We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great convenient location esp for Tokyo University”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu
Ranked #16 of 119 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great convenient location esp for Tokyo University”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Stayed here for a week for work in December. The hotel is small, very convenient, very comfortable and great value. A great choice esp if needing walking access to Tokyo University.

Its location is a v easy 5 minute walk from Ueno station, which has a direct Keisei Skyliner link to Narita airport (40min). Ueno is a major station served by metro Ginza and Hibiya lines, as well as JR and Shinkanzen lines - so extremely well connected to most places in and around Tokyo. On metro can reach Ginza in 15 min and Shibuya in about 30min. Around the station are heaps of small restaurants and stalls. There is quite a lot of nightlife including a night market in the area but can be a little seedy in the alleys. It's generally very safe though esp on the main roads. It is close to many sights including Ueno park, Ueno zoo, Museums and Tokyo university / hospital. (10min).

The hotel itself appears recently renovated. Most rooms face Shinabazu pond which means in addition to great views it's very quiet at night. Rooms are small, as expected, but comfortable and relatively new. In my basic non smoking room there is no wardrobe, only some hooks on the wall to hang your clothes. Bathroom esp the shower is VERY small. In general my room is probably more suited to single occupancy.

Breakfast is traditional with limited western choices. There is no restaurant or meal service outside of breakfast - only a vending machine. There is a cake store adjacent the lobby which is open til 9pm and a cheap Chinese restaurant next door.

Service is generally good although English can be limited. I was disappointed to find that after staying one week, checking out after 11am on my last day still incurs a 1000 yen/hr charge.

Overall, a solid 4 stars for its value, its location adjacent the park and easy access to many sights locally and via PT.

Room Tip: As for non smoking with a view of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ozfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    89
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
36
87
49
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Stayed 5 nights in this small, nice hotel. Location is perfect for tourists, well deserved by subway and trains. From your room you have a view on beautiful Ueno Park across the street. Easy travel from and to Narita airport. The room is clean, though very small, but who cares? You are only here to sleep! They serve continental breakfast as well.
Reception desk team very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLSLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne/Germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

The Coco Grand Ueno is ideally located just a 5 minutes walk from Ueno station (connection for Narita airport via skyliner in 41 minutes), and even closer to the Ueno-Hirokoji station of the Ginza subway line. Nearly all rooms face Ueno park, an oasis in Tokyo's concrete jungle. On weekends it may get a bit louder, because Ueno is a nightlife district (avoid the street behind the hotel if your are not into hostess bars).The rooms are small, but very clean and full of all kind of gadgets, from loading stations for all kind of mobile phones to various electric massage machines. You will be surprised! The staff was very helpful, the breakfast was fine. I booked the room for less than 100 Euro per night including breakfast via a hotel portal, this is a better that excellent value-to-price relation for such a hotel in Toyko.

Room Tip: Be careful to take a non-smoking room, higher floors will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreddyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The room I booked for two people was about 6 ft by 12 ft. very small. But it is located right across the street from the Ueno Park. I was booked for a smoking room for 5 days because the non-smoking were booked, but when I got there, I found out a room was available for 4 days so we switched on our 4th night back to a smoking room. The smoking rooms were very smoky. I'm glad they were able to accommodate us. Breakfast was free, open Japanese buffet-rice, miso, udon, eggs, toast... great variety, even had yummy dessert!! They even gave us access to their spa section. Although the room was small, I liked the service and would stay again-only if there was a non-smoking room available.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ting B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We were staying at the hotel for four nights at found it great. Although the room was a bit small (we had the smallest one) everything else was just excellent including the staff, the room, the sauna department and the breakfast. The park view was a big plus.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Janne_Tampere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I just spent a whole week at this hotel and it was better than I expected!
First, the location is great. Only 5 min walk from the Ueno station (Ginza & Hibiya Tokyo Metro line, JR Yamanote line and Skyliner train to the airport). There is also the Ueno-Okachimachi station for the Toei Oedo line nearby. Before my trip I thought the area would be a bit boring and far from the rest of the town but surprisingly it wasn't. It's actually a good compromise between the busy 'centre' (Roppongi, Shibuya, etc.) and the traditionnal/residential areas like Asakusa & Yanaka. The hotel is surrounded by nice restaurants & shops and has immediate access and view over Ueno park.

The staff is very helpful and friendly. Some of them speak really good English, some of them don't but hey, you're in Japan! When I arrived they gave me a huge bag of 7 beauty packages (1 per day) including facial masks, body polishes, cleansing lotions etc. Although the room was quite small, it was not a problem at all for me because it was well-organised, very cosy and stylish. Same for the bathroom. Nice bed and cushion massage too.

Breakfast buffet was OK. It offers Japanese food mostly so it's perfect if you like to try out local dishes but if you don't they also have cereals, toasts and french pastries though not a lot.

The only 'not so cool' thing was that they still don't have any WiFi access (they only have wired internet in the room) which is a bit of a shame considering it's 2012. There are 2 computers at the reception lobby though.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Leyla Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Design is fantastic
View is unbeatable
Staff is friendly and competent
Location is great - 3 metro lines and the airport train within 5-10 min walk
Really nice, small "spa" with hot tub, Japanese stone sauna and massage chairs
Great in lobby cake shop - yum
Interesting area - many small restaurants, a few shopping mall etc.
Across from a very nice park/lake (with temple)
Lobby tastefully decorated, two computers available for free (free internet in room, but no wifi)
Breakfast is included and has variety in terms of Japanese and western, but limited western choice (I like to try Japanese, so for me it was great).
Staff are the best!

Area behind hotel is a bit red district like, but offers interesting restaurant (but not all will like it, but just stay on the main road then)
No wifi in room

Room Tip: high floor with park view. I had on 9th floor and it was superb, but even lower floors will have vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaneInBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ueno
Ueno, Asakusa
APA Hotel Keisei Ueno Ekimae
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
#18 of 119 in Taito
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Ueno Touganeya Hotel
#10 of 119 in Taito
448 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Dormy Inn Ueno Okachimachi
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu

Property: Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu
Address: 2-12-14 Ueno, Taito 110-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taito
#5 Family Hotel in Taito
#6 Business Hotel in Taito
#8 Romantic Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Rakuten, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing