We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different experience, good fun, good idea!”
Review of Hotel New Gyominso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel New Gyominso
Ranked #83 of 120 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Different experience, good fun, good idea!”
Reviewed 23 June 2009

Stayed here for one night, could have stayed here longer. Good value for money, cheapest accommodation in Tokyo. Good location next to subway, and 24 hour check in/check out. Stayed here for the novelty factor, to try an alternative type of accommodation. Enjoyed the experience. Staff, although limited English speaking, were very friendly, helpful, and tried their best to communicate with us. Capsule room surprisingly spacious, and good level of privacy. Very clean accommodation. Just be aware that bathing facilities are communal, so no privacy as in western bathrooms, but all part of trying the japanese experience!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backpacker20082009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    12
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
across the universe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2009

I would recommend staying in this hotel just for the novelty of staying in a capsule. It's one of the few capsule hotels that accepts female travellers. Location is convenient. There's an exit from Asakusa Station that leads directly to the entrance to the capsule hotel (I think it's exit 4, but I may be wrong). It's especially convenient if you're travelling by Keisei line to Narita Airport the next day, as Asakusa station is just one stop away from Ueno station.

We were initially worried about where we would store our belongings. They provided each capsule with a key to a very small locker (enough to hang your coat and maybe squeeze in a small bag). It's more convenient to store your luggage and backpacks in a storeroom in the lobby - the nice staff will direct you to it. It was rather safe - nothing of ours went missing. I slept with my valuable items (money, passport, camera) next to me - didn't worry at all about them getting stolen.

Some people have concerns about capsules being too small and uncomfortable. I was pleasantly surprised - you can sit up with your head not touching the ceiling of the capsule (or maybe I'm just short) - and my mum and I could fit side by side in one capsule (I hung out in her capsule and watched tv before I went back up to mine to sleep). The bed was comfortable and the panel on your right gives you access to the tv and radio channels, as well as an alarm clock.

There is no private shower facility - for those who are concerned about bathing with others. The view at the in-door bath floor (top floor) is amazing though - do check it out.

The only con was that we could hear the snores of somebody down the corridor, and smell the stinky feet of the travellers in the capsules opposite us. Besides that, it was a fun night.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jueying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
japan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2008

Basic capsule--3000 yen is really cheap for Tokyo. A bit worn, but still very clean--feels kind of retro. The location was pretty good for when we left in the morning--a short walk to Sensoji and the old theater district. The location is not so great if you want to party all night in Shibuya/Roppongi/etc.--we missed our last train and the walk from Ueno Station is a long one.

  • Liked — price, cleanliness
  • Disliked — far from nightlife
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank larrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2008

We stayed at the Asakusa Riverside Capsule Hotel for 1 night during our visit to Tokyo and it was an all round great experience.

When you enter you have to pay for your capsule using a vending machine and then take off your shoes and clothes and change into the slippers and pyjamas that are provided. Men and women sleep on different floors with a communal area on the top floor with a tradition Japanese bathhouse and great views of Tokyo.

The location is excellent, on the riverside with a subway station just across the road and aside from the novelty aspect of capsule hotels; this place is also really good value for money for those on a budget in an expensive city like Tokyo.

Both the communal areas and the capsules are very clean and I would most definitely recommend this place to travelers on a budget or someone just wanting to experience the real Tokyo.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemmasnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2008

Stayed here for some couple of days while alone in Tokyo, and I actually really enjoyed it. The hotel has some years on its neck but it is still clean and capsules are spotless. Spending the days wandering through a rainy Tokyo, it was quite cosy entering your private capsule of 1x2x1m and not claustrophobic as one might think. Inside your capsule you have a built-in alarm clock, tv/radio and climate control. You also get a locker located at the same floor, one floor is designated for women, where you can keep your things during the day. But if you have big bags (like me) you need to leave your bags in the reception hall. The price of less than 20 euros/night is very hard to beat and the location is actually quite nice. Close to the Asakusa temple and the river, and with a metro station just outside the door. Internet cafe open 24/7 and lots of local cafes (or Starbucks) for the morningcoffee just around the corner. So if you would like a capsule experience with a retro touch, I do recommend this one!

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank My0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa Town Hotel
Asakusa Town Hotel
#86 of 120 in Taito
42 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Maruchu Classico
Hotel Maruchu Classico
#64 of 120 in Taito
59 reviews
Hotel 3000 Asakusa Honten
#68 of 120 in Taito
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa Central Hotel
Asakusa Central Hotel
#36 of 120 in Taito
146 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Nihonbashi Villa
Ueno, Asakusa
Stayto
Stayto
#27 of 120 in Taito
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Gyominso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Gyominso

Property: Hotel New Gyominso
Address: 2-20-4 Kaminarimon, Taito 111-0034, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 120 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel New Gyominso 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Ctrip TA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel New Gyominso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Gyominso Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing