We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms small but functional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
APA Hotel Asakusa Kuramae
Ranked #41 of 122 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Farnborough, UK
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Rooms small but functional”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed 4 nights in October, chosen on cost for a business trip accompanied by my wife. I have never experienced such small rooms, about the size of 5-6 double beds including the shower room.

Pros: clean & tidy, comfortable bed, close to 2 subway stations (different lines), breakfast western & Japanese options. Great location for the temple, close to Skytree. On the subway from Haneda airport with no station change.

Cons: rooms too small for two people with two travelling suitcases & two PC cases.

Room Tip: Go high for quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    167
    73
    27
    8
See reviews for
38
80
74
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The good:
Stayed 3 nights, Is in a neighbourhood area away from the main tourist traps, I liked it. Close to subway, direct line to HND ( and I think NRT too ), some great restaurants nearby, staff were friendlier than most hotels I have experienced in Tokyo. Hotel interior was relatively new, great bed, linen, window opens for those who don't like the standard 28C Japanese hotel room temperature LOL, big TV, really BIG, internet

The not so good:
Usual small rooms, very expensive Saturday night $ 210 USD!

Would I stay again:
Definitely, but not on a Saturday night

Room Tip: I stayed on a high floor, was good, make sure your room has a window that opens, the rooms are a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robdubluu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Travelling as a single, this hotel met all requirements - clean, comfortable bed, good hot water, nice deep bath (short in length, though), no residual smell of cigarettes in non-smoking room, not bad breakfast (let the hordes sweep through first - the food is regularly replaced), walking distance to Asakusa with some good restaurants close by, reasonably priced - yep, it ticked all the boxes for me

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyfromNewtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed here for six nights back in June of this year. It was difficult to open my suitcase in the room. yet that's to be expected in any standard Tokyo Hotel. Beds are large, enough for two adults, and they were VERY comfortable. The room was kept very clean and tidy, although they have this water-saving initiative where they'll change the sheets every few days or so in exchange for a free bottle of water. Unless you pay more, there's nothing to see outside of your window. I only had the wall of the building to stare at, yet that is to be expected since I had a discount rate. The hotel itself is fairly new and the lobby looks quite nice.

The location is very convenient given that there are subway stations located within minutes of walking distance. Sanja-Sama (Asakusa Shrine) is also a little more than 10 minutes of walking from the entrance of the hotel. As with most areas of Japan, I felt very safe wandering alone during the night, and there's even a Family Mart right across the street from the Hotel. Even the elevator is more secure as it requires your room card to activate the elevator button.

Leaving from the hotel to the airport is also very convenient. It's a 8 minute walk from the entrance to Asakusa Station, and no transfer is needed since the train continues as the Keisei Narita Sky Access line.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay there and perhaps, if I get the chance, I'll be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

this is a business type hotel, still it's got everything you need. it even has an onsen on the top floor!!! yes the rooms are small, but I reckon most Tokyo hotel rooms will be similar in size and shape if not worse. the breakfast in the morning is pretty good, more than enough choice to fill you up. it even has its own self-serviced laundry! (300 and 100 yen for washing and drying)

location is another positive for this hotel. close to kuramae station and the asakusa (shinsoji temple). the front desk staff could do better to improve on their English, otherwise, not bad at all.
would come back again, unless I can afford the park hyatt.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baxter82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed here for the second time in July. Very spacious rooms for Tokyo. Restaurant downstairs is excellent and great value for unusual Japanese cuisine such as Yuba which is made onsite.
Rooms were modern and the beds were super comfy, like sleeping on a cloud! They also had real pillows ( western pillows) which can be unusual in Tokyo. Only a couple of stops from Ueno.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabella Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

I read some of the reviews that had said that the rooms were small and I was okay with small, but when we checked in I realized how small they were talking about. I didn't have enough room to lay my suitcase flat on the floor... There's a bed, a small desk and an okay sized bathroom and pathways to each, and that's it. No extra corner for storage. Very small!!!!
The service was pretty good and overall it wasn't a bad place to stay. We were close to a big shopping area and subway which was nice but there isn't too much else on that size of town. So anything else you want you need to travel to.
Also, we were told by the hotel that they were close to Narita Airport. However, we as the travels should have looked into it a little more but didn't and hopped in a cab. We paid a cab fare of US$215 just to get to the airport... Not close at all!!! Partly our fault but I wish the staff would have advised us against the taxi and to use the jr line instead. Lesson learned.
Overall, not a bad place to stay if you just want a place to lay your head at night and aren't spending much time in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cgsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
#23 of 122 in Taito
315 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Keihan Asakusa
Hotel Keihan Asakusa
#22 of 122 in Taito
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
#38 of 122 in Taito
65 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Hokke Club Asakusa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APA Hotel Asakusa Kuramae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APA Hotel Asakusa Kuramae

Property: APA Hotel Asakusa Kuramae
Address: 2-4-6 Komagata, Taito 111-0043, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — APA Hotel Asakusa Kuramae 3*
Number of rooms: 301
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rakuten, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your APA Hotel Asakusa Kuramae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
APA Hotel Asakusa Kuramae Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing