We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for reasonable price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu
Ranked #18 of 120 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Nagano, Japan
Level Contributor
540 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great hotel for reasonable price.”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This hotel is really great ! The rooms are not big and if you are a couple you need to book the superior room and NOT the regular, since in the regular rooms you will NOT have room for your luggage. So the superior room is not that cheap at around $260-270 a night but the rooms are nice. Still not that big, but very acceptable. Even a big massage chair you will find in the room. The hotel is in an excellent condition and on the 2nd floor you will find the spa public bath. Breakfast is reasonably good and the view from many of the rooms is beautiful, over the Ueno park. It is only about 4-5 minutes walk from teh train station that takes you to the airport and only 7-8 minutes walk from Ueno station. Very good hotel !!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the Ueno park. If you are single, most rooms are the same. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shlomi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    86
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
34
86
49
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aomori, Japan
Level Contributor
311 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Unexpected but enjoyable overnight stay due to Tokyo's Big Snow of Feb 2014. Location is great -- just five minutes from Ueno train stations and across the street from Ueno Park and shopping area. Plenty of good restaurant choices nearby. Room was compact, clean, and comfortable -- as I have come to expect of metro Tokyo value-priced hotels. Public baths were a nice bonus, ditto for sunny view of street and park. Breakfast buffet was typical, offering many choices and overall good quality. My only complaint with this hotel: it has just one elevator, which makes for slow going. Otherwise, it wass a very good value for $110/single.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Andrew1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This hotel is right off of Ueno Park. We got a decent rate, as we were visiting in February; we also managed to score a park-view room. In summer, you would have a lovely view of the lake with all its lotus blooms and I imagine it's quite a bit pricier. As it was, we stayed on the eve of the the biggest snowstorm to hit Tokyo in YEARS and had a nice view of a white-blanketed Ueno!

The lobby is inviting; the staff speaks decent English. This place is lovely, really - the color scheme is reds and browns, which I liked and thought it made the room feel upscale, yet warm. The room was typical Tokyo-small; it was a double. The bath was basically one unit, but ours had a large window in the shower into the room and, thus, you could see out to the park! Typical amenities were included like shampoo, body wash, hair dryer, disposable toothbrushes, razors, and cotton swabs. There was a small refrigerator, tea set, "welcome cookies," cotton kimonos, slippers, and a shoe horn; there was also an electric foot massager and a massage pillow. They also gave me an extra "ladies' bag" of amenities with a hair clip and some beauty things, such as a facial mask.

You must use your key card to go up the elevators, which I liked. There are shared baths you can take advantage of, but we didn't have time. I believe you can also book spa services, but again - I can't review those as we didn't get a chance to use them. The wifi is included and is pretty fast and you can access it from your room. The breakfast buffet is in the basement (it was included in our rate) and it has a lot to choose from, but it is definitely Japanese style so expect a lot of fish and rice. They did have, I think, sausages and baked goods like croissants so you can find something for everyone. They also had desserts for breakfast - mmmm, mmm!

This hotel can be a little tricky to find leaving from Ueno Station (Ueno-hirokoji on the Ginza line is actually the closest Tokyo Metro stop, I think). The area around it has lots of restaurants and nightlife (and things like "hostess bars," as well - so be aware). Quite a few convenience stores, including a Circle K and 7-11 so you can find ATMs that take American cards.

I really liked this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlowens75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
208 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights here in an economy double with en suite bathroom and a good park view. Main reasons were the very close Ueno & Keisei Ueno stations for transport links in town and to the airport, plus the nearby museums and parks. Everything was good and we'd definitely stay there again.

The rooms are small but are ingeniously designed to fit in all you need. Some advice though:
A. If you are at or over 6' (1.83m) and especially if you have a big build, this room is probably not for you except maybe as a single
B. Hard shell suitcases would be difficult to manage in the room. We had backpack holdalls and they were no problem at all
C. The bathroom is very well equipped but tiny. We used the excellent onsen on the 2nd floor for our showers as there's far more space. They have both sit down and stand up showers there. The hotel provides baggy pyjamas and slippers for you to go there comfortably

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarostra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

really good stay at this hotel. lot of furniture to make your stay more confortable and a great view on the ueno park..
as all tokyo's hotel size of bedrooms are limited (small is the standard) but depend as well of the bed size you choose (good to know)
staff is really friendly and speaking english

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nelia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in October. Hotel is very easy to find, right next to Ueno station. Very nice design. We got lovely welcome gifts. Room is very nice, compact though, but very well equipped with massage pillow and foot massage device etc... Toiletries are lovely. Spa is great, not too big, was never crowded. Food was really good too. Very satisfactory!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel has an excellent location next to the Ueno Park, only a short walk from the Ueno train station. The area is quiet during the night. It has a nice, modern style with all the facilities needed (WiFi connection is good). The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is good. They are clean, however, they are very small.

Helpful?
Thank KrOstir
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ueno
Ueno, Asakusa
APA Hotel Keisei Ueno Ekimae
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
#17 of 120 in Taito
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Ueno Touganeya Hotel
#10 of 120 in Taito
444 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Dormy Inn Ueno Okachimachi
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu

Property: Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu
Address: 2-12-14 Ueno, Taito 110-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taito
#5 Family Hotel in Taito
#6 Business Hotel in Taito
#8 Romantic Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing