the middle of Tokyo that would accommodate 2 adults and 2 kids. We are glad we chose this one. We stayed in the main building and had two different rooms during our stay. The first one had 4 tatami mats and the second one had a bunk bed and a regular bed. Both were very convenient. The rooms are clean. Our stay was quiet. The staff are very friendly and speak good English. There is coin laundry in the back. The hotel takes some effort to find though it is not far from the station, you just need to map it well in advance and be ready to meander around a bit. The neighborhood is safe and fun. There are several convenience stores and loads of restaurants nearby. In Ikebukuro station head for West exit and look for exit C6.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank eric j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
サクラホテル池袋, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your comment.

We are happy that you enjoy your stay.

As you comment,we located nearby the second biggest terminal Ikebukuro station.
You can reach easily whatever you would like to.

All of our staffs can speak English and some other languages like Spanish and Chinese and Korean.
We can help you anytime you need.

Lastly we are happy to serve you this time.
We hope to serve you next time here.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

It is my first time to stay this hotel. I am very much impressive once I sent an email for some information, I have a very quick response and helpful information. Staffs are so nice and can speak English very well. I stayed for 3 nights for sight-seeing in Tokyo. Room is small as the standard in Japan and was clean. Check in and check out is ok.

I love to stay this hotel because staffs are very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank VR393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
サクラホテル池袋, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your comment.

We are happy that you enjoy your staying in Japan.

As you comment,all of our staffs can speak English.
Also we have Spanish,Korean,Chinese,and Portuguese speakers.
We can help whatever you need.

We have a different size of rooms.
If you prefer to stay in bigger room,please let us inform anytime you want.
We can suggest to you If there are vacancy,

Lastly we are looking forward to serve you next time here as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I'm grateful that I've chosen this hotel. It's not that big of a room and it's no smoking hotel. But! ただし❗️ The staff is the best. Please stay here if you want your hotel staff to speak in english. Everyone does. Everyone here understands. They're totally helpful as well. You can consider this your home in japan. Plus, if you choose the dormitory rooms while you're travelling alone.... you might be able to gain friends. This is the right place. They're also affiliated with some events that will happen in Japan so... :)
The price depends on what room. But, book a room early... they tend to have no availability since this is the best place for tourists. :)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aprillemomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
サクラホテル池袋, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your comment.

We are happy that you enjoy your staying here.

As you comment,all of our staff help as your the best experience in Japan.

We are looking forward to see you again here.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Came here for a one week visit and enjoyed staying here. Staff were particularly friendly and eager to help with any inquiries 24/7. They also speak many different languages. The bedroom is cleaned and well maintained by the staff here. Location is conveniently close to Ikebukuro station which has plenty of shops and eateries. Given the relatively budget price we paid this was well worth it. Would definitely come back next time.

2  Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
サクラホテル池袋, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your comment.

We are happy to read your comment.

All of us would like to serve you next time as well.

We help your the best experience in Japan.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Sakura ikebukuro hostel (not the hotel) for 2 nights. It's an easy 5min walk from Ikebukuro train station (I caught a Narita express train directly from narita airport to ikebukuro station (no transfers!!).
The dorms have 4 beds, it's small but does have good air con.
The bathroom is equipped with body wash. Towels are available for hire. There is a small kitchen for making tea, noodles etc.
The restaurant at the hotel part is available for hostel residents too. They offer cheap all you can eat (toast, soup, latte, iced coffee) for ¥300.
All in all: Good location and affordable.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Jellyfishie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
サクラホテル池袋, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for your comment.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We located nearby the second biggest terminal Ikebukuro station.

Actually we have 6 beds room and 8 bed room as for dormitory room as well.

For breakfast service,it's costs 330 yen.Not 300 yen actually.

Thank you for your staying.

We are looking forward to serve you again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Although I once stayed here when it was the Business Hayashi Hotel, this was my first time staying at a Sakura property. They really have the gaijin market locked up and have what most travelers want: decent, clean accommodation and full kitchens available for use (but go out and eat real Japanese food if you can!) at the best prices one can expect in Tokyo.

I stayed in the dorms, and my only complaint is that there are no lockers for your valuables. Where they have a little table, they could install 4 or 6 small lockers, at least big enough to hold your phone and camera.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TokyoJimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
サクラホテル池袋, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Thank you for your comment.

As you comment,we do not have a locker for dormitory users.
However we can keep any of customer's items at our office anytime you want.

We will note your comment as we will update our information sheet.

Lastly,Thank you very much for your staying and comment.

We are looking forward to see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for four nights during our travels throughout Japan. Besides the great price and location, this hotel is somewhat of a cultural hub, offering an experience to encounter all sorts of different people visiting from across the globe. The rooms themselves were accommodating, situated with a comfortable bed which was much appreciated after all the walking and hiking we did each day. Likewise, the shower provided hot water and the room came with a mini-fridge. Only downside is that the internet (it is free) can be somewhat wonky at times. This hotel is fairly close to the Ikebukuro JR station, perfect for connecting you to the rest of Tokyo. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DruBones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toshima
Ikebukuro
Hotel Mystays Higashi-Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Kanda, Akihabara, Ochanomizu
Sakura Hotel Jimbocho
Sakura Hotel Jimbocho
#27 of 82 in Chiyoda
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ikebukuro
Super Hotel Lohas Ikebukuro-Eki Kitaguchi
Ueno, Asakusa
Palace Japan
Palace Japan
#1 of 54 in Taito
137 reviews
Shinjuku
Hikari House
Hikari House
#1 of 17 in Shinjuku
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro

Address: 2-40-7 Ikebukuro, Toshima 171-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Toshima
Price Range: £21 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakura Hotel Toshima
Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing