We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base for a short stay in Tokyo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu
Ranked #18 of 120 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great base for a short stay in Tokyo”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights as part of our trip to Japan in April 2014. We chose the hotel due to its strong reviews on both trip advisor and booking.com.

We arrived very early to the hotel as our flight landed in the morning, while we weren't able to check in early they did kindly store our luggage.

When we did check in we were on the 6th floor facing Ueno park, which was really nice as you can see a small shrine and the sprawling Tokyo city across the lake.
Like most other visitors we noticed the rooms were small, however the room was very clean and actually made well use of the limited space. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom, while small, was good.
The hotel also gave us a great bad of amenities, so if we had forgotten anything we'd have been well covered.

My only small issue with the room was lack of storage. We had two suitcases and with no storage we had to put them under the desk and simply take out what we needed each day. For only 4 nights I could live with this. We also had this problem in another Japanese hotel so I don’t think it’s a unique situation.

I only popped in to look at the ladies bath, unfortunately I didn’t have the time (nor was I brave enough to go in naked!) but it looked very nice.

We were also thrilled with our breakfast which was a Japanese breakfast buffet, for those wanting a little taste of home there was also freshly made bread and some pastries.

Location wise, it's perfect. Very close to Ueno station (which has a direct train to Narita airport) and two subway lines, also plenty of restaurants close by.

The hotel were also kind enough to store our luggage for 4 nights then we travelled to Kyoto and Hiroshima before one final night at the coco grand before departing.

Overall a great stay, would 100% recommend this to anyone looking for a hotel in Tokyo.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Ueno park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heidijayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    86
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
34
86
49
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Firstly, this hotel is in a great location, right on the JR and Keisei rail lines, and close to three metro lines. There are shops, bars and restaurants all around, and Ueno Park is literally across the street.

The rooms are small, but very well designed, with comfortable beds, massage pillow, foot massage machine, a tiny little fridge and complimentary water/sweets/tea/coffee - typical stuff but nice. Daily cleaning service is excellent and pays great attention to detail. The public sauna in the hotel is also great, with a big massage chair as well as the steam room and hot bath. Male and female bathing areas are separated, as normal in Japan.

Breakfast is mainly Japanese - grilled salmon, pickles, rice, miso soup - and also has western food - cereal, pastries, scrambled eggs.

Overall a really great base from which to explore Tokyo.

Room Tip: Ask for a park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I have been positively surprised by some big rooms during my almost 3-week stay in Japan, but for the funny-named Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu, we experienced the "standard" narrow room with extremely small bathroom. However, the view from the room was great, as we saw Ueno Park (the southern part with the Shinobazu pond) and location was excellent (plenty of restaurants in Ueno, the subway Ueno station 300 m away and especially the Keisei Skyliner Station 200 m away, very convenient to go to Narita Airport (40 mins, but you have to pay the price)). Free nice breakfast included. WiFi in the Room. We have not tried the spa.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SysTooL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts, UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here for the first three nights and the last night of our trip to Japan. We found the location to be superb, close to Ueno Station and to the Park. This was particularly nice because we were there for the cherry blossom.
Or economy room was very small, but very well equipped. The view over the Park was superb and the staff were very helpful and efficient and the there was a very good breakfast
I would thoroughly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robprior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Sadly only had one night here. The room was teeny tiny but exquisite. Lovely pajamas provided for the baths, great soaps, very helpful staff and fantastic breakfast!!! For women, the spa is a key card access only area with a great bath, showers, vanity area and relaxation area. But the best bit was the hot stone room - peaceful room to lay on the hot stone floor (extra towel and robe provided) and relax with great scents in the air.
Laundry facilities also on the same floor (soap provided for free). A word of warning about those: they dry super (too) well and shrink clothes. And the timer is off; we used the 100 minute program (wash and dry) and the overall time was over 2.5 hours!!! We were overdue for our checkout, but the staff was kind and were understanding.
The staff overall was outstandingly helpful and courteous.
I'm already hooked on this city and will definitely stay here again on my next visit!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ewados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Couldn't speak highly enough of the staff who were extremely friendly efficient and helpful.Hotel is well situated with subway, JR and Airport trains very close. Across road from Ueno park. Decor was modern and rooms very clean. We managed within our 12 sq metre room, however our traveling companions found themselves in a room with no where to sit as the bed was on the floor which Wasn't evident from any photos on the hotel website. As you would expect in a 12 sq metre room the bathroom was extremely small and uncomfortable. Nowhere to put luggage and no cupboard to hang clothes in. Positive..bed and pillows very comfortable. If we were to return to Japan we probably wouldn't stay in a small room again.

Room Tip: Ensure bed is raised off the ground and don't go for the economy double or twin as it is too sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussies54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stay at this hotel on my first trip to Japan. Location was great just opposing the Ueno Park. I think most room would have the view of the park.
easy access to Ueno and Okachimachi station on JR and Ueno-Hirokoji Station on Subway Ginza line. easy access to Ameyoko shopping area
Lots of amenities and goodies provided. Spa/Onzen on 2nd floor was good. Very comfortable bed. modern decor. comfortable pyjamas provided.
Breakfast buffet was great. tasty food with plenty of quality. Good bakery outlet just next door

Staff are highly friendly. the younger ones can communicate better in English, but the olders would do their best to help even when they can't really communicate.

Downsided are room quite small, bathroom is small, only one person can use at a time. if you're not a smoker, "Non-Smoking room" is a must as we spent half the deodorizer they'd provided to calm down the smell.

Room Tip: Non-smoking room is a must if you can't stand the smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wobbegong_th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ueno
Ueno, Asakusa
APA Hotel Keisei Ueno Ekimae
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
#17 of 120 in Taito
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Ueno Touganeya Hotel
#10 of 120 in Taito
444 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Dormy Inn Ueno Okachimachi
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu

Property: Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu
Address: 2-12-14 Ueno, Taito 110-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taito
#5 Family Hotel in Taito
#6 Business Hotel in Taito
#8 Romantic Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coco Grand Ueno Shinobazu Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing