We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel with a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu
Ranked #16 of 119 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
herts, UK
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel with a Great Location”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here for the first three nights and the last night of our trip to Japan. We found the location to be superb, close to Ueno Station and to the Park. This was particularly nice because we were there for the cherry blossom.
Or economy room was very small, but very well equipped. The view over the Park was superb and the staff were very helpful and efficient and the there was a very good breakfast
I would thoroughly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robprior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    89
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
36
87
49
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Sadly only had one night here. The room was teeny tiny but exquisite. Lovely pajamas provided for the baths, great soaps, very helpful staff and fantastic breakfast!!! For women, the spa is a key card access only area with a great bath, showers, vanity area and relaxation area. But the best bit was the hot stone room - peaceful room to lay on the hot stone floor (extra towel and robe provided) and relax with great scents in the air.
Laundry facilities also on the same floor (soap provided for free). A word of warning about those: they dry super (too) well and shrink clothes. And the timer is off; we used the 100 minute program (wash and dry) and the overall time was over 2.5 hours!!! We were overdue for our checkout, but the staff was kind and were understanding.
The staff overall was outstandingly helpful and courteous.
I'm already hooked on this city and will definitely stay here again on my next visit!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ewados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Couldn't speak highly enough of the staff who were extremely friendly efficient and helpful.Hotel is well situated with subway, JR and Airport trains very close. Across road from Ueno park. Decor was modern and rooms very clean. We managed within our 12 sq metre room, however our traveling companions found themselves in a room with no where to sit as the bed was on the floor which Wasn't evident from any photos on the hotel website. As you would expect in a 12 sq metre room the bathroom was extremely small and uncomfortable. Nowhere to put luggage and no cupboard to hang clothes in. Positive..bed and pillows very comfortable. If we were to return to Japan we probably wouldn't stay in a small room again.

Room Tip: Ensure bed is raised off the ground and don't go for the economy double or twin as it is too sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussies54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stay at this hotel on my first trip to Japan. Location was great just opposing the Ueno Park. I think most room would have the view of the park.
easy access to Ueno and Okachimachi station on JR and Ueno-Hirokoji Station on Subway Ginza line. easy access to Ameyoko shopping area
Lots of amenities and goodies provided. Spa/Onzen on 2nd floor was good. Very comfortable bed. modern decor. comfortable pyjamas provided.
Breakfast buffet was great. tasty food with plenty of quality. Good bakery outlet just next door

Staff are highly friendly. the younger ones can communicate better in English, but the olders would do their best to help even when they can't really communicate.

Downsided are room quite small, bathroom is small, only one person can use at a time. if you're not a smoker, "Non-Smoking room" is a must as we spent half the deodorizer they'd provided to calm down the smell.

Room Tip: Non-smoking room is a must if you can't stand the smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wobbegong_th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Friendly Staffs, Nice Location (near the Ueno Park and 5 minutes walk to the shopping area), the room is small so if you are a couple maybe you can consider to take the superior room, on 2nd floor there is a public spa and very nice to try.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taftazani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagano, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
542 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This hotel is really great ! The rooms are not big and if you are a couple you need to book the superior room and NOT the regular, since in the regular rooms you will NOT have room for your luggage. So the superior room is not that cheap at around $260-270 a night but the rooms are nice. Still not that big, but very acceptable. Even a big massage chair you will find in the room. The hotel is in an excellent condition and on the 2nd floor you will find the spa public bath. Breakfast is reasonably good and the view from many of the rooms is beautiful, over the Ueno park. It is only about 4-5 minutes walk from teh train station that takes you to the airport and only 7-8 minutes walk from Ueno station. Very good hotel !!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the Ueno park. If you are single, most rooms are the same. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shlomi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aomori, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Unexpected but enjoyable overnight stay due to Tokyo's Big Snow of Feb 2014. Location is great -- just five minutes from Ueno train stations and across the street from Ueno Park and shopping area. Plenty of good restaurant choices nearby. Room was compact, clean, and comfortable -- as I have come to expect of metro Tokyo value-priced hotels. Public baths were a nice bonus, ditto for sunny view of street and park. Breakfast buffet was typical, offering many choices and overall good quality. My only complaint with this hotel: it has just one elevator, which makes for slow going. Otherwise, it wass a very good value for $110/single.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Andrew1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ueno
Ueno, Asakusa
APA Hotel Keisei Ueno Ekimae
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
#18 of 119 in Taito
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Ueno Touganeya Hotel
#10 of 119 in Taito
448 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Dormy Inn Ueno Okachimachi
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu

Property: Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu
Address: 2-12-14 Ueno, Taito 110-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taito
#5 Family Hotel in Taito
#6 Business Hotel in Taito
#8 Romantic Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing