We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so bad, but..”
Review of Ryokan Katsutaro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ryokan Katsutaro
Ranked #61 of 120 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“not so bad, but..”
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Actually the worst I had during all my stay in Japan. But for one night stay it was ok.
The positives are: it's only 15 minutes walk from Kaisei Ueno station, from where you have trains to Narita airport, free internet, free coffee and tea, cheap bikes to rent. Nevertheless, the place is a bit old, toilet is upstairs..(my room was a single downstairs) and first of all I did not have the nice attitude from landlords I used to have while in Japan.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ewcyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    54
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
42
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Family of 5 - 11 yr old twins and an 8 yr old - all in one room. Somehow it just worked! This is Japan and small spaces are common so this room was not that large but average. It was spotless and incredibly quiet so sleeping was easy. We had our own bathroom but also used the common one at times - both clean and quite roomy!
Easy 10 min walk from Ueno - trust me about this, we had the kids walking home after a full day out on the town and we always made it! Ueno park nearby is a great space to wander in. Heaps of food options if you head to Nezu, as well as local supermarkets etc.
Arriving in TOkyo airport you can catch the Kesei liner to Ueno and then walk to here (we did it along with our roll along bags no problem). We arrived early and they helpfully allowed us to checkin early (they were still making the beds!).
We will be back and we will stay here again!
PS quite thick futons here compared to other places we stayed so another good thing!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kids_in_Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulogne
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2010

My wife and i spent 2 weeks in this ryokan, we had a typical japanese style room with futons and tatamis, it was very comfortable. The ryokan is located in a quiet place, which is good because you can take a rest after spending the whole day in the noisy Tokyo. There's a free internet access with 2 computers and you can also connect through wifi from your room if you bring your own laptop.
Being close to the Ueno station has proven to be convenient, since you can get easily to the most popular places from there (Shibuya, Roppongi, Shinjuku, Asakusa...).
We definitely recommend this ryokan.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramasuten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We stayed 5 nights and had a great time...
- two tatami rooms divided by a sliding door made sleeping with small children easier (day & night!)
- great access to Ueno Park, Ueno Zoo, National Childrens' Library, National Museum
- nearby stations connecting to Tokyo train network, including Narita Airport (Keisei Line)
- easy bus trip to Asakusa
- free, unlimited internet access was great - uploaded our photos to Flickr!!
- lots of reasonably-priced restaurants nearby (incl. indian, chinese, italian, french, korean), as well as supermarket, bakery and fruit shops
Would suggest walking from Nezu Station, rather than Ueno Station, if you have lots of luggage (there is a bus from Ueno Station).
Quite steep internal steps (a bit exciting with luggage and an active 4 year old!)
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmxlalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Qld
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2009

We stayed here for a total of 8 nights (went to Kyoto in the middle) for a family holiday. We were met at the door by the mother who motioned to us to take off our shoes and put on some slippers which you take off when you enter your room, wearing slippers or bare feet on the tatami mats. The stairs are very narrow and steep, fun for the kids. Downstairs has a small entry area with shoe racks, a table and tea making facilities, two computers for guest use and many guide books and some novels obviously left by previous visitors, as well as information about local bars and restaurants and day trips. There is a bowl of lollies (kids loved this) and a great map of Ueno - very useful for getting around. Nezu station is the closest subway, but easy walk along the street from Kesei Ueno skyliner from Narita. Our room was large, and although I had hoped for a room with rice paper screen, we had room 1 - no screen, so we were in one big sleeping / living area. There was a clothes rack with lots of coathangers and peg rack for washing. Upstairs there was a washing machine and dryer - 300yen per wash, dryer free, and a sink and a fridge where you could leave your food and drinks. The owners were great - he even dropped us back to the station on our way home and they stored our luggage for us while we spent two nights in Kyoto. They gave us pins and magnets for the kids and were very friendly and nice, without being in your face all the time. Be aware that the password for late entry (after 11pm) doesn't seem to change - a good thing as we were caught out after being at Disneyland too late! Also, the walk from Ueno can feel long (although it is lovely walking past the zoo) when feet are tired, the cabs are all only around 640 or 710Y - good value for four tired people! I recommend this for an easy taste of Japanese ryokan. It is not fancy but clean and friendly and quiet neighborhood with a convenience store across the road. It was good to be able to get a room for four which allowed our budget to stretch in Japan.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bristraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Labuan Island, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

I travelled with 2 friends, 3 girls.

It is a bit of walking from the Metro station. We arrived Tokyo at night, and it took us nearly 20 minutes to walk there because we were a bit tired and did not exactly know if we were on the correct way walking on the street at about 10pm.

The room that we stayed was good. Toilet was clean, and everything was in order.

We can actually walk to the station in 10 to 12 minutes, just need to walk through the park, which we found out only after the 3rd day!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksukian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2009

We stayed at Katsutaro after spending 2 nights at Sawanoya Ryokan, which may be the reason for my high standards. Sawanoya was full on our 3rd night so we headed to Katsutaro and were really disappointed. First of all, you should go ahead and book a room at Sawanoya immediately, it is amazing and such a incredible deal. Katsitaro is about US$10 cheaper a night for 2 people and a world of difference below Sawanoya. It seemed very clean here but the toilet room wreaked of urine and the walls are partitions put up to make separate rooms and are as thin as rice paper. The internet service is good, which is the only thing better than Sawanoya. It is also located pretty far from a metro station. The beds are pretty comfortable though.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank regangage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Annex Katsutaro
Annex Katsutaro
#21 of 120 in Taito
330 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Andon Ryokan
Andon Ryokan
#9 of 120 in Taito
339 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ryokan Kamogawa
Ryokan Kamogawa
#28 of 120 in Taito
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Graphy Nezu
Hotel Graphy Nezu
#7 of 120 in Taito
454 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa Shigetsu
Asakusa Shigetsu
#29 of 120 in Taito
242 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso
Asakusa Ryokan Toukaiso
#22 of 120 in Taito
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Katsutaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Katsutaro

Property: Ryokan Katsutaro
Address: 4-16-8 Ikenohata, Taito 110-0008, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ryokan Katsutaro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ryokan Katsutaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Katsutaro Hotel Taito
Ryokan Katsutaro Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing