We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tokyo’s Richmond paradice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Richmond Hotel Asakusa
Ranked #5 of 120 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tokyo’s Richmond paradice”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The Richmon Hotel is a good place to stay in Tokyo. Their bedrooms were very modern and Japanese hospitality is evidently shown within their staff. The hotel was very homey and very classy at the same time. We would love to stay here again during our future visits.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlazeBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    277
    38
    10
    7
See reviews for
132
178
211
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is a great hotel. Had two rooms to accommdate our family of 2 adults and two children (teenagers). Very tidy clean rooms, small but thats not uncommon in Japan. Staff helpful, service great. I love the location. Its in the street leading up to the Cannon temple grounds and the Nakamise Street shopping market. The area feels really quaint and traditional in a city that is very diverse and very different in other areas of Tokyo. Trains very close by, 3 Asakusa stations in the suburb. Heaps of restaurants in surrounding streets and the italian restaurant in the bottom of the hotel is good too. Breakfast is ok, could have a few more western options, but not bad at all. Highly recommend the Richmond.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SandraS605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

First time to stay in asakusa Tokyo and the Richmond hotel came recommended from a friend and my stay here of two weeks has been brilliant in every way.
Helpfully staff great service with neat clean rooms with all you need,size of rooms is not the biggest but this is Tokyo!!.
Anyone staying in asakusa should check out this hotel,price,location,service and everything on your door step.
Only small thing was a bit of internal noise ...from neighboring rooms etc..
But I've yet to stay in any hotel that doesn't:)

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauljuju1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at Richmond Narita for one night and Rickmond Asakusa for two nights this December (2013); this review refers to the latter location. The hotel has fantastic location - right next to the Sensoji temple. Being nest to a major tempe also keeps certain kind of businesses away that might be concern in a big city. The hotel is at an easy walking distance from several train lines, one of which (Asakusa) provides direct service to / from Narita Airport.

If you have heavy luggage, you are advised to use the Asakusa line, get off at Asakusa station, and use Gate A2B. Then you can avoid stairs altogether and use elevators to move between street and track levels. Even hotel staff, tourism desk, and train staff are not aware of such details, so make a note, this is a result of thorough research!

The hotel is very clean. Being only two years old, everything at Richmond Asakusa is brand new. Service was just right for our taste: competent, courteous, but not overbearing. The restaurant serves a very nice breakfast buffet with Japanese and Western items.

As expected in Tokyo, rooms are small, but well equipped. The bed provided us with one of the best sleeps ever. Not sure if it is a standard feature, but ours came with a refrigerator too (conditioned by experience, we didn't touch it at first fearing it was a "minibar", :) but it was just a refrigerator provided for the customers' convenience.)

All in all, one of the best hotel values we have ever encountered anywhere. We'll definitely stay again and recommend it strongly.

For an unusual touch, we were asked to pay in advance. This must be a new policy, because the printed message on the room cards says to pay when checking out. Maybe they have had guests leave without paying. On the other hand, reservations are secured with a credit card, so something is amiss in the system. We did not regard this as a big deal, but mention it so you'd know and not be surprised. It definitely does not affect the exceptional experience or value the hotel offers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AKTCHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokohama, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
1,177 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

easily found and near the station,seen both sky tree and asakusa temple
from my room ,how wonderful it was!the room was nice and humidifier
for this dry weather in Tokyo.Around the hotel,also found traditional
theter tried my best to enjoy it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginobobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We missed our flight and had to take the next flight which was for 24 hrs later hence missing one night at the hotel. I wrote in explaining the situation asking them if you could cancel one night with cost and they did, understanding the situation and was very nice about it!

We had a 1.5 yr old toddler with us and he was provided with a cot and upon checking in he was given a little toy and a staying set which includes little bedroom slippers, toothbrush, toothpaste, etc. which made us felt so welcome. They also offered me little gifts for the stay like face mask, hair bands which I took a few of them.

At the end of the trip, they were also very helpful and had all the amenities that we required such as a big weighing balance to weight our luggages before we headed to the airport.

The service throughout was perfect and we loved the smiles and kindness in ever aspect.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConstanceSia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

This is a super hotel, western style, only a few hundred meters from the Senso-ji temple. Clean (small but functional) rooms, and great service (you can get help in English). A good breakfast buffet, and at noon and in the evening the restaurant caters to the fascination of the Japanese for Italian food. No non-Japanese TV channels, but so what? Asakusa is a great residential neighborhood with many restaurants. The hotel is a few minutes walk from the Asakusa subway station. At our next stay in Tokyo, this hotel will be at the top of our list.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler_Chuck262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Premier Asakusa International
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa View Hotel
Asakusa View Hotel
#14 of 120 in Taito
654 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,995 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel Asakusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel Asakusa

Property: Richmond Hotel Asakusa
Address: 2-7-10 Asakusa, Taito 111-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Taito
#2 Family Hotel in Taito
#3 Romantic Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Hotel Asakusa 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Agoda, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Priceline and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Richmond Hotel Asakusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Asakusa Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing