We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place with Great Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sutton Place Hotel Ueno
Ranked #42 of 122 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Place with Great Price”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Comparing the location and the price, this is really good place to stay.
The staff can speak English. Easy to communicate.
Room is clean. Bed is comfortable.
Free water / ice / green tea. Surely will go back there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natty0914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
サットンプレイスホテル上野, フロント at Sutton Place Hotel Ueno, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you for staying with us.

We are very happy to hear that enjoy for your stay.

We are trying to change a lot of things and it is in the midst of having improved so that better service can be provided.

We hope you will get a chance to visit us again in future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    108
    50
    12
    6
See reviews for
50
72
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I have just encountered the rudest Japanese person I have ever met, and unfortunately he is the concierge of this hotel. Condescending, unhelpful and rude - the exact opposite of what I have come to expect from the wonderful Japanese culture. Perhaps he had bad experiences with other westerners, but that is no excuse for his behavior. I will not be staying here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank GoannaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
サットンプレイスホテル上野, フロント at Sutton Place Hotel Ueno, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Thank you for staing at Sutton Place Hotel Ueno.
We are very sorry to feel unpleasant for our staff.
We have known some of guest mention that reception correspondence is bad.
He is just trying to control to keep clean and tidy for all of guest in our hotel however it dose not become a reason.

we are preparing organization since we provide good service for all of guest.
We hope that you will have chance to visit us again one day.

Thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay here. Room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Amazing bed (very firm), nice bathroom and a fair amount of creature comforts. Friendly staff up front, coffee and tea available all day for free. Incredible value at a great rate!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariparisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
サットンプレイスホテル上野, フロント at Sutton Place Hotel Ueno, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Thank you for staying at Sutton Place Hotel Ueno.
We are very happy to hear that you had nice time at our hotel.

We are trying to change things lot for provide better service for all of guest.

We hope you have chance to visit us again in future.

Thank you for your comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed a couple of nights after arriving in Tokyo and just before heading home.
The hotel is situated a few minutes walk from Ueno station, ueno park and ameyoko.
The hotel offers free croissants in the morning and the staff were extremely helpful and patient (as we struggled a little to communicate). It has free wifi in every room, hot drinks on 2nd floor (and a washing machine/dryer!) 24/7!
The reception being on 3rd is the only thing I can pick on this hotel. The bed was comfortable, bathroom was clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
サットンプレイスホテル上野, フロント at Sutton Place Hotel Ueno, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Thank you for staing at Sutton Place Hotel Ueno.
We are very happy to hear that you had nice time in Tokyo.

We have just started to change things a lot for provide better service to the guest.

We hope that you will have chance to visit us again in future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed in 2014/04/03~05.You have great housekeeping, nice front desk.But I think return key to front desk when we go out, is very inconvenient.Because the front desk at third floor.We have to take elevator twice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonaChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
サットンプレイスホテル上野, フロント at Sutton Place Hotel Ueno, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Thank you for staing with us.
We are very happy to hear that you have nice time at our hotel.

We have known that all of the guest mention that inconvenient to leave room key at Front desk each time when they go out .
However When the key of the room is lost, the exchange cost of a key is obtained. and charge of room key about 50000JPY to 70000JPY.
That is reason for explain to all of guest to leave room key at front desk when go out.

We hope that you will have chance to visit us again future.

Thank you for your comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Our stay could have been very pleasant if not for the old man in the front desk. His eyes are always on our group. Thrice he told us to separate recyclables as if we are ignorant and does not know how to follow instructions. He monitors our movement thru the cctv's situated in every floor and is very particular in the no. of guest in each room. This hotel is highly recommendable for its value, cleanliness, and great location sans the old man.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in higher floors since you will hear the noise from the elevated highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
サットンプレイスホテル上野, フロント at Sutton Place Hotel Ueno, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Thank you for staying with us.

Please accept our apology for causing you such terrible distress.
He is just under control all of guest for stay safly in our Hotel because many traveller from other country to stay with us which is all the guest has different culture.

We hope you will have chance to visit us again in future.

Thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Was greeted with an unfriendly old man who was at the front desk. His English is pretty much rude and hurting. He was very blunt and not smile on his face. We felt like we were entering a hunted hotel similar to those ghost movies. Our stay would be prefect without him attending to us. We particularly skip free light breakfast to avoid seeing him!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rockstones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
サットンプレイスホテル上野, フロント at Sutton Place Hotel Ueno, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Thank you for staying with us.

Please accept my apology for causing you such terrible distress.
He was just all of guest under control for stay safly in our Hotel becuase many traveller from other county staying our Hotel evey time which mean is all of guest has different culture and custom.

All the feedback will be used to improve our services.

Thank you for your comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Sunroute Stellar Ueno
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel New Ueno
Hotel New Ueno
#59 of 122 in Taito
77 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Ueno Touganeya Hotel
#10 of 122 in Taito
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Hotel
Ueno Hotel
#28 of 122 in Taito
212 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Guest1 Uenoekimae
Hotel Guest1 Uenoekimae
#31 of 122 in Taito
87 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ueno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutton Place Hotel Ueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place Hotel Ueno

Property: Sutton Place Hotel Ueno
Address: 7-8-23 Ueno, Taito 110-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 122 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sutton Place Hotel Ueno 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated designers style guest room offers you a comfortable accommodation with many fine amenities.This stylish atmosphere makes you feel like staying in your own private study.Complimentary breakfast 6:00-9:30.Wi-Fi internet access available. We deodorize your room with the ozone air purifier before check-in if advance request is given.We hope you enjoy until check-out time 12:00 noon.*We will count a child as an adult who is over 13 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sutton Place Hotel Ueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Taito
Sutton Place Hotel Ueno Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing