We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot On”
Review of Hotel Yanagibashi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Yanagibashi
Ranked #44 of 125 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Cheap and Cheerful....does what it says on the tin....friendly staff, clean room and right where you want to be in Tokyo

If you want the Ritz this isn't it but if you want affordable and well located then this will do fine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Soik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

Room is small like any other budget stay but sufficient.
Had a air-con double room with water kettle, hair dryer and mini fridge.
Room was clean and cosy, toilet was a bit squeezy for me. I am 5"10 ish, takes a little getting used to for the toilet.
Hotel service was great, the staff speaks english and always ready to assist you.
I left tokyo for kyoto for 2 days and left my main luggage with the hotel's counter. You may consider the same option.

Hotel location was pretty good, 5 minutes from Asakusabashi Station. 1 stop away Akihabara Station. 3 stops from Tokyo Station. Straight JR train (Chuo Local) to Shinjuku. 2 subway stops from Asakusa Station (Sensouji Temple). 3 subway stops from Oshiage Station (SkyTree).

Now the bad, wifi was only available at the lobby. And only 2 small pillows for guests.
Nonetheless it was a good stay!

Note: There's this cheap and yummy beef rice bowl opposite Asakusabashi Station while walking to the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelHolidayJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Last month I spent two weeks here and I can honestly say that I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay during my first trip to Japan. The staff was incredibly friendly from the moment my friend and I arrived. They insisted on us borrowing an umbrella for the rain, lent us a LAN cable for internet access in the room and even gave us a gift when we checked out.

The rooms were always exceptionally clean, despite us frequently not leaving until late in the afternoon. The beds were very comfortable and perfect if you just needed somewhere to pass out after a long day.

The location is perfect for getting around. It's only a short walk to Asakusabashi station and Akihabara station is in walking distance as well. From those two places we were able to get anywhere we needed around Tokyo.

All in all, I'd definitely recommend staying here as the friendly staff, clean rooms and great location make it an amazing find.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This hotel isn't right in the center of everything you would want to see in tokyo, but it is a very simple ride to Narita and once you get a hang of public transport, it's really easy to get to everything you need.

It says "business hotel," and the room that we had (four single beds) looked like a converted office space, but was big by tokyo standards, clean, and had a little fridge, hot shower with great water pressure.

Bt what stands out about the hotel, the reason I know I will stay here again, is the warm and loving reception we received by the ladies who run the place. So sweet, so nice, so kind. There is a basket of umbrella for guest use... One day it was raining and the lady literally ran after us to bring us umbrellas. She brought us some beverages one day for no reason. What a delightful woman, and it was like a mom was taking care of us.

The only down side is that the very strong, reliable Internet does not go post the lobby. But for me, not a problem.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located one street from asakusabashi station which makes it easily accessible to get around Tokyo.

Like any city, all you want from your hotel is a comfortable bed, decent shower, great location and friendly staff and this hotel has all of the above- the price is excellent and me and my husband would definitely stay here again.

It isn't luxurious, so if that's what your after you will need to choose somewhere else but otherwise, I could not fault a thing about this hotel.

Wifi is available 24/7 in the lobby area where there is seating, printer, copier and drink machines.
Rooms have a fridge, shisheido toiletries and hair dryer.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dreammeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Do a little research and you will see there are not many options in this price range in Tokyo. I used this as a one nighter in and one nighter out of Tokyo because it is not a central location to do the city. HY is neither charming nor memorable. It is a little worn around the edges; the rooms are small and a bland combination of beige on beige; the neighborhood uninteresting except for the canal nearby. But then, if you are looking in this price range, none of that matters too much to you, right? So on to the positives: The staff is friendly and competent and speak reasonable English. The rooms are clean. The mattress is comfortable. The shower is hot and strong. The wifi downstairs is decently fast (none in the rooms but there is a LAN connection). The street is nice and quiet at night. There are convenience stores 2 minutes away on foot open late at night and early in the morning. Best of all there is a train station 5 minutes away on foot that is convenient to both airports and to the main Tokyo station. Stylistically and spaciously HY is nothing to crow about- until you have seen the alternatives- then as a value it moves instantly into the Very Good category. I will be staying here again when hopping off to other Japanese cities.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KhunKru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This hotel provides a bargain option for staying in Tokyo. The location is excellent, just a few steps from a subway station on the line assessible to both airport. The hotel is reasonably clean, but really basic. Staff is friendly and helpful. The owner lady was also nice. It's perfect for young people on budget travel, but with family, you may want to pay more to find a more comfortable place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muitou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno First City Hotel
Ueno First City Hotel
#41 of 125 in Taito
112 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
WEB Hotel Tokyo Asakusabashi
Ueno, Asakusa
Stayto
Stayto
#27 of 125 in Taito
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Keikyu EX Inn Asakusabashiekimae
Ueno, Asakusa
My Stays Asakusabashi
My Stays Asakusabashi
#12 of 125 in Taito
622 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
#23 of 125 in Taito
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yanagibashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yanagibashi

Address: 1-3-12 Yanagibashi, Taito 111-0052, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 125 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Price Range: £44 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Yanagibashi 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Yanagibasi offers affordable accommodation and is centrally & conveniently located with lots of friendly places to visit. The hotel offers private twin and semi-double rooms, as well as shared rooms with great rates, great amenities & great service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Yanagibashi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yanagibashi Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing