We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice owner, excellent value. good location. all of the above”
Review of Ryokan Katsutaro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ryokan Katsutaro
Ranked #63 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We stayed in this place for 3 nights. We felt so homey and treated excellent. The room comes with a very comfortable bed, computer usage inside the room (can you imagine that). also laundry service is free. The owner was really nice and tried to do the best for us. They asked us to write here that tokyo is now safe to visit. I hope this will bring them more business as well.

The location is about 10 minutes walking from ueno station which was fine with us. Walking to ueno garden to view the cherry blossom was also handy.

Will def come back and recommend to people who wants to stay in tokyo in comfortable place and in budget.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank indo_voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2011

First of all: It's completely safe to come to Tokyo. Yes there were a couple of afterquakes (most of which barely noticable), but they've stopped completely now. Do not, I repeat, DO NOT cancel your trip because of the earthquakes. The hostels are in a really tight spot right now because travellers are afraid for nothing. And think of it this way: less tourists, more fun for you!

The service in Ryokan Katsutaro has been by far the friendliest I've ever encountered. For example, because of the cancellations I was the only customer in the whole ryokan, so they let me use their most expensive room for the price of the cheapest one. The room with the bath is a beautiful one: tatami, paper doors, low table and pillows for sitting on. Room is kept very clean, for example they fold the end of the toilet paper in a way that looks really neat.

When you consider that Ueno is a very easy place to reach from Narita airport, Ryokan Katsutaro is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PunCala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

We had a comfortable stay at the Ryokan. The moment we arrived, we were greeted by the manager who was very pleasant making us feel right at home. He gave some quick instructions and a guide map of surrounding areas.

Our room was always kept clean and we had a nice rest after a long day of walking. The cable internet in the room is quite fast too. The room comes with pair Yukata which you can use while inside the Ryokan. As a bonus, they offer free instant coffee & green tea anytime of the day.

Going to Narita Airport is also quite convenient. You can walk for 15 mins or take the nearby bus stop which will bring you to Keisei Ueno Station (for transfer to airport).

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mactripasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

I stayed at Ryokan Katsutaro twice in Jan 2011 and can fully recommend it. It was easy to find and only a 10min walk from Ueno station along a single road. The staff were very pleasant, the rooms were clean and comfortable. The accomodation is pretty standard ryokan and not set at a high level, but was more than you would need.

I will be staying there again on future trips to Tokyo.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

The first and best thing about this place is we booked it once we were already on holiday. We didn't really have the time to do much research or worry about things so we did the whole thing on email. Our flight arrived at Narita Airport at 6am and I optomistically put 9am as our check-in time. When we arrived at 9.30am the guy showed us straight to our room which was all ready for us. After a long flight this was great - we got a few hours sleep before going out to explore.

They clean between 10am and 12am so it's best to be out then but if you can cope with some banging around outside and you remember to put the sign on your door it's fine.

The room was nice - two small sections - one with a TV and low table, the other with the futon bed on the floor. All felt very authentic. The bathroom was clean and with a tiny bath and shower. They provide toiletries, clean towels and clean sheets every day, plus a kimono and slippers if you want them.

The walls aren't thick and out neighbours decided a baby would enjoy a stay there but we were too tired to be kept up.

It is a 10min walk from Ueno Keisei Station but only 5 from Nezu on a different line. The owner gave us a really useful map of the local area pointing out the places we could get food, plus the area around Ueno station is full of restaurants.

Didn't see much of the staff but the lady gave us a souviner fridge maget when we left which was nice.

Free wifi was good and there's a PC in the entrance and an english language newspaper every day.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cheyrou23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Actually the worst I had during all my stay in Japan. But for one night stay it was ok.
The positives are: it's only 15 minutes walk from Kaisei Ueno station, from where you have trains to Narita airport, free internet, free coffee and tea, cheap bikes to rent. Nevertheless, the place is a bit old, toilet is upstairs..(my room was a single downstairs) and first of all I did not have the nice attitude from landlords I used to have while in Japan.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ewcyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Family of 5 - 11 yr old twins and an 8 yr old - all in one room. Somehow it just worked! This is Japan and small spaces are common so this room was not that large but average. It was spotless and incredibly quiet so sleeping was easy. We had our own bathroom but also used the common one at times - both clean and quite roomy!
Easy 10 min walk from Ueno - trust me about this, we had the kids walking home after a full day out on the town and we always made it! Ueno park nearby is a great space to wander in. Heaps of food options if you head to Nezu, as well as local supermarkets etc.
Arriving in TOkyo airport you can catch the Kesei liner to Ueno and then walk to here (we did it along with our roll along bags no problem). We arrived early and they helpfully allowed us to checkin early (they were still making the beds!).
We will be back and we will stay here again!
PS quite thick futons here compared to other places we stayed so another good thing!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kids_in_Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Annex Katsutaro
Annex Katsutaro
#21 of 123 in Taito
334 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Graphy Nezu
Hotel Graphy Nezu
#7 of 123 in Taito
476 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa Shigetsu
Asakusa Shigetsu
#46 of 123 in Taito
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
The Edo Sakura
The Edo Sakura
#5 of 123 in Taito
309 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Andon Ryokan
Andon Ryokan
#9 of 123 in Taito
345 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Sakura Ryokan
Sakura Ryokan
#81 of 123 in Taito
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Katsutaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Katsutaro

Address: 4-16-8 Ikenohata, Taito 110-0008, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
Price Range: £51 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ryokan Katsutaro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ryokan Katsutaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Katsutaro Hotel Taito
Ryokan Katsutaro Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing