We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tokyo Ryokan
Nearby Hotels
US$159
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$276
US$178
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East(Taito)(Great Value!)
US$173
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$107
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$321
US$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Via Inn Asakusa(Taito)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan 
Hotel Mystays Ueno Iriyaguchi(Taito)(Great Value!)
US$186
US$115
MYSTAYS Official
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Ueno Hotel(Taito)
US$317
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$435
US$212
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$247
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
67
21
5
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
21
5
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomother guestsginza linekenichihoststatamionsentokyoritualenglishsubwaystationbeddingsightseeingyen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2010

This place was our first place to stay of a couple weeks in Japan. The owners were friendly and were able to check us in straight away. As I am very tall, I had to ask about an extra blanket, the staff were very accommodating and were even sorry they couldn't offer a nice plush doona.

The Ryokan building was nice, and comfortable. You got the feeling that the owners took lots of pride in their place, so that respect was easy to mimic.

It had 3 medium-small rooms and shared bathroom and toilet. This gave the place a feeling of intimacy.


Good little spot.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Muppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2010

I, my wife and 2 young children stayed at this 'Ryokan' for 6nights in early April. We were all warmly greeted by our first names the moment we first walked in the the door by Fusako-san who, together with her husband are just lovely, very helpful down to earth people.
We really enjoyed our stay here and were disappointed that we couldn't stay longer.
The location of Tokyo Ryokan for access to Asakusa is close to perfect, with car parking immediately next to the building for our rental car. It was a bit of a tight squeeze in the room for 2xAdults and 2xyoung children but we were okay. My wife found the futon VERY thin and uncomfortable but myself and kids found them fine. The upstairs toilet flushes VERY loudly so we avoided using it at night so as not to disturb the other guests. Fusako's husband identified a potential problem with my rental car contract and then sorted it all out with the rental car company - outstanding! Our only suggestion/criticism of Tokyo Ryokan is that there should be a hot water kettle/urn down in the checkin area for guests - and also an option of a thicker futon! There are only 3 traditional tatami rooms at Tokyo Ryokan so it's very quiet and we barely saw the other guests. Will definitely 100% stay here again on our next trip to Tokyo!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GenkiSudo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We loved staying at the ryokan due to the great service, the lovely traditional room and the general ambience of the property. The location is great and close to the metro for exploring Tokyo.

The only downside is the traditional sleeping which wasn't the fault of the owners - we knew what we were letting ourselves in for but after seven nights it was certainly nice to revert to a normal bed!

I think this is a great place to stay for a short period to experience a ryokan but be warned for longer stays unless you like hard beds!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

This was the cheapest place we stayed during our two week stay in Japan and one of the best. I kick myself for 'splurging' on places that turned out to be crap after staying here. We stayed only one night before flying home but for the price it is a ridiculously good deal. Very clean, very cool place.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goddessnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We happened to find this lovely location while looking for accomdation in tokyo. At the time this was by far the cheapest option we found for a private room, and the pictures looked promising, we hadnt yet seen the location on trip advisor, but the lonely planet guide we had given it a positive recomendation..

We managed to find our way from tokyo station to the local subway exit. We rang the owner hoping to get some more directions on how to get to the ryokan, to our surprise he said we would come and meet us and walk us back to the location. What awesome service. Along the way he gave us a bit of a tour and pointed out some of the places to eat, shrines to see and in general some directions on how to get around. Once we arrived ( 5 min walk from the subway exit ), we were shown to our room. It was a fairly standard size room for any japanese ryokan, very clean, and calming. The paper window shutters gave it that authentic traditional feel. The bathroom and toilet area was also very clean and private.

We walked around asukusa that night and arrived back after the doors were closed, access was easy via the pin entry, and the area felt very safe to walk around. Our only minor issue would be that around 2am another guest arrived and due to the thin walls was a bit noisy. This however is a minor issue. We never actually saw any of the other guests. There was a maximum of 3 rooms, so small and private.

Unfortunately we could only book the one night, as it was a last minute booking and they were full for the second night.

Overall a very nice ryokan in the heart of asukusa. Excellent price and very clean. Wonderful hosts who were more than happy to provide lots of information and spoke clear fluent english..

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrhaboobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews