We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home...safe, cozy, savings, comfortable, convenient.”
Review of Ryokan Sawanoya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taito
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ryokan Sawanoya
Ranked #1 of 120 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
dbento
1 review
“A home away from home...safe, cozy, savings, comfortable, convenient.”
Reviewed 12 November 2009

I stayed with my teenage daughter at Ryokan Sawanoya for 2 weeks. Such a safe, quaint friendly neighborhood. The in-keeper, Mr. Sawanoya is super nice and most helpful on giving you valuable tips on travelling in Tokyo. His wife, Mrs. Sawanoya is more business-like and she will try to help you too. A very nice family run inn. I miss being there very much. The neighborhood is so safe and I preferred walking through the back-alleys at night than the main street. I definitely will return again. The train & subway system is so awesome that we saw almost ALL of Tokyo while staying at this conveniently centrally located inn. I was a first time visitor and pad $400 for a round-trip cab ride to & from the airport. It was well worth it. When I return the getting there by subway/train will be a sinch!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    83
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
110
221
91
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Stayed at Ryokan Sawanoya for two nights before our tour of Japan. What a tremendous experience. The hosts were so gracious, friendly and the ryokan was so very clean. We loved it and wouldn't hesitate staying there again. Neighborhood is quiet away from hustle and bustle of busy night life but close enough to subway to get to busy spots. Lots of convenient shops, temples, restaurants near ryokan. Onsen was interesting experience - clean, hot (careful about going in full body, you'll need to ease in in stages). It was so relaxing after a long day walking around the City. Good free internet service as well. Everyone was quiet, friendly.

You get a good sense of neighborhood life in Tokyo with this location. Not just a hotel on a strip. Always felt safe outside even late at night.

PS: Buy the owner's book on his life as a ryokan owner - a good read for the train rides while in Japan.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelmeadCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We spent, in total, about 5 nights at the Sawanoya. It is excellent value. The proprietor, Sawa-san, and his family are wonderful - extremely helpful and pleasant to deal with. They always knew the best way to get to wherever you wanted to go. The room was clean and spacious. There is free (wired) Internet available in the rooms and a computer with free Internet access in the dining area. The Japanese hot bath is very popular. We did not eat breakfast in the dining area. There was a refrigerator in our room, which was terrific. The air conditioning worked very well (which is essential when you're in Japan in July/August!). There are laundry facilities on the 3rd floor (coin-operated); laundry detergent is provided. The ryokan is in a quiet residential neighborhood - grocery store, restaurants, and the subway station all within a 5-10 minute walk.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippinfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

Traveled with my wife, son 12 and daughter 9 and their grandmother (who is Japanese). The family that owns and runs Sawanoya are dedicated to showing foreign visitors what staying at a Japanese Inn is like in a way that is personal, informative and unintimidating. WE met families from Australia, the US and France the three nights we stayed here. They are extremely helpful in giving advice on places to eat as well as how to navigate the neighborhood. They ware stocked with a vast array of broushures and maps of all of tokyos major areas. The rooms were small and simple, but comfortable. The shared toilet facilities were spotless. The shared Japanese baths were wonderful - my mom couldn't get enough of them. The only negative was that the public internet access was very slow - but this is very minor when compared to rest of our outstanding experience here. BTW, If you stay here be sure to buy the book they sell telling the story of the inn and inkeeper. It is a most amusing read!

Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GSRDPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2009

Sawanoya is such an incredible place. The stars are aligned for Sawanoya - it is in the most beautiful neighborhood, close to the metro, inexpensive, completely authentic and the staff is super sweet. The best thing about this place is bar far the traditional japanese ofaru (baths.) We had to leave on our third day and stay in Katsutaro Ryokan because Sawanoya was full and we realized just how lucky were were to stay in Sawanoya. Seriously, this is one of the best places I have ever stayed. It is also really great for couples. The only things that I didnt like were the internet is really slow and our room had a strong smell of green tea, but these are so minor.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regangage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights in a single room with Japanese-style bed. The room had it's own sink but toilet and shower/bath were shared with other guests. The Japanese-style bath was rather popular when I was there so had to wait my turn! Room was very clean, staff incredibly helpful and friendly, and I enjoyed the scrambled eggs for breakfast. There are 2 computers in the lobby with internet access. Located in a quiet residential area, although as I had a rail pass and was using the JR Yamanote line it was a 20min walk to JR Ueno station. However, this was my choice as there is also a subway station 5-10mins walk away from the ryokan! Overall would recommend this ryokan.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

We had an interesting stay at this ryokan.Although the building is old and a bit rickety it does have alot of charm.The rooms were a bit draughty although there was an electric heater.The bedding/mats were adequate. The area has good transport links and is walking distance to a famous temple.We only stayed 2 nights then moved to a more comfortable hostel.I think you have to spend a little more to get a comfy ryokan experience.But I was glad of the experience!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomd25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,768 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Sawanoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Sawanoya

Property: Ryokan Sawanoya
Address: 2-3-11 Yanaka, Taito 110-0001, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Ryokan Sawanoya Hotel Taito
Ryokan Sawanoya Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing