We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capsule & Sauna Century
Ranked #42 of 69 Speciality lodging in Taito
Reviewed 22 October 2013

It's a tough call on this one, but I'm going to go against the trend and give it a 4/5 overall. The place was a little hard for me to find, but it's actually just a few minutes walk from the JR Ueno station. First off, I paid about $25 USD for the night. When I visited Japan in 2006, it wasn't hard to get a nice, clean, little single room for around the same price, but since then it's gone up a lot. This was my first experience with a "capsule" hotel, and it wasn't bad at all. Shoes are left on the 1st floor, and you take the elevator up to reception. The staff were nice, and a couple of them spoke decent English too. They provide a locker which contains a towel and a robe. The area with the capsules isn't dirty, but I wouldn't eat off the floor. The capsule itself was clean though. They have a nice shower, hot tub thing, and sauna in the basement. They have free tea, water, and recliners in the reception area too. There may be much better capsule places, but it's the only one I've stayed in, and besides being a little run-down in part of it and smelling like old Japanese men, I can't find much to complain about.
***Warning: Only men are allowed though! I did see another capsule place that catered to men and women, but I'm sorry I didn't catch the name.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 自分の希望はできません
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank はじめ5410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank nesterretsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank skymarkfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keiichi0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SENSHU116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ooshimat2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Capsule & Sauna Oriental
Ueno, Asakusa
Capsule & Sauna New century
Ueno, Asakusa
Capsule Net Omotenashi no Yado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel New Tochigiya
Hotel New Tochigiya
#40 of 69 in Taito
50 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
The Nell Ueno Okachimachi
Ueno, Asakusa
Dandy
Dandy
#28 of 69 in Taito
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capsule & Sauna Century? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capsule & Sauna Century

Address: 6-8-1 Ueno, Taito 110-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 69 Speciality lodging in Taito
Price Range: £15 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Capsule & Sauna Century 1.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Rakuten and Ctrip TA so you can book your Capsule & Sauna Century reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capsule & Sauna Century Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing