We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ueno
Ranked #7 of 155 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I found this to be a great location - within a couple of blocks of Ueno station (Narita Skyliner stops here) and less than a mile from Asakusa. This is a typical little Tokyo room hotel but very clean and well appointed. I think we startled the staff in that we were the only gaijin staying there but we found everyone polite and accomodating. I would definitely stay again - no outside noise heard though we were on a main street, comfortable beds, and lots of breakfast/coffee places to choose in the morning. There is a restaurant in the hotel but it was Italian and, well, we were in Japan not Italy.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mccolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in Tokyo during a stopover from New Zealand back to the UK. It was a good choice of hotel for this purpose, very convenient for visiting a few places in a short space of time because Ueno subway station is right next door. We found it initially a bit difficult to get to on arrival from the Airport, because whilst the subway station is right next door, the mainline Ueno station is at least 10 - 20 minutes walk away - this is because it'll take a while to navigate your way across all the highways which cross in between and finding your way with your luggage across these multiple walkways through the elevators and lifts can be a bit confusing. It's ok once you get the hang of it, but figure at least 20 mins to get from the mainline station to the hotel the first time round! The quickest and easiest, but not the cheapest way from Narita airport to the hotel/Ueno mainline is by the Kesei Skyliner, which got us there in about 45 mins.

The double room wasn't large and the double bed was pushed against the wall, but probably a better size than most in Tokyo. The room was however spotless, the bed extremely comfortable and room well sound-proofed from road noise. Nicely styled too. Found the hotel a great base to explore Ueno Park, Asakusa temple and the Imperial Palace (although not much to see at the Palace unfortunately...). Ueno Park is fantastic, well worth spending some time there.

A point to note about changing money if you're from the UK - they don't change £ at reception, only $ or Euros, so if you arrive at the weekend and there's no banks open, you'll have to use the money exchange in the mainline station, where you won't get the best rate.

The area is safe and the Japanese people are so friendly and polite, we will definitely love to come back for longer next time!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MightyTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Located just opposite Ueno station. Ueno station has the JR Yamanote Line & a few other JR Lines. The Tokyo Metro Hibiya & Ginza Lines also stop at this station. To reach the hotel from the station, use either the Asakusa Exit @ Central Gate or Panda Bridge Exit @ Iriya Gate. For those with luggage, there is an elevator that operates from 7am – 10pm at the bridge. Keisei Ueno station is also within 500m of the hotel.

Ueno Park and the Ameyoko Market are only about 500m from the hotel. Around the hotels are many eateries, one of which, Yoshinoya is open 24 hours. There is also a convenience store nearby.

Stayed in a non-smoking moderate double room. The room size is minimally adequate. Room is clean and furnishing is still new. Room sound proofing is good but rooms facing the expressway maybe a little noisy due to traffic. As other guests have mentioned, room amenities are excellent. The room we stayed in does not have cigarette smoke odour at all unlike some hotels in Japan where even in non-smoking room, there is cigarette smoke odour. Bed is comfy and we had good night sleep.

There is only one English channel on TV which is the BBC World News.

Front office staffs were able to understand English. Check-in and check-out was quite easy and fast. We left our luggage at the hotel when we went to Nagoya for 4 days and there was no charge for it.

There is an Italian Restaurant at the hotel that provides buffet breakfast for ¥1,300 but we didn’t try the breakfast. The restaurant is well patronized during meal time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the expressway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lwk-my
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for only a couple nights before we came home, we absolutely loved this hotel ! We wish we stayed longer, much longer, and we DEFINITELY will stay here next time we come back to Tokyo. ( we must make sure we'll stay longer )
This hotel open only last year, so every part of the hotel is almost bland new. Very fresh feeling and always spotless.
The room is not huge, but much bigger for Tokyo hotel standard. We had a room which has king size bed ( 160cm wide ), actually it worth pay extra for that. The bad was SO comfortable and we had very good night sleep.
Room decor was simple but very modern and tastefull.
Bath room was quite spacious and always sparkling clean.
However, I must mention about amenities. They provide face steamer ,hair straightner, air cleaner, room steamer for no extra cost. That's absolutely fantastic! !
Specially we loved the face steamer. You have spa in your room !
Also they really care about enviroment. In fact, they're already well known as " eco hotel ".
We had such a fantastic stay at Mitsui Garden Hotel Ueno.
Everyone who work there are amazing. Very very friendly and incredibly helpfull.
They don't have business center, but you can hire laptop for only 1000yen for a whole day which is much cheaper than internet cafe / kinko's.
The hotel is situated right next to Tokyo Metro Ueno station ( Hibiya-line ), 5 minutes away from JR Ueno station, 7 minutes to Sky liner for Narita airport.
Ueno is one of the most lively place in Tokyo. You'll have amazing bargain in Ameyoko, There are thousand of rrestaurants, cafe, take away, bar etc. If you fancy posh shopping, you can do it, too.
You can go to Ginza, Shibuya, Harajuku by tube very easily. Asakusa is only 2 stops away.
Highly recommended to everyone who goes to Tokyo.
I bet you'll love this hotel and have a lovely stay as much as we did !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank elstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed here before and I actually like the location even though it is not in Tokyo per se. It is a five to eight minute walk from Ueno Station (use the Asakusa exit and use the overhead pathways in the direction of the SkyTree), is close to Ameyoko (which is definitely worth a visit), and within a short walk of Ueno Par and Ueno Zoo (and the new pandas). Having only opened last year, the rooms are spacious (for a Japanese hotel), modern with good bathrooms. The metro is right next to the hotel so accessibility around Tokyo is not really an issue. Staff were generall helpful. Would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Book online !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TITraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

I have been to Tokyo a number of times, but this is the first time I stayed at this brand new hotel in Ueno. Reasonable price, excellent location - one minute to subway, excellent services, large room size in Tokyo standard, good sound proof. Not hesitate to stay again when revisit in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisbon05_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

The location of the hotel was excellent! Near Ueno station(s) - the JR line, the subway. Easy to get to/from Haneda, and even easier to get to/from Narita. Plenty of places to eat nearby. Ameyoko shopping district is just 5 minutes walk. Ueno train station (JR line and Subway line) are right there.

It is a tad far from Shibuya, Shinkjuku etc, but Ueno park nearby offers great day out - nearby are also Ueno Zoo, Tokyo Museum, Tokyo Art Museum, Western Art Museum.
Hotel is located in a quiet area, away from the hustle and bustle of a city center but offers same conveniences as a city center.

Considering it just opened in October 2010 (stayed in March 2011), we got what we expected. Clean room, clean design with nice details. Housekeeping staff was courteous.

However, staff at counter were way too strict with check in and check out. We arrived at 0600hrs, and requested for an earlier check in - at about 1300hrs, but was request was turned down, without a smile. On day of departure we requested for 1200hrs check out, without a smile the request was turned down and said there will be a charge. Service was not impeccable. As a matter of fact, it can be improved.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
#29 of 155 in Taito
84 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
#12 of 155 in Taito
331 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
APA Hotel Keisei Ueno Ekimae
Ueno, Asakusa
Dormy Inn Ueno Okachimachi
Ueno, Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Asakusa
#4 of 155 in Taito
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsui Garden Hotel Ueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsui Garden Hotel Ueno

Address: 3-19-7 Higashiueno, Taito 110-0015, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Taito
#3 Business Hotel in Taito
#7 Romantic Hotel in Taito
Price Range: £97 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mitsui Garden Hotel Ueno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mitsui Garden Hotel Ueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ueno Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing