We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Super Hotel Ueno-Okachimachi
Ranked #57 of 120 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Love the location”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I love the location of this basic hotel. It is on the JR Yamanote line, just a few minutes walk from Okachimachi station. It is also very close to subway station, and the main station at Ueno is also within easy walking distance. We also walked easily to the Keisei Ueno Station, for access to Narita Airport.
There are lots of places to eat around the hotel, so definitely will not go hungry.

The hotel itself is quite new, and the staff seem to be quite pleasant. No problems getting by in English. Room is small, naturally, but just got to make do while in Japan. Free wifi, and also free breakfast. There is not a huge variety with the breakfast - a few breads, packet jam, rice, two hot dishes (grilled fish/ fried chicken/ stirfried veg), raw egg, miso soup, cabbage salad, but certainly enough to fill you up. Can also get free drinks from the machine. When they have grilled fish, you can already smell it while in the lift going down!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pojaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    46
    17
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
11
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The one thing I like best with Super Hotel Ueno-Okachimachi is the location. It is right next to the Nakaokachimachi station (Tokyo Metro), 2 mins walk from Okachimachi station (JR) and maybe 5 mins from Uenookachimachi station (Toei). So basically, it is walking distance from all three major subway systems in Tokyo. Then it's about 15 mins walk from Ueno where one can get the Skyliner to Narita airport. I really have no complaints re. convenience.

The rooms, as one would expect of hotels with such decent price in Tokyo, are pretty small, basically 2 ft walkway around a double bed, plus a table by the window side, plus the equally tiny bathroom, which I imagine will be difficult to use for the taller crowd.

That said, the rooms are very clean and the bed comfortable. One should always remember to grab some of their "alternative" pillows from next to the reception, as the ones in the rooms are really bean bags with huge (and hard) beans inside. Not very comfortable to me.

Anyhow, with the great location, clean room, comfortable bed and budget price, this is my go-to hotel in Tokyo.

Room Tip: Always grab a pillow from next to the reception when you check in - those run out pretty quickly. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deinococc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Super hotel is very clean, neat and comfortable business hotel.By Japanese standards room is a decent size, however as International traveller u feel its a bit small. Best part of super hotel they have big and wide selection of pillows @ lobby level, also they provide nightsuit which is very convinient.However biggest minus point they dont have any english channel even CNN OR BBC for TV Channels, they have Nice HD TV but its not of much use for people who dont speak japanese. They provide decent Breakfast and Front desk is very kind and helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms are same so there is nothing special to choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhavinmfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
167 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

This is mainly one of the two places that I usually stay when I have to work at Okachmachi area. I must say that the staffs are great. They are polite and knowledgeable about many things. They even remember me since I go there often these days. Room is clean with a nice air filter that also works as a humidifier for the dry winter months. Size is small but good enough to open a large suitcase without any hassle unlike other business hotels around the area. Bathroom is tad bit small but once you get use to it, it should be fine. Laundry on premise which is a big plus for me for extended stay. Just one thing that always bothered me was that this place is a little more pricier than other Super Hotel chains.

Room Tip: They only have 1 elevator. Which can mean that morning rush hour can be a hassle if you get a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R6Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

The room is an average Super Hotel size. Bed is the usual Super Hotel comfy one (the pillow could be improved, I think). A desk and chair good enough for writing. Shower room and toilet shiny clean, as usual with Super Hotel chain.

Cons: although I understand that the staffs here (some of them immigrant workers, probably to cut costs) are hard-working and generally nice people, professional training and proper management seems to be lacking. That is not the fault of the staffs, but the top management of this chain who has been crossing the limits of cost-cutting. I hope these people get proper training, enough time to rest, and get paid enough for their work (of which I became increasingly suspicious. Japan is going towards a wrong direction).
Ultimately, it's the people who keep hotels comfortable, not calculators or concepts.
The businessmen whom I shared the elevator said the same thing to his colleague.

Room Tip: There is a connecting room. You should let the staffs know beforehand if you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yobeekool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Location of the hotel is great. Okachimachi JR is only 3min away. So is the subway...nearby got lots of shop. But the JR got stairs only. We stay in room for 2 & 3 ppls. Room for 3 is a bit bigger but the room for 2 is vy small. you have to book the room by no of ppl staying in the room...that include kid. We have a child that is 6yrs, wanted to share room with us but they say cannot. Have to take as 1 ppl. The room come with a double bed and a single on the top. You have to makeup the bedsheet yourself for the top single. Everyday they will change the bedsheet for you so you have to makeup the bedsheet everyday on yr own. i did it for 7 nites...vy troublesome.The staffs there can hardly speak english..only 1 or 2 can speak english. TV program in the room is all in japanese. Breakfast is a simple. not much choices but the bread is nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pen002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Stayed at the Super Hotel Okachimachi during November with spouse and friends. Had a connecting room which end up a good decision because rooms are fairly small so when we opened the connection room doors it feel a little bit bigger. Room very clean and contained all we needed, shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, toothbrush, tea, refrigeration, blow dryer and wired internet connection. No safe in room

Pros:
Great Location
close to both JR Lines and Tokyo Metro Subway Lines
Plenty Places to eat
Ameyoko at door step
lots of shopping
clean
staff great
breakfast was good
being able to pick our pillow was great plus
bed was comfortable
was able to pick 5 toiletry products daily
AM/PM next to hotel
Bank Close by to do foreign exchange

Con:
small room
not enough space for luggage
JR Okachimachi Station closest to hotel did not have any escalator or elevator so had to carry all our baggage down/up several flights of stairs
Not lots of room for luggage or to hang your clothes

overall great stay. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mante-Calee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Super Hotel JR Ueno Iriyaguchi
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
#18 of 120 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
APA Hotel Okachimachi Eki Kita S
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Dormy Inn Ueno Okachimachi
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Ueno, Asakusa
Superhotel Akihabara Suehirocho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super Hotel Ueno-Okachimachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super Hotel Ueno-Okachimachi

Property: Super Hotel Ueno-Okachimachi
Address: 5-23-12 Ueno, Taito 110-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 120 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super Hotel Ueno-Okachimachi 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Super Hotel Ueno-Okachimachi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Hotel Ueno-Okachimachi Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing