We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“high expectations..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Ranked #2 of 125 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Found the girl that did our check-in (Yuki) extremely rude. Room is nice - hope things improve fromhere. Other than an unfortunate first imoression, the lobby is breathtaking and the room is extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

593 - 599 of 1,285 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed for five nights in a Hollywood twin room (two king singles made up separately but pushed together.) The room was stylish and comfortable with some thoughtful touches such as both wooden and padded coat hangers and nifty 'freshly brewed' coffee bags. The bathroom was also a good size (for Japan) with a useful selection of amenities. Asakusa is a great area to stay in, plenty to see with a huge variety of restaurants, and the hotel is very close to the station and easy to find. We had breakfast included in our room rate and it was a real highlight every morning with exceptional service and a constant supply of fresh hand-squeezed orange juice. For a treat I would also recommend a drink in the guest bar one night, just add it to your room bill and you won't notice the cost!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 36views
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Gate has everything you could want in a hotel: the rooms are immaculate and of a reasonable size, the views are incredible, the staff couldn't be more helpful, and it's right next to both a metro station and the most fantastic area to get food and drink. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wappingfoodie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We sadly left The Gate this morning where we have spent the last four nights. We were on the 12th floor and had amazing views over the city. Our room was spacious and immaculately clean. There was a fridge, kettle and coffee maker in our room.The staff were incredibly helpful and there was not a problem in transferring our luggage for us to Kyoto at a cost of approx £12.
Breakfast was buffet style with a cooked choice of eggs Benedict or scrambled .
The hotel is ideally placed for the metro station, a river cruise and a visit to the temple area.

Room Tip: The higher the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrishYorkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is the first time I felt compelled to submit a review. This is an amazing place in a great location especially for foreigners. It was also hard to find a place for more than 2 people, and we had our 10 year old. Their triple is an incredible value adding an American twin to their two larger twin beds. We could have potentially squeezed onto the two larger twins. You sacrifice room floor space for the extra bed though so that's why you could consider just the two oversized twins. The bathroom was big and very clean.

The restaurant is open 24 hours which is particularly helpful for jet lagged travelers. Great location and views, and we got anywhere else we wanted with subway as well as to airport easily.

Most of all, I have to thank the staff (thanks, Erika!) who found and mailed a well-loved stuffed animal to us with cute follow up emails and a final note in his package, "I'm home." How can you beat that service?

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AliceY33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

The gate hotel
For many years I have stayed in Ginza and at a hotel I have fallen out of love with. The trouble with Tokyo is its so huge and slightly intimidating its tempting to just stay in the same place over and over because it's at least familiar and you know how to get from A to B - so booking this hotel was a risk.

The area is actually fantastic. Its full of authentic restaurants and bars and the hotel is almost opposite one of the main tourist attractions in Tokyo. The Kaminarimon Gate and Senso-ji temple. This does mean it also has a mix of touristy places but it's all fun, fab, interesting things that make you smile.

The hotel itself is new, has a slightly incongruous entrance on the ground floor with a lift that takes you to the 10th floor to check in. The lobby has a mouth droppingly awesome view. If you can get over the impressive chandelier in the lobby itself you have an uninterrupted view of the Sky Tree tower and the Asahi HQ. Look the other way and you get a birds eye view of the nearby temples.

Next to the reception desk (which is superbly staffed by lovely people with excellent English) is a restaurant/bar where breakfast, lunch and dinner is available plus 24hr food should you need it. There is also an outside terrace with tables for the summer.

Head up a few more floors and there's a small but perfect bar with the same amazing views but only space for about 10 at the bar. You feel like you're in a New York speakeasy but it annoyingly closes at midnight. Outside is an even large terrace with chairs for the summer months.

The rooms themselves are also really spacious, modern, non smoky and with huge bathrooms. I had a bath tub and a walk in shower separate to my toilet and sink. All of this is very unusual for Japanese hotels.

I can't recommend this hotel enough. The staff really were fabulous with a. Few annoying issue I had outside of the hotel. I have a new very favourite hotel in Tokyo.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

The Gate is one of the best hotels we have stayed because of the staff. The staff at the Gate are amazing nothing is to much trouble. Stunning scenery from reception, bar and room. Will stay there again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 1971HG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Premier Asakusa International
Ueno, Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Asakusa
#4 of 125 in Taito
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 118 in Minato
3,266 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 79 in Chiyoda
2,076 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC

Address: 2-16-11 Kaminarimon, Taito 111-0034, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Taito
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taito
Price Range: £79 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon By HULIC Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing