We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location and friendly service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Keihan Asakusa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Keihan Asakusa
Ranked #18 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice location and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

After dealing with a mixup caused by Expedia, our stay was great. The staff accommodated my party after the mixup. There is wifi throughout the hotel, although we had to be near the door to get it consistently. The rooms were very clean. I loved staying in the Asakusa area and the hotel is right next a metro station (a commuter rail station, but still nice). It's half a mile away from two other metro stations.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank blsnwbrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keihan_Asakusa, front desk at Hotel Keihan Asakusa, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel and leaving your feedback. It is nice to hear that you had a good trip in Japan. We are also very sorry that the wi-fi is not very consistent due to our hotel construction. There are also two computers you can use for free in the lobby.
We hope we have the chance to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    159
    23
    5
    4
See reviews for
45
51
62
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

As always it was me and my wife on our world travel.
We book Keihan Asakusa cause from our research we wanted to stay in Asakusa area of Tokyo and explore the surroundings. We couldn't have chosen a better hotel than this for that budget in this neighborhood. Actually we were pleasantly surprised about the excellent location. It was 2 min walk from the famous Senso-ji temple and the complex surrounding the temple is wonderful. Because of the proximity to the temple we were able to wake up early have a nice breakfast and get to the temple early and beat the crowd and have the beautiful temple to ourselves.
And at night the place becomes lively with small street style bars & restaurant with some awesome Japanese bar food and Sake. They are a little expensive but worth a try once.
The room is Tiny but had all the basic amenities. They even had a Mukti-phone charger in the room which was extremely useful cause our Universal adapter stopped working.
CAUTION: You cannot get a prepaid Sim-Card for any phone in JAPAN. Japan had only pre-installed sim phones from mobile service providers. So your iPhones can only be used on wifi for internet, No calls...unless you can afford to pay the roaming charges of your home country.
So good hotel with excellent location. But its a little far from Asakusa station on the subway line.
Japan is an Awesome place and the best people in the world for respect and discipline. Cheers!

Room Tip: Room on a higher floor with front road facing for a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parag_331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keihan_Asakusa, front desk at Hotel Keihan Asakusa, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
It is such a pleasure that you picked our hotel in your world travel. It is always our aim to give our guests the best service with reasonable price. Because we have such good location, as you mentioned, you can beat the crowd on the walk to Senso-ji Temple in the morning. In my personal opinion, the Senso-ji Temple is more beautiful at night than in the daytime because of the light-up and quietness.
We hope we have the chance to see you when you come to Tokyo next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I was extremely pleased at my stay in Hotel Keihan Asakusa. It's a nicely located hotel with very clean, comfortable rooms and extremely pleasant staff. The hotel's location is perfect for viewing local attractions, is close to a 7-11 and a late-night supermarket, and readily accessible to public transport.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windupgamecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keihan_Asakusa, front desk at Hotel Keihan Asakusa, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, we are very glad you enjoyed staying in our hotel.
Recently, there are many new shops opened, beside sight seeing, you can also get a lot of cheap useful Japanese goods without going to other crowed station.
Hope we will have chance to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Thumbs up: Great location in Asakusa. Very helpful desk staff. Reasonably priced.

Thumbs down: The rooms were small, as one would expect in Tokyo, but the bathroom was very small, just big enough for one person to move around.

Recommendation: Nice hotel in the most "Japanese" of Tokyo neighborhoods. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keihan_Asakusa, フロント at Hotel Keihan Asakusa, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank fou your second compliments.
We will make an effort to become the better hotel.
We look forward to seeing again.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week over the New Year. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of lots of restaurants and market stalls. As it was new year, the stalls were hard to access as there were masses of people visiting the temple. The hotel itself was very clean and the staff tried hard to communicate in English. The rooms are small but its expected in Japan. If you don't smoke, make sure you request a non smoking room. We were first in a smoking room and the smell was horrendous. We had to stay 2 nights before another room became available but the staff were very understanding. A great place to visit :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keihan_Asakusa, フロント at Hotel Keihan Asakusa, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your staying and many nice words.
Did you enjoy Japanese New year?
In japan, people came to temple during New year.
In particular,Senso-ji is most popular temple in Tokyo.
If you come to Tokyo again, please stay our hotel.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Quite a good hotel and really near the Tsukuba train station but beware! There are two other station that is 15 min walk away that has the exact same name "asakusa" and the Tsukuba rail is more expensive and not accessible from major station... So it's a pain to walk back to the hotel in the winter after a long day walking around he city.. But the hotel itself was quite good just the location is average...

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charling C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Asakusa is a great area to stay in which I would definitely recommend: it's local, quaint and quiet with lots of eateries around.

The hotel is perfectly location in the heart of Asakusa and a short walk from the metro.

Room (small double with private bath): a bit tight but clean, fresh and nicely decorated and has all that is necessary (phone and ipad chargers, teapot, fridge, hair dryer). WiFi quality was excellent

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa View Hotel
Asakusa View Hotel
#13 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Premier Asakusa International
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Hokke Club Asakusa
Ueno, Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
#25 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keihan Asakusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keihan Asakusa

Property: Hotel Keihan Asakusa
Address: 2-12-4 Asakusa, Taito 111-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Keihan Asakusa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Keihan Asakusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Keihan Asakusa Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing