We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same great standard, friendly and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi
Ranked #12 of 122 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Same great standard, friendly and helpful staff”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is my second visit to Tokyo and my second visit to the hotel. As per my last review, the hotel staff are helpful and friendly. They spoke English well so there's no problem communicating with them. I arrived at the hotel early (around 2pm) and was given a room since it was ready. I had a package sent to the hotel and the staff helped me sign for it. Great service standard!

Food are aplenty near the hotel with fast food, restaurant and izakaya around. You can walk to Akihabara for even more selections. Two supermarket near the hotel, one operates 24-hour right opposite the side of the road (肉のハナマサ 浅草橋店), the other nearer towards Akihabara (まいばすけっと神田佐久間町店). The hotel provides a printed map (in English and Japanese) of restaurants and shops around the area so pick one up if you're there.

Transportation from and to Narita Airport is a breeze. Just take the Keisei Access Express and if you're on the train towards Haneda Airport, it will stop directly at Asakusabashi. If the train is going towards Ueno, switch train at Aoto. Check the timing for direct train to and from Narita Airport.

Definitely will pick this hotel again the next time I'm here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kaihiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    279
    58
    11
    4
See reviews for
83
249
110
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed at the hotel for just over a week in September 2013. I can't stress enough how convenient it was for us. Rooms are a little small, but honestly that is to be expected with most Tokyo hotels.
Public transit is within walking distance - it is only a few minutes walk to the elevated Asakusabashi station on the JR Sobu Line, with trains usually every 5 minutes. Walk a few more minutes along the train line and you will run into the main street, Edo Dori, where you can pick up one of the subway lines. Accessing some main areas is very convenient - You can reach Akihabara in just one stop on the Sobu Line, where the main Yamanote Line can also be picked up. Travel further on the Sobu Line and you will reach Shinjuku. The Sumo Stadium is one stop in the other direction. On the subway you can reach Asakusa to the north and Shinagawa to the south - making it the ideal place to transfer to the Shinkansen trains to Nagoya, Kyoto, etc.
The biggest plus for us, however, was access to the Lawson convenience store that is open 24 hours. There is a separate entrance just for hotel guests which can be opened by using your room key. If for some reason we needed a quick fixing of food, it was there for us at the Lawson.
If there is only one negative - we were in a room on the north side of the building and we would occasionally hear the faint rumblings of the Sobu Line outside of the walls, but it did not detract our rest or sleep.
We also had excellent staff who understood some English and were happy to point us to places to see around the hotel and help us out with anything that we needed.
Overall I would recommend this hotel. I would strongly consider staying here again on my next trip, especially for the price we paid at the time which was quite reasonable for Tokyo.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Pro: good location, clean, double bed room big enough to have two luggages open, convenience store right next door, free laundry and drying machines.
Con: can hear train arriving/leaving the JR station at night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 120Grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. We came to Tokyo via Shinkansen and left via Haneda so getting here and leaving here was a breeze. Although the location isn't the best, it's far from the worst as it's pretty easy and convenient to transfer to different lines. There also a direct train to Haneda!

The neighborhood is generally nice and quiet with some dining options and quick eats at night. There's a Lawson convenience store right at the lobby, so it doesn't really get more convenient than that! The staff is decent (for Japanese standards) but does their job. The free washing/drying machine is also a huge plus for travelers.

We requested a nonsmoking, high-floored room with Skytree view, and our requests were granted. Our room was on the 13th floor with excellent view of Skytree. The room is very new and pretty spacious for a Japanese semi-double business hotel room; it even has a small couch! As with most Japanese hotels, it's very clean. Bathroom was kind of small but very clean as well. There's no wifi in the room, but we prepared a portable router (usually less than $20), which is very convenient for staying in business hotels in Japan. If you plan on using wifi in the room, just get one of those before the trip!

The only complaint one might have is the noise from the subway/train stations, since they are right next to the hotel, but since we are pretty much knocked out every night, it wasn't a problem for us. Over all, this hotel exceeded our expectations and we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Higher floor and away from the open stairs to avoid train noises!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tuna629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for seven days in my Tokyo trip. Great access to JR line, Sobu subway line, which is direct line to Shinjuku and other stations.

Rather giving the same comments as other guests about the extreme cleanliness, adjacent convenience store, free launderette, I would recommend this hotel for people who have problem with neck pain from sleeping like me.

Many hotels provide very fluffy pillows which, sometimes, make me wake up with pain around neck and shoulder. But this hotel have two types of pillows, first is regular pillow that is the same as most hotels in Japan and the other one which is quite hard and have a shape like a rectangular basin. (I don't know the exact word to call it). I tried this strange shape pillow and found it is wonderful after waking up, no pain, no stiff at all.

This hotel would definitely be my first choice to stay in Tokyo agian!

Pros: location, helpful staff with good use of English, spotlessly clean room, convenient store, free laundry machine,
Cons: room(15sqm) is quite small for 2 people staying more than 5 nights with two big luggage, but it is OK if you manage it well. I think It is impossible to have larger room with this price in Tokyo.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yanin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Nice choice for me! I accommodated myself 3 times at Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi within 2 months. Clean room , friendly staff, quiet surroundings, close to JR and subway, reasonable rates.

I will surely return there!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mishi3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minamiuonuma-shi, Niigata, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2013

It is very well managed hotel with almost all facilities you can expect under the price you are paying. Only one thing missed: wifi in the room, though it is there in the lobby. Liked it, will go again if go to Tokyo....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Ueno, Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
#23 of 122 in Taito
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Ueno, Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Asakusa
#5 of 122 in Taito
796 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi

Property: Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi
Address: 1-5-5 Asakusabashi, Taito 111-0053, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Taito
#5 Best Value Hotel in Taito
#6 Romantic Hotel in Taito
#6 Family Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally located the heart of the city, with easy access to Asakusa, Akihabara, and Ueno. Enjoy the traditional culture of Japan and rub shoulders with people from around the world. Access ・Close to the West exit of Asakusabashi Station on the JR Sobu Line. ・4 minutes' walk from exit A2 of Asakusabashi Station on the Toei Asakusa Line. ・5 minutes' walk from exit C3 of Bakurocho Station on the JR Sobu Main Line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, MYSTAYS HOTEL MANAGEMENT Co., Ltd., HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystays Inn Asakusa-Bashi Hotel Taito
Hotel Mystays Asakusa-Bashi Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing