We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in Ueno” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno
Ranked #32 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in Ueno”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed three nights when we first arrived in Japan. Easy to get to Ueno station from Narita airport, but a bit tricky to find the hotel (I recommend a taxi; we were recommended that too, but chose to wander about jet-lagged instead!). Once you get there the metro line is close by. Ueno itself in interesting, especially the market, and it's easy to get around Tokyo. Bit of a "Prisoner Cell Block H" feel to the central vestibule area - and watch out that it rains in (I think on purpose). Very acceptable room once you are inside and a nice breakfast in the reception area in the morning (including toasting machines!). Free use of internet cables in your room. If you are travelling around Japan, make use of the cheap, easy and safe luggage transfer system available at the hotels. Saves a lot of hassle.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ag115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    199
    92
    12
    3
See reviews for
44
151
43
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed for five nights in a double room and we thought it was fantastic!

Location: You are two minutes walk from the nearest Tokyo Metro station on the Oedo line. And then about a fifteen to twenty minute walk to the Ueno station which connects you to Narita via the skyliner (44 mins) and the Keisi line (about 90 mins) as well as the Ginza, Hibiya and JR line. These subway lines will take you all over Tokyo to the best locations safely and quickly and at a fairly reasonable price. The location is also great if you want to stay in Ueno as there are plenty of noodle bars and restaurants around the hotel as well as Ueno park and the temple there as well as the zoo and Ameyoko market which has plenty to offer.

Hotel: The hotel is much more of a Western hotel than traditionally Japanese. It is impeccably clean throughout and the staff work exceptionally hard to keep it that way. There is a complimentary breakfast each morning which consists of: salad, soup (varies daily), danishes & toast as well as orange juice and coffee. The hotel also has a laundry facility which is reasonably priced and a few vending machines if you want to eat in your room.

The room: There is complimentary wired internet access in the room as well as a television and a fridge. Our room had a shower & bath and a bidet and was a fairly good size as well. The room although slightly on the small side (though I am told fairly large for Tokyo standards) was nicely decorated. The beds were a little bit harder than we were used to but we have slept like logs the whole time we were here. We went to the front desk to ask for softer pillows and they were provided.

Staff: The staff are very friendly and helpful here. I have not met a staff member who has fluent English but between my broken basic phrases in Japanese and their English I have had no trouble communicating with them and they have always been a pleasure to interact with.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it to family and friends and stay here myself as well. The area is very safe and quiet so you can explore the exciting sights of Tokyo and still get a good nights rest.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SweetHeartScene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Mrs. D/2 and I actually have stayed at this property twice in a six-month span and were very pleased both times. Although it's a 15 minute walk from Ueno station, it's nice being that close to the Keisei Skyliner and a 44 minute ride to Narita.

The hotel itself is pretty basic but clean. We booked an economy twin room because the two beds were slightly larger (at 90cm each) than the double at 140cm. The included breakfast is welcome in a city known for being very expensive. Breads, juices, coffee, tea, garden salad and accoutrements with a great dressing (soy sauce and sesame oil?), pasta salad, hard boiled eggs, and a broth-type soup.

The rooms are on the small size but the bed is slightly elevated to allow for your bags to go underneath. The A/C works perfect and they have even upgraded the remote's operating instructions between our stays. The make good use of the space.

The staff are very welcoming and cordial.

The hotel is in a residential area that's very quiet (and safe) at night. There's a lot more action closer to Ueno station including the Ameyoko market and a great pub (The Warrior Celt!). The hotel is also well situated to Asakusa and Sensojii Temple (probably a 20 minute walk or you can take the Metro).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duhey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

Clean and tidy room. Was here for a holiday trip in Tokyo and found this to be the most affordable hotel. It is a short walking distance to the nearest subway station of Tokyo or if you don't mind walking another 300metres or so, you will reach Ueno station. Along the streets near the hotel, you can find restaurants serving food 24 hours and you don't have to worry about peaceful night sleep, it is very quiet during the night.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexKhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 7 nights in early March 2011. We found it to be excellent value for money, extremely clean, very quiet and would have no hesitation recommending it. The bed linen, including the doona cover, is changed every day. The beds are a bit on the hard side but we still slept well. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. If you want somewhere close to the Yamanote line this is not the place for you as it is about a 10-15 min walk. This didn't bother us as it is in a fairly quiet residential neighbourhood and we felt very safe even late at night. We stayed the first five nights on the 10th floor (non-smoking floor) and kept having that "rolling on a boat feeling" which we put down to jet lag and tiredness. We didn't realise that it was the build up to the earthquake as Japan had already had a few small quakes prior to our arrival. After the big quake hit, that swaying feeling was rather unnerving the higher up you are, so we moved to the 3rd floor (also non-smoking) and it was much better. Unfortunately for us, our holiday ended there as we fled back to the safety of Australia and didn't get to enjoy the remaining 21/2 weeks of our Japan holiday.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
123 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

This was a fantastic hotel in a perfect location. We would highly recommend staying in Ueno to anyone visiting Tokyo. We also spent 1 night in Shinjuku (a free night in a Hilton), but ended up coming back to the Ueno area for dinner. The breakfast provided was substantial and delicious. The only negatives were a very small room (but we expected that) and a relatively hard bed. We would definitely stay here again if we have another opportunity to visit Tokyo.

Sending our love to everyone in Japan right now...

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sommer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

Great location to Japan Railway, subways, restaurants, shops. Hotel staff very nice, room very clean and bathroom was nice. Good breakfast, internet access. Best item - the breakfast breads! Worst item - HARD bed & pillows.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BentonAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
#47 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Hotel
Ueno Hotel
#29 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
#24 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
#20 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Centurion Hotel Ueno
Centurion Hotel Ueno
#52 of 121 in Taito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno

Property: Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno
Address: 2-4-4 Kojima, Taito 111-0056, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontaine Ueno
Fontaine Ueno Hotel
Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing