We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hotel with perfect Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Ranked #3 of 120 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
380 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Modern Hotel with perfect Service”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with the level of service at the Gate Hotel Kaminarimon. The staff is very friendly and the level of service is great. The hotel is located in Asakusa district, close to many sights, like Kaminarimon, SkyTree, etc. The hotel is just 3 minutes walk from the metro station " Asakusa" which is on a Ginza line which makes it very easy and convenient to navigate in the city. There are a lot of restaurants around and by the Gate there is a souvenir market.
Now more about hotel. The rooms are great and they have a modern design. The bathroom is great. The lobby of the hotel is fantastic ,it's located on the top floor and offers a great skyline view on Tokyo. The restaurant is also good, they have a very good breakfast. Myabe it's not the breakfast we are used to, but everything is extremely deliciouse, so tht's great start of the day to have a breakfast on a top of the hotel and enjoy the panoramic view. The restaurnat is perfect for dinner as well, and they have a great life music ( don't worry, just piano and a singer).
We were extremely pleased with the Gate Hotel nd will definetely recommend it to both business travellers and tourists.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flower53_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ゲートホテル雷門, マネージャー at THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us at THE GATE HOTEL KAMINARIMON by HULIC.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Asakusa.

Thank you for taking the time to write your various comments. As you mentioned, We are conveniently located near the Asaksua station, and center of the Asakusa city. You can directly visit to Asaksua from Narita airport, Haneda airport and even Ueno station. Asakusa ,there are many interesting, unique and historical areas. We would like to intorduce informations are not much shown on guide books as Asakusa concierge.

Please drop by our hotel again when you visit Tokyo. We look foward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    344
    49
    8
    9
See reviews for
393
385
118
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
182 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This is an excellent hotel, one of the best in Tokyo. Great location, close to Asakusa Subway, train station from Haneda Airport, and Tobu Train Station. Next to convenient stores, Starbucks, shopping streets, souvenir shops and many famous restaurants. Opposite Asakusa Temple and Sensoji Temple, Room size is very large compared to the average Japanese guest rooms. I stayed in the Scenic Room (no 904), marvellous view, very spacious, very well-equipped, and comfortable indeed! Staff are very friendly, service-minded, and helpful, esp at the front desk. I would like to highly recommend this hotel to all travelers and will definitely stay there again whenever I go back to Tokyo.

Room Tip: If you have enough budget or want to reward yourself once in a blue moon, pay a little more to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tote919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel just across the road from the Thunder Gate. The service is excellent and the breakfast very good. The hotel has an amazing roof terrace with outdoor heaters and a small bar. This is only open to hotel residents so doesn't get too crowded. if it is chilly the staff provide blankets to keep you warm whilst you admire the view of the Skytree.
In a vibrant area of Tokyo with lots of interesting shops and restaurants. Also very convenient for the metro and river cruises. The rooms are slightly small with very little space between the end of the bed and the wall. However the bathroom was excellent and had a bath with a view.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyingscot6458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ゲートホテル雷門, マネージャー at THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us at THE GATE HOTEL KAMINARIMON by HULIC.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Asakusa.

A fresh breeze started to blow in the roof terrace and we are ready to welcome early summer now.
Please come by our hotel again and have a special time with a cup of coffee in the splendid view of Asakusa.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This a great hotel. The rooms have a nice decor. My favorite part was the rain shower head. The people at the front desk are really helpful. There's a convenient grocery store on the first floor and a 7/11 just one block away. The subway is also just one block away. Great location and great view from the lobby and rooftop bar!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayesha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ゲートホテル雷門, マネージャー at THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Our sincere thanks to you for staying with us at THE GATE HOTEL KAMINARIMON by HULIC and for taking the time to write your review.
We are happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us.
The groccery store on the 1st floor is very convenient and may be interesting with many Japanese food and goods.

Please drop by our hotel again when you visit Tokyo.
We look foward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2013

the gate hotel was brand new, very comfortable and pleasant. the room and bathroom had a great layout. the breakfast was good and abundant and the servers were very coordial. the location is easy in relation to the subway -across the street and at the end of the ginza line. there is plenty to see, eat and explore within walking distance too.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galia-14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ゲートホテル雷門, マネージャー at THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us at THE GATE HOTEL KAMINARIMON by HULIC.
We hope you had a memorable time in Asakusa.
Please come by our hotel again. All of us are so happy to help you enjoy Asakusa very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

My family and I just returned from a one week stay at the Gate. This is a terrific new hotel with a helpful english-speaking manager, a beautiful rooftop lobby, terrace and restaurant, and a nice staff. The location is perfect, in historic Asakusa, with excellent restaurants and shopping, and transit close by. Highly recommended...

Room Tip: The rooms facing Tokyo Skytree have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandv10011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ゲートホテル雷門, マネージャー at THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us at THE GATE HOTEL KAMINARIMON by HULIC.
We hope you and your family had a comfortable and enjoyable time in Tokyo.
Our hotel had just opened in August last year. We are delighted to hear that you liked our hotel from the location, restaurant to staffs.
We look foward to seeing you again in Asakusa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Gate Hotel Kaminarimon for one night, and we were both very impressed with the room, the amenities, the service, the food, and the amazing views.

This hotel seems to have been built and designed by people who care about what they are doing. Everything has thought behind it, from the 13th-floor lobby with floor-to-ceiling windows showing off Asakusa and Skytree, to the magnificent "rain dance" shower.

I recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Tokyo for business or pleasure, and I recommend the bar/restaurant for anyone wanting a great backdrop for a date or special occasion. My girlfriend loved the creme brulee, and she can be a bit of a dessert-snob if things are not done right.

Room Tip: Our 9th-floor room had a good view of Skytree, though I think we would have been just as happy on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyleazabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ゲートホテル雷門, マネージャー at THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us at THE GATE HOTEL KAMINARIMON by HULIC.
We are so happy to hear that you and your girlfriend had a sweet and memorable time at our hotel and are very honored to have received such an almost undue amount of compliments from you. We would like to continue to offer a comfortbale and special time.

If you have a chance to come to Asakusa, please drop in on us anytime again.
We look foward to welcoming you back to our hotel in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Premier Asakusa International
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 110 in Minato
3,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,983 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Richmond hotel Asakusa
Richmond hotel Asakusa
#5 of 120 in Taito
782 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa View Hotel
Asakusa View Hotel
#14 of 120 in Taito
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC

Property: THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Address: 2-16-11 Kaminarimon, Taito 111-0034, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Taito
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taito
#2 Business Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon By HULIC Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing