We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shoe box”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel New Star Ikebukuro
Ranked #35 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We booked on-line through booking.com.
The only advantage of this hotel is that it is close to the station.
Rooms are ultra-small, bathrooms a cubicle where we couldn't stay upright and the beds almost the size of a baby cot.
A 120 cm wide bed is considered a 'normal' double bed! When pointing out that we are two grown up men and that we never ever slept in something that tiny we got 'upgraded' to a room with a 140 cm wide double bed (still quite small). Of course we had to pay for the difference since the room was considered standard superior (those 20 cm difference increased the price of more than 1/3). Receptionist lacks professional skills, his English VERY poor and breakfast average at its best. We have been travelling more than three weeks in Japan and this was the worst experience accommodation-wise.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OnTheRoad150301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel is very close to the Ikebukuro station. The rooms and bathrooms are very tiny. It's pretty clean and the hotel staff is quite nice. Free breakfast is also provided, Western and Japanese style--both are pretty good

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gdomp146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My brother and I stayed here for one night. As my arrival time into Tokyo Narita was quite late in the evening, I wanted a convenient hotel close to a station on the Narita Express route so I could go straight there with no hassle.

This hotel is maybe a 4-5 minute walk from Ikebukuro station. It is quite a lively area (so it does have its seedy parts too) which means there are plenty of places to eat, even till quite late at night.

The hotel room is tiny but having stayed in Tokyo before, this didn't faze me. On the plus side, the attached bathroom came with a proper deep Japanese bath, and the room had free wifi which was handy.

It's nothing fancy but for the price (got a great deal on Rakuten Travel) and location, I wouldn't complain.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank budge185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Great location, but rooms are tiny and beds are even smaller, tall persons and broader persons cannot share the bed or room. Bathroom is also very small. Beds are old. Single rooms are more acceptable. Hotel needs upgrading badly. Inspite of all these, it is still clean, convenient, staff are friendly. Best of all is, it is next to a 24hrs convenient store.

Room Tip: Great for solo travelers or friends who choose to stay single rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MOKKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Not sure if this hotel is under new management or what, but words cannot describe what an awful experience we had here. We were recommended this hotel by someone who had stayed previously. What we found was a far cry from what we were described. This hotel is dirty from top to bottom. There is no excuse for it. More importantly it's unsafe. There is mold growing a foot high in the rooms. We had a very large group (15 people) and so we got put all over the hotel. Almost everyone of our 7 hotel rooms had mold growing in the showers and the walls of the entrance halls. And three of the had mold up the walls next to the beds. there was grime on the walls and doors. Disgusting! I'm attaching photos to this review. Also, on a slightly less gross note, the staff is surly and the common areas, including where breakfast is made in the morning, are also dirty. It's in a nice neighborhood, but the hike to the train is just that and good luck finding the laundry mat if you need it (i think the hid it on purpose).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank eburns7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

As someone already pointed out, it's a no frills hotel. Not to say it's a dump, but it could probably do with a bit of revamp, and it's defence it's a business hotel. Despite this, it's in a great location, only 4 stops to Shinjuku, about 5mins walk from the Ikebukuro station, the staff are all very friendly and helpful whenever possible. They don't a lot of English but it was enough to get by and with my very very limited Japanese, communication wasn't a problem. Would recommend if looking for affordable accommodation or constrained by a budget. It's a good place though, has to be noted.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shylock300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Hotel is located within 10 minutes walking distance from Ikebukuro station west exit. Not too near to all the happenings as most of the activities are located east of Ikebukuro station. I love the free internet access as I'm on a free and easy trip and needs constant access to information on places I like to visit. My room is a bit small, my wife and me placed our 2 large size laggages side by side and it has already taken up most of the spaces, leaving only one chair useable, one of us have to sit on the bed. Overall a no frill hotel though.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sengkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toshima hotels
Ikebukuro
Hotel Star_Plaza Ikebukuro
Hotel Star_Plaza Ikebukuro
#32 of 55 in Toshima
79 reviews
Ikebukuro
Hotel Ohedo
Hotel Ohedo
#36 of 55 in Toshima
47 reviews
Ikebukuro
Hotel Wing International Ikebukuro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro Royal Hotel
Ikebukuro Royal Hotel
#46 of 55 in Toshima
107 reviews
Ikebukuro
Super Hotel JR Ikebukuro-nishiguchi
Ikebukuro
Ark Hotel Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ark Hotel Tokyo Ikebukuro
#25 of 55 in Toshima
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Star Ikebukuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Star Ikebukuro

Address: 2-61-6 Ikebukuro, Toshima 171-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Price Range: £39 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel New Star Ikebukuro 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel New Star Ikebukuro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newstar Ikebukuro Hotel
Hotel New Star Ikebukuro Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing