We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff and location.”
Review of Hotel Yanagibashi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Yanagibashi
Ranked #43 of 122 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed for 9 nights from June 6th to June 14th(except the 8th). The staff is very friendly and accomadating. They'll help you with anything you ask. The owners daughter Tomoko-san speaks excellent english and most of the current staff(i have met) speak it also. It helps knowing some japanese though. The room was simple and affordable, its kept clean. You have a fridge and small bathroom, tv and a little desk. If you are traveling by yourself or in a small group this place is a good stay. The JR subway and Sobu line are very close so its easy to get anywhere from the location. There are many restaurants available and supermarkets to buy food so its covenient especially when your tired after a day out. I would stay here again and recommend it also.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick2k13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

At the beginning, we only planned to stay for 2 nights in this little pretty hotel, but the good price of the room, the practical location of the hotel (1min on foot to the Asakusabashi station) and the friendliness of the staff made us stay twice as long as planned !
I recommend it !!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We spent 10 days (29th May - 7 Jun 2013). Price $A 68 per night - excellent value we thought and it seems others from Trip Advisor agree - the hotel displays a "best value" award from TA in the foyer.
The hotel has 7 floors and about 35 rooms serviced by a compact but reliable elevator. There is an outside staircase also but we never needed to use it. Hotel street frontage is narrow - 5 metres, I measured it. So - you can easily walk straight past it on arrival, particularly in daytime - look for "Hotel Belmont " sign next door.
The rooms are small , so probably not suited to those with 1 or more large suitcases, but are impeccably clean and serviced on a daily basis. Good sized bar fridge and a small hot plate and jug - very useful. Also, desk with drawer and table. Bathroom - shower is inside a bath with high sides - so no water on floor. Body soap and shampoo supplied. Bed - pillows contain either wheat or rice but are functional when you are used to them. Mattress - firm, on the short side - those over 6 feet may extend beyond end of the mattress.
Also, impeccably presented yukatas available on request and changed every day along with the bed linen. Complimentary use of hotel umbrellas, unlimited access to wifi system (in ground floor restaurant), coffee and water. Good maps available free in foyer , particularly of Ueno, Asakusa and Asakusabashi.
Great location - 2 minutes walk from Asakusabashi station - provides access to JR Chuo and Sohbu lines and Asakusa Toei subway line for NARITA express train to airport ( takes 75 minutes Yen 1240 pp). Tip - visit Stationmaster office at subway entry gate ( look for office with " Lost and Found" sign in English) to be shown the correct ticket machine and ticket option.
Eating - supermarket only 3 minutes walk has all you will need and their are plenty of options around Asakusabashi station if you want to eat out in the vicinity of the hotel.
Hotel is privately owned and owners are involved in day to day management of hotel so there is an attention to detail not often found elsewhere. Tomoko-San, owner's daughter , speaks good English and is very helpful with any travel related questions that may arise. Other staff have sufficient English to get the basics across but some basic Japanese can assist in these conversations. Important signage in the hotel is in both Japanese and English.
Hotel is used by some Japanese business men as well as foreign tourists - evidently the locals also find the hotel to be good value.
There is a smoking place at the entrance to the hotel and occasionally there is smoking in the restaurant room but smoking is prohibited in the rooms themselves - this seems to be consistent with other establishments in Tokyo.
If you are a budget conscious traveller or simply want to experience a small Japanese hotel in a typical Tokyo neighbourhood, this may suit you. We will certainly look to stay again when returning to Tokyo.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank niwega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We just stayed here for a night and we're glad we did not stay longer. The hotel room itself was old with little room to maneuver your luggage. The entry way smells of cigarette smoke. Having stayed at clean, well-maintained ryokans before this, we were a little disappointed.

That said, the staff was extremely helpful. They very patiently helped us with a restaurant reservation and directions to the sumo championship and the train to NRT. I would have rated the hotel higher, but the quality of the rooms does make it difficult to do so.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kragca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We currently stayed at Hotel Yanagibashi from the 16/5/13 until the 24/5/13. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Yanagabashi. The hotel was centrally located, a short 2 mins walk from the JR Asakusabashi train station (you will need to exit the station from the South exit, turn right onto the main st, once you reach Lawson, cross the street and take the firth left).
The staff at the hotel were extremely welcoming and accomadating! The room was clean and well presented.
We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Tokyo.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Salima C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Overrated HOSTEL. this is not even a hotel. rooms are very small and old and windows facing a wall. the receptionist not very knowledgable in english.. we booked 3 nights but we have to transfer to another room the next day because they didn't plan the bookings well.

Room Tip: maybe rooms on front side have windows. find a room with a window not facing a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johno88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We had stay in this hotel for 5 day in march 2013 and we felt really welcomed. Staffs are very accommodating and friendly. Location is near to jr asakusabashi line and asakusabashi subway line, around 5 minutes walk only. There are alot restaurants you can choose from around the area and if you are on a budget travel like me, there is lawson and 711 where you find cheap good quality foods.

I would greatly recommend this hotel for it's cheap price, great location and super friendly staffs. I would also like to express my gratitude to the landlady, who even though doesnt know how to communicate in english, have tried her best to make us feel welcomed by greeting us whenever she saw us inside or outside of the hotel. She even gave us a packed of juice drink as a token of appreciation, which we really appreciated so much ^_^

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaSantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
WEB Hotel Tokyo Asakusabashi
Ueno, Asakusa
Stayto
Stayto
#28 of 122 in Taito
607 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Keikyu EX Inn Asakusabashiekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
My Stays Asakusabashi
My Stays Asakusabashi
#12 of 122 in Taito
613 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno First City Hotel
Ueno First City Hotel
#45 of 122 in Taito
108 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yanagibashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yanagibashi

Address: 1-3-12 Yanagibashi, Taito 111-0052, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Taito
Price Range: £46 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Yanagibashi 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Yanagibasi offers affordable accommodation and is centrally & conveniently located with lots of friendly places to visit. The hotel offers private twin and semi-double rooms, as well as shared rooms with great rates, great amenities & great service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Rakuten, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Yanagibashi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yanagibashi Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing